Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Barbacoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Barbacoa

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2010

      Wow! We enjoyed this recipe a lot. I thought I had ancho chile powder, but instead it was Chipotle Chile powder. It was fantastic! I love the kick of the spices! We will be making these again. We added all the extras on top! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Awesome recipe! I couldn't find dried ancho chile powder anywhere, so I bought whole dried New Mexico peppers and processed them for a while in the food processor before adding the garlic. I was a little worried that they woudl be the wrong kind, but the end result was amazing! Incredible smells all day! We just loved these with Cilantro Rice rolled up in tortillas with sour cream, corn relish salsa, and the cilantro and onion garlic. Wow what a meal! Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      I made this with a pork roast with terrific results! I added the onion right in with the meat and also added a bit more cumin. I cooked it in my Dutch oven in the oven at 250F. for 6 hrs. I then shredded the meat and made enchiladas. This recipe does not have much heat, but that can be adjusted easily with some chopped jalapenos. Thanks for sharing this very versatile recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      OK, folks, After reading thee reviews, I had to comment. Some are expecting it to be more spicy. Except from a Chipotle Grill, which is Cal-Mex, I've NEVER had a spicy barbacoa. (And Chipotle adds enough cumin to drown other flavours, IMHO.) Barbacoa is mild in flavour, as is most "taco fillings" I've had (And I've eaten TONS! :-) ) My roast is currently defrosting, but I plan on trying this recipe tomorrow, as the ingredients look like it'll taste just like the stuff I had from a taqueria I miss, that was run from a delightful couple from Juarez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Made this over the weekend. My house smelled wonderful, and the taste was to die for. My family could not get enough. Only had a small amount leftover and took it to work. It smelled so good, everyone wanted to try it. I had to guard it with my life. This is a keeper. I'll be making this again, & again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Mmmmmmmmm. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      i made this for new years whising that everything would go right, because it was the first time making it. by reading all the reviews i decided to make double the amount. all i have to say is THANK YOU.....it was great... everybody loved it . everything was gone. everbody left the new years party with a copy of this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very delicious. Not hot spicy at all. Very nice flavor. It was nice to have a mexican food night at our house and not have the same old tacos or enchiladas. Will add this to my favorites. Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      This is excellent! It's perfectly seasoned and was so very tender! This will be in our rotations for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Excellant! I made this dish for my bf who is Mexican. We were in heaven! I threw it in a corckpot, and it cooked in 2.5 hrs and was absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Excepcional! (Outstanding!) But, secretly, I love Rick Bayless...shh...don't tell DH. DS said to give this 10 stars! (He also was out in the kitchen before assembling to pick out some of those delicious pieces of meat and even washed up the dishes.) I used cider vinegar, mixed the cilantro in with the meat before filling, served with The World's Easiest Basic Enchilada Sauce under and atop each flour tortilla, with tomato, red onion, sour cream, and queso blanco from Chihuahau melted on it. DS put hot sauce onto his. Also, served with Bajan Beans (and mixed in extra corn into that) as a wonderful side and Light Pineapple Mousse all for an outstanding meal. Thank you cookiedog for a keeper! Made during ZWT5 for the Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Delicious ! meat was fork tender and well seasoned. I chopped it up and used it in tortilla wraps, in taco's, on salad and as a base for beef barley soup. Very flexible handy staple to have in the freezer. I used a top round roast - which is leaner than a chuck roast and it was still very tender and flavorful. it did take a full 6 hours in the slow cooker ( and my cooler is usually faster than recommended times). The steaming of the garlic in the microwave was a great trick and i have been using it for other recipes. Thansk

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Absolutely delicious recipe here folks. It's a crowd pleaser and it's so easy to fix! I followed the directions to a tee, except I used a boneless roast. The meat turned out perfectly tender and oh-so-flavorful. I used served these on warm tortillas and also added some sliced avocado! ~Made for ZWT5 by Epicurean Queens~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

    • on April 04, 2009

      I used a boneless roast, and added a little chipotle powder for heat, but otherwise followed the recipe. Absolutely delicious, and very tender! I served in corn tortillas with onions and cilantro, and used leftover meat to make enchiladas the next day. I will be using this recipe again; thanks for another great one, cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Delicious. I only had 1 t. of ancho powder so had to use chipotle for the remaining chili powder. Great with tortillas and Awesome Pinto Beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This is easy and sooo tasty. I found it mild for my taste and I can't tolerate a lot of spice. So next time I will add some cayenne pepper or other peppers and some lime, experiment with adding more spices. This with soft corn tortillas is heavenly, so I'm looking forward to making it again soon, perhaps for a crowd. Do not attempt this without the ancho, it will not have that great smoky flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      We love this recipe! I sometimes have a hard time finding ancho chile powder, so when I find it, I buy several bottles. I've made this for extended family and passed out many copies of the recipe. Everyone loves this. It's spicy without being too hot. I really like making it with cilantro rice and black beans. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Barbacoa

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.4
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    37%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 661.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 49.2 g
    98%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    marinade

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites