Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bannock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bannock

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-30 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2008

      The base ingredients are always on hand at my house, so I love the fact that if you decide on the fly to make some bannock, chances are you have the ingredients to make it and it’s so quick and easy! I’ve lightly fried them, tried deep-fried version, and used a small amount of cooking spray on the pan and nothing else. All are good in one way or another; my favorite being the cooking spray version (reminds me of a soft, thick tortilla). I made some smaller patties and afterwards, sliced a “pocket� into it and spooned some jelly in – very tasty. These are great because it doesn’t take much effort to make them, you can eat it with just about anything, and the taste is simple yet fulfilling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Quick, easy and excellent for filling up the kids when a shopping trip is well overdue and you are running out of everything! And it is a recipe that I keep coming back to. The kids love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

    • on September 10, 2007

      Well, since I don't know what bannock is supposed to taste like, I won't give it any stars. I don't like adding sugar to breads so I omitted it altogether. Without sugar, bannock tastes like a fat-free biscuit or a fluffy water cracker. I decided to bake mine. Finished bannock does pretty well in the freezer, just zap it in the micro for a few seconds then toast it like a normal piece of toast to restore the crust. It also works really well to freeze the shaped dough disks and then cook them in the toaster oven on the rack: 4OO° f for about 6 minutes then switch to broil, 3 minutes each side. Although it takes a bit longer than the micro method, the bannock is really good like this, nice and crunchy on both sides, fresh-made taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      I cut the recipe in half and ended up with 4 very good sized rounds. My husband and I ate them with natural peanut butter and honey - tasted wonderful! I found the directions a bit vague - an approximate amount of water would be helpful. Also, I wasn't sure how to know if the rounds were done in the center and how hot to have the pan while cooking. I was also wondering if the raisons and blueberries mentioned were to go into the batter or just on top?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      This is a wonderful recipe. It is delicious and a great way to add fresh bread to any meal without adding too much time. Later this year I am taking a 16 day river trip through the Grand Canyon with 11 other people. I am in charge of the menu planning and food supplies. I was thrilled to find and try this recipe. I am planning on taking several pre-mixed ziplocks of "Bannock Mix" with us on the river. I am sure my fellow rafters will be delighted when the Bannock comes off the griddle. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Good, close to real bannok I tried made by inuit of Ungava Bay, Canada. Easy and fast to make. Taste great warm. Served with Caribou Stew Caribou Stew. We had real aboriginal feast. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      "Kenny Blacksmith, a former chief of the Cree community of Mistissini of northern Quebec, told me that they learned to make bannock from the Scottish who settled up in Northern Quebec several hundred years ago. They did not have flour before the arrival of the Europeans. When he went to Scotland a couple of years back, he had the priviledge of teaching the Scottish again how to make bannock." - Jacques Dalton

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      I halved the recipe, added shredded bacon which I cooked beforehand and some cheddar cheese. Honey on top. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      Excellent recipe - simple and delicious. I used 1 cup of water and substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. My two boys, aged 7 & 10, ate the whole batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Quick Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bannock

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    14%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 623.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites