10 Reviews

It is rich! It is wonderful! One of my favorite special occaision desserts!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton October 28, 2001

So delicious!! I've never made this before and thought it would look impressive if I lit something on fire. I made two batches, one for the kids, and one for the adults. With the kids' batch I made the mistake of flipping the bananas over so they would be coated all over but that made the bananas too mushy. Since we had so many adults I only had room for a 1/2 a banana each and we all agreed it wasn't enough. If I didn't have company over I would have been licking the bowl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Ricard October 10, 2010

Wow!!! If I could rate this more than 5 stars I would. Great instructions. No more than 3 minutes sauteing the bananas. Bananas came out perfectly. Used dark brown sugar. Used coconut rum and golden rum instead of banana liqueur and dark rum. It flamed up nicely. What an outstanding compliment to the seafood gumbo at my New Orleans themed Super Bowl Party! Bonus, the Saints won! Can't wait to do this again for Mardi Gras.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catfish Jimmy February 08, 2010

This was my first time making bananas foster. I didn't use dark run or banana liqueur and it was still excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FL Mommy August 09, 2007

Wow...never had bananas fostger previously, but what a great dish to make at a party.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeremie Blust June 13, 2007

Excellent! This was my first attempt at Bananas Foster and it could not have been better or easier. I did sub a few item since they were not in my pantry. I used 2 tsp of banana flavoring instead of 2 tbs banana liquor. Gold rum instead of dark and smart balance instead of butter. I can't wait to prepare this for guest. Thanks JANIC412

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wing-Man March 14, 2007

Really good. I chose not to actually flambe the alcohol, I boiled the rum and banana liquer separately in a small saucepan for a few minutes to evaporate the alcohol. Prepared the rest as directed. It was very, very tasty! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Parrot Head Mama November 17, 2006

Excellent!! This is DS's favorite dessert. It was a big hit at a dinner party last evening. Thanks for posting, JANIC412.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadget_Queen October 12, 2005

I work in a bakery and we host a "Gourmet Dinner" night once a month. We used this recipe for one of our desserts to be offered and it went over beautifully! The only difference was that we were not able to flame the dessert at tableside. No customers complained.. they were too busy eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsgirl October 06, 2005

Outstanding this is the original recipe that was invented at the world famous Brennans in New Oreleans -- For a really decadent treat try this for desert after a breakfast. Awsome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G March 27, 2002
Bananas Foster