18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Unfortunately, I and most of my family did not find these very good. They were dry and bland...we could not taste the zucchini or banana at all. We put butter and honey on them, but only helped marginally. I didn't realize until halfway through that these do not have any sweetener in them. I added 2/3 cup date sugar, but I would add a lot more if I make them again. I did substitute canola oil for applesauce, and raisins for the nuts...perhaps those changes made such a negative difference? There are so many other positive reviews, so I encourage you all to try the recipe even though our family didn't like it...lots of others do!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia Q April 20, 2010

I agree with Cynthia Q. They were not very good at all. Really frustrating to find that out after they were made. Needed sugar or some kind of sweetner. Very bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosa B August 27, 2011

This is my go to recipe for a healthy muffin, my family loves it. I only gave it 4 stars b/c I modify slightly. I increase apple sauce to 1 cup and add some honey (probably about 1/4 cup or less). Occasionally if I want a sweeter muffin I'll add a handful of dark chocolate chips instead of the nuts. Everything else I follow exactly. I am constantly getting asked for the recipe. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jen_curcio October 23, 2013

Thanks for a healthy muffin that my little guy loves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 August 26, 2013

"My husband and I thought they were very bland and flavorless.... And we also thought they lacked any sweetness. I'm sorry to say this--- But I am mostly disappointed with the wast of all the ingredients, and now I basically have to throw them in the trash, because no one here will eat them.....
After reading all the raving reviews posted- I'm guessing in order to like these muffins you must not like a lot of sweetness. I'm NOT usually one to voice such a strong dislike of something, but I thought I needed to voice my opinion. Again I'm sorry for being the bad apple in the bunch."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emmasuann October 15, 2012

These were very good.

However, I added 1/4 c. evaporated cane sugar from Costco (might try even a tad more than that) and an extra half cup of zucchini. I also replaces 1/2 c. of the whole wheat flower with Bob's Red Mill 10 Grain Hot Cereal for some extra whole grainy goodness in addition to the oats and flour.

I served them with soft honey butter.

One poster said coconut which would be fab, I may also try honey instead of the sugar I added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marjoriedudley August 11, 2012

These muffins are good but definitely dense and healthy. I added 1/2 c. coconut (shredded, unsweetened) and 1/2 chocolate chips which gave these some needed sweetness. The zucchini kept it moist but I would probably add another egg next time and omit half the oatmeal to see if I can "fluff" them up. Conclusion- not very pretty but delicious and no guilt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandyEggoCook June 25, 2011

I love this recipe! 1st time trying it & they're so moist & delicious. I added a half a cup of shredded coconut, hint of cinnamon & vanilla. mmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lcbuys February 16, 2011

I made the recipe as written and they were good, but a little bit of sweetener would have made them more flavorful. I will try them again but add some honey or agave or something. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buffalo Gal 75 September 06, 2009

can something be... too moist? ::gasp!:: i made these with about 2 cups zucchini and 1/2 c bananas, left out the walnuts (didn't have any) and otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written, except i put them in a pan and cooked them as bars. they ended up a little mushy because of the moisture from the zucchini -- but i can't complain too much! they're very tasty, even without any sugar in them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie3763 October 01, 2008
Banana Zucchini Muffins