Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bananas Ghana Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bananas Ghana

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2009

    • on August 24, 2007

      I used dark rum as i did not have apricot brandy and i also added a choped down bounty bar to this, my boyfriend was so surprised when he came home and we had this for our engagement-anniversery-tread :) Optional (or not so optional)garnish: Vanilla icecream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      Mmmmmm! We (DH and me) buy between 12 and 15 bananas a week here and usually run out before the week ends. We love bananas because they are good, but also because they are so good for you! This was a wonderful dessert! We used PeachTree Schnapps in place of the brandy. We didn't need ice cream or garnish. We just devoured the bananas with coconut sprinkled on top. YUM YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      I like to give it 10 STARS (guess I'll have to review twice)! A Wonderful dessert! Of the ZWT 2006 tour this is now our favorite. Because there are only two of us, I cut the recipe down to 2 bananas. And to the brandy I added a little additional apricot preserves for a little more sweetness. Served it with ice cream. DH had his with peanut garnish and I had mine with coconut. We fought like kids over the leftovers . . . Definitely a keeper. Thanks SO much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      I cut it to two bananas for two of us, and proportionately cut the remaining ingredients. I had to substitute peach liquer, the closest thing to apricot brandy I had on hand. I also served it with vanilla ice cream instead of the sour cream. It was unique and absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Astonishingly, I had apricot brandy to hand, and these were delicious! I scaled it down to a one banana quantity (just for me!) but used equivalent to two persons worth of liquid. I used a little toasted coconut. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Sure enjoyed this. I used 3 bananas for the 2 of us, brandy in place of apricot brandy,omitted coconut and peanuts, & served it up with the sour cream (& splenda) mix. Incredibly yummy. The toasted coconut suggestion that was made by Kaarin appeals to me, and we're going to have apricot brandy on hand for next time. MMMMMMMMMMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      WOW! I just can’t wait to make these again. They were SO delicious. This was a recipe I somehow just didn’t get to make during the Zaar World Tour, but I’m SO happy to have discovered it now. I’ve already emailed it to several friends. It was unbelievably simple and easy to make, looked appealing and smelled and tasted absolutely sensational! A great dinner party dessert, but seriously: don’t hold off making these until then. I used brown sugar and because I had run out of cinnamon, I used allspice. It caramelised beautifully. I didn’t bother with rolling the banana pieces in the allspice/sugar mixture: just sprinkled a generous quantity on top of the bananas. I didn’t have any apricot brandy, so I added a cup of champagne and a cup of strawberry liqueur to the orange juice. And I used chopped pecans. These would be great with any liqueur or spirit: basically with whatever takes your fancy! Tomorrow, I’m buying some more bananas and some cinnamon. To run out of cinnamon: ridiculous! When I make these next, within the next day or two, I’m going to make more of the wonderful sauce than is specified in the recipe. It was so delicious that two of us used our fingers to eat up a couple of drops that spilled onto the table while they were being served! We ate these at room temperature with cream, but they’d also be excellent warm and with ice cream or yoghurt. A true 5 star +++++ recipe, which I recommend unreservedly. Thank you so much, toni, for sharing another fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      These were wonderful! I did not have apricot brandy so I put some cognac in the food processor with some homemade apricot preserves - ohhhhhh dandy!!!!! This really made this dish worthwhile! I also used a very very ripe plantain as it was still firm but soft and good for cookin!!! And as you can tell i added ALL the optional ingredients LOL! I mixed the sour cream with powdered sugar --- ohh my!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      I just happened to receive a lovely bottle of home made apricot brandy recently...and this recipe was worth it's use! I halved the recipe, but ended up using only 3 bananas since I ran out of the cinnamon sugar mixture, but it was still delish. I topped with coconut; I think toasted coconut would be great on this. Didn't think the garnish was necessary, as the bananas were pretty and tasty on their own. I enjoyed this, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      This was a very nice dessert. I did not have apricot brandy so I used some pureed canned apricots and coconut instead of chopped peanuts. I did make the garnish of sour cream and sugar but did not care to much for it with the bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bananas Ghana

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.6
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    10%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 24.2 g
    96%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    apricot brandy

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes