38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was delicious! I did not add any nuts since my family does not like them, but in its place added Chocolate chips. It came out great! Very moist cake that is not rich and gives you the full feeling and it did not induce any guilt feelings since I only used chocolate chips. :) It was great for after school snack with some milk for my middle school kids.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prairiemoon October 24, 2010

10 stars!! So moist and flavorful. We all loved it. The kids have made me promise to make it again soon. :) The only thing I did differently was to use only 1 cup of sugar and omit the walnuts (I was out). It turned out beautifully! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) March 11, 2010

This is the recipe I never knew I was looking for. I don't think I will be inclined to make banana bread when this cake is much better and really not as much fat as most banana bread recipes. More often than I should, I buy more bananas than we can use. Now I may do it on purpose! I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had but I do think walnuts would be better. I also made a little powdered sugar, vanilla glaze that I poured over the cake while still warm. I'm not going to admit how many pieces I ate last night but I will hit the gym a little harder today. Thank you for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! April 02, 2009

WOW! All my friends like it. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila SB March 08, 2009

I make this recipe almost weekly for "coffee and..." at Church. I was sick a few weeks ago, and my husband told me several people asked where the banana bread was. I'd say it's a hit!! I make it with plain fat free yougart sometimes, and use whole wheat flour most of the time. I've made it with pecans, or walnuts, but often leave out the nuts, and it's great every time! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely May 01, 2008

Just made this and substituted chocolate chips for nuts (same quantity). I used just a scant less butter because I was worried about the extra oil in the chocolate chips. It turned out perfect! Made it for a special treat for my boys after their last basketball game. Wonderful served with a little vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of chocolate syrup. YUMMMMM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCooks December 13, 2007

Nice light texture. I had to use 1/4 cup powdered sugar, as I ran out of granulated. I took a previous reviewer's suggestion and sprinkled my piece with cinnamon sugar, which was delicious. Thanks for posting, Tebo. Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado August 13, 2006

Healthy recipe.I am giving it 4 stars only because I found that it was good when warm,but became sort of rubbery after it cooled completely.The taste was very good though. Kept well too upto 4 days.overall,healthy and nice recipe though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetybaby July 19, 2006

My whole family loved this cake. I agree that it is somewhat like a bread, but it seemed lighter to me...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Stacey July 12, 2006

This cake is really moist delicious, I cut back on the cooking time by about 10 min. (my oven overheats) and I used only 1 cup of sugar. and added unsweetened dried cranberries, ground flax seeds and fine bran flakes for a little fiber boost. Will definately make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diest July 26, 2005
Bananas 'n Cream Bundt Cake