Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bannock Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bannock

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2009

      This was so easy and nice when there's nothing else for breakfast. It's like a pancake-english muffin hybrid. I tried it as written and it was great (my 3 year old loved it too), and I tried it with less sugar, served to dip in stew - also tasty! I think different additions would be really nice - perfect when you need bread in a hurry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This was delicious! I made 1/4 of the recipe for just myself, using equal parts whole wheat and all-purpose flours. I added stevia instead of sugar and fried it with butter. This made 1 dense, chewy patty that looked like a pancake. I remember enjoying these at camp and I still like them now. I prefer a thick patty, so next time I'll form a thicker one that isn't as wide. Overall it was an excellent breakfast and I'll definitely be making this again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Just like I remembered it! I hadn't had this since I was a little girl at Girl Guide camp, it was lovely with Jam !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This was pretty good. I was hoping it would be a little more like my mom's. I think I made my "pattys" a bit too thick as well. I used about 2 cups of water for a double recipe and that seemed to work pretty good. I also used sea salt, but would opt for regular table salt next time. I ate mine with cheeze whiz - yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This is a hard one for me to rate as I'd never heard of Banock before so not sure how it's supposed to turn out. It certainly went together easy - I followed the directions exactly. We felt it was a cross between a biscuit and an english muffin. It felt heavy to me - but maybe that is as it should be or maybe I was heavy handed in mixing it. However; heavyness aside - the taste was good and we had fun trying something totally new to our regular biscuits. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Me, my wife, and all the friends I made this for are in love with the recipe. Thanks for sharing something so delicious. I ended up using coarse sea salt and found it added a wonderful amount of saltiness. I also found that just less than a cup of water seemed to work well. I think I just found my new favorite snack!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Very good. Like an english muffin without the nooks and crannies. Was good with butter and cinnamon sugar. Very filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I made this savoury using just a tsp of sugar, adding a tsp of salt and adding some thyme and pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      has anyone tried making this wrapped in foil (perhaps greased) and putting directly in a campfire? i was thinking of making a little wicker man for a lughnasad ritual and this would be perfect to put in the straw man's belly to be transformed into food once the figure has burnt. symbolizes the body of the green man (the living grain) sacrificing himself that we might eat

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Hi... Make it healthy and yummy by using stevia instead of sugar, cinnamon and raisins or blueberries are great and instead of baking in a pan combine dry ingredients in a baggy and whip them out at your next campfire...add the water to make a stiff dough, divide into portions and roll between your hands to make a long sausage shape wrap around green sticks and bake over the fire ...a great alternative to smores and wieners, kid friendly and delicious...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      Came out great. I cut the ingredients in half and mixed all but the water in a zip lock bag. Just add 1/2 cup water and knead in the bag then take out and finish the kneading then spread. I cooked it on a MSR SimmerLite stove and an 8" GSI Hard Anodized pan (no oil required). Fast and easy and will be great for dipping in the camp chili!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      These were just okay, kind of bland. I think the author meant to say that this is an ADAPTED recipe, not an "ADOPTED" recipe. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Couldn't be a much simpler way to get some fresh bread on the table fast. I made it plain this time, but will try it again sometime with some additions, maybe fruit, or possibly very little sugar and then some fresh herbs. Very interesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      This was so awful I took one bite and had to throw the rest out. It tasted like chemicals. I was so disappointed because I was hungry and wasted a cup of flour, and there was no time to make another. I browsed other internet sites and found out that other bannock recipes call for only 1 teaspoon of baking powder and the sugar is optional. I enjoyed this recipe when I was a kid but did not remember the ingredients. I'm looking forward to trying this again when I have the time, using much less baking powder and possibly omitting the sugar. Hoping for better results next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      I was hungry, all I had was flour and water, this recipe saved me. I love bannock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

    • on September 22, 2008

      This was a very fast treat. I only made half the recipe. I tried the ziploc idea but I didn't do so good with that. It seemed half cup water was too much. I spread mine with apple butter (being a poor indian, I didn't have any raisins) :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Delicious, brought back memories of my grandma's kitchen, we ate them with dark Steen's syrup back then....pure comfort food for me. This is also a go to breakfast for me, when I haven't been to the grocery store in a while and the kids need something filling. I made them with raisins added in, served with a lil butter and syrup...Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I have made Bannock Bread several ways. My favorite is half wheat flour and half rolled oats. Also, it is a great dessert if you add raisins and chopped pecans then roll them in cinnamon sugar while they are still hot. I have even made them with sliced strawberries. These are delicious no matter how they are made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Quick Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bannock

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    14%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 623.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes