25 Reviews

Unfortunately, I and most of my family did not find these very good. They were dry and bland...we could not taste the zucchini or banana at all. We put butter and honey on them, but only helped marginally. I didn't realize until halfway through that these do not have any sweetener in them. I added 2/3 cup date sugar, but I would add a lot more if I make them again. I did substitute canola oil for applesauce, and raisins for the nuts...perhaps those changes made such a negative difference? There are so many other positive reviews, so I encourage you all to try the recipe even though our family didn't like it...lots of others do!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia Q April 20, 2010

I agree with Cynthia Q. They were not very good at all. Really frustrating to find that out after they were made. Needed sugar or some kind of sweetner. Very bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosa B August 27, 2011

My kids and I loved this recipe. I omitted the applesauce and nuts (didn't have any), added an extra egg, and 1/2 cup raisins. I love that the recipe isn't sweet but I can see how some people would prefer the recipe with honey/sugar. The texture is perfect. Great warm with peanut butter, or a slice of cheese. Will be making these for school lunches!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeannine.gravel August 20, 2016

Did not like flavor or consistency. Also lacked any sweetness even though I used sweetened applesauce. I had also added vanilla and cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dkawaller August 14, 2016

I think the problem people had with this recipe is that they don't know to automatically adjust for taste. For me, I know I prefer my muffins a bit more sweet, so I added a half cup of coconut sugar. I also increased the applesauce to a cup and eliminated the egg, since using applesauce and mashed banana in place of eggs and oil is one of my favorite things to do with muffin recipes. I also added snowballs extract and nutmeg, because I love the flavor of those things in my muffins. Obviously the person who wrote the recipe uses what works for her, too. This is a good basic recipe to start with and adapt as you go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen P. October 06, 2015

One small change in this recipe made all the difference! (I love these muffins!) Add 1/2 cup Agave to the wet mixture. That's it! (And you should try baking them for 20 minutes, not 25. I baked them for 20 minutes and they were yummy!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy P. September 18, 2015

Used paper baking cups and baked them the 30 minutes but the bottom of the muffins were still wet. They taste fine but they doneed cinnamon and some sweetener, I agree.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykspeelman July 29, 2015

This was a great recipe to use our overripe bananas and bounty of zucchini. We used old-fashioned oats instead of quick-cooking oats, and think that may have helped prevent the inside from staying too wet. We made 12 large muffins and added bakers chocolate chunks on top and they melted to make a nice chocolate drizzle on top. We will be making more and freezing them, with the chocolate chunks mixed inside this time. We liked that they were not too sweet; however, next time will likely add some cinnamon and maybe a touch of liquid stevia, honey, or maple syrup to add just a little extra sweetness to the batter. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leeleeswee July 15, 2015

We subbed almond "Flour" and added butterscotch chips. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jami L. May 05, 2015

This is my go to recipe for a healthy muffin, my family loves it. I only gave it 4 stars b/c I modify slightly. I increase apple sauce to 1 cup and add some honey (probably about 1/4 cup or less). Occasionally if I want a sweeter muffin I'll add a handful of dark chocolate chips instead of the nuts. Everything else I follow exactly. I am constantly getting asked for the recipe. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen_curcio October 23, 2013
Banana Zucchini Muffins