30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! We enjoyed this recipe a lot. I thought I had ancho chile powder, but instead it was Chipotle Chile powder. It was fantastic! I love the kick of the spices! We will be making these again. We added all the extras on top! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan July 17, 2010

Awesome recipe! I couldn't find dried ancho chile powder anywhere, so I bought whole dried New Mexico peppers and processed them for a while in the food processor before adding the garlic. I was a little worried that they woudl be the wrong kind, but the end result was amazing! Incredible smells all day! We just loved these with Cilantro Rice rolled up in tortillas with sour cream, corn relish salsa, and the cilantro and onion garlic. Wow what a meal! Thanks so much!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz May 20, 2010

I made this with a pork roast with terrific results! I added the onion right in with the meat and also added a bit more cumin. I cooked it in my Dutch oven in the oven at 250F. for 6 hrs. I then shredded the meat and made enchiladas. This recipe does not have much heat, but that can be adjusted easily with some chopped jalapenos. Thanks for sharing this very versatile recipe. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 11, 2009

OK, folks, After reading thee reviews, I had to comment. Some are expecting it to be more spicy. Except from a Chipotle Grill, which is Cal-Mex, I've NEVER had a spicy barbacoa. (And Chipotle adds enough cumin to drown other flavours, IMHO.) Barbacoa is mild in flavour, as is most "taco fillings" I've had (And I've eaten TONS! :-) ) My roast is currently defrosting, but I plan on trying this recipe tomorrow, as the ingredients look like it'll taste just like the stuff I had from a taqueria I miss, that was run from a delightful couple from Juarez.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qetzalcoatl66 April 27, 2014

Made this over the weekend. My house smelled wonderful, and the taste was to die for. My family could not get enough. Only had a small amount leftover and took it to work. It smelled so good, everyone wanted to try it. I had to guard it with my life. This is a keeper. I'll be making this again, & again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlobato September 28, 2011

Mmmmmmmmm. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen June 01, 2011

i made this for new years whising that everything would go right, because it was the first time making it. by reading all the reviews i decided to make double the amount. all i have to say is THANK YOU.....it was great... everybody loved it . everything was gone. everbody left the new years party with a copy of this recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotjackie January 13, 2010

Very delicious. Not hot spicy at all. Very nice flavor. It was nice to have a mexican food night at our house and not have the same old tacos or enchiladas. Will add this to my favorites. Good job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie7757 November 01, 2009

Lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julimac September 26, 2009
Barbacoa