9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We just tried this recipe today and it was very tasty. However, it didn't taste exactly like the Bandera version, but I didn't use a cast iron pan. So, I'm going to make it again using cast iron to see if it comes closer to the original. Still, it's a great recipe and if you like cornbread, you will enjoy it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TMS January 11, 2009

One of my favorite go-to recipes for a dinner party! Always amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 27, 2015

Made this last night. It was tasty moist and tender, sweet enough for me. It's not exactly Bandera, but close. I used a 9" Cast Iron pan overfilled to get the roll over edge like Bandera's. I sprinkled sugar on top for crunch (I noticed Bandera does this). It took about 60 minutes in the 9" pan maybe a bit longer to bake. A great recipe, however, if you like the taste of the chilis it's barely there, I would take the advice to add more chiles or go for the Hatch chiles. It was a bit too greasy for me, maybe less butter next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FotoDivaArt July 19, 2014

I love the cornbread at the Los Altos Grill (our local version of Bandera). I was excited to find this recipe and tried it tonight to serve with some slow cooked white beans and ham. It was spectacular and every bit as good as the cornbread at the restaurant. This is going into my permanent recipe collection as the best cornbread recipe I have ever made at home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
epicureangal December 31, 2013

We tried this simple and yummy recipe and it turned out very moist and tasty. I would however recommend dialing back the baking power to 2 or 3 teaspoons not 4. I do believe that they do have some sort of honey butter glaze that they put atop of their bread but personally that makes it too sweet. But, to each his own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gciarlo November 07, 2013

This cornbread is delicious!!! I agree that it's not quite Bandera, but for home-made it was a HIT! I added a bit more of the chilies to make up for the flavor the other reviews said was missing. I used 6" and 5" pans seasoned with citris olive oil to cook the bread. The 5" pan cooked in 35 minutes, but the 6" took about 15 minutes longer. This will become a common item on our menus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LBHart September 23, 2012

It's good, but it's not Banderas. And it's not that the ingredients are wrong. It's that it's not browned and somewhat crispy on top out of the oven. I used both large and small seasoned iron skillets, as I'm used to doing cornbread this way. Maybe it's the low temp. Anyway, it was still tasty and plenty sweet! I had Bandera's twice last week so I feel qualified to judge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill67 November 08, 2011

Unless you use a well seasoned cast iron pan the taste will never equal. I have taken my casty and cooked about 5 upside down pineapple cakes to give the flavor needed and now I make about 3 batches of corn bread and then another cake to keep the flavor there. My only suggestion to make it taste even better is to use Hatch Green Chile and man you'll just love the pronounced flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samiam71 July 16, 2011

Just like the real thing. Not quite as sweet, but that's OK with me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-berger November 12, 2009
Bandera Cornbread (Clone)