Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Whole Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Whole Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2003

      "Boy that bread sure smells good!" This is all I heard from my husband while this bread was baking. And the taste was every bit as satisfying! The bananas add just the right amount of added sweetness and the poppyseeds, just the right little crunch. Be sure to use a nice ripe banana for this to give it a rich flavor. I can't wait for lunch so I can have a peanut butter sandwich ;)!! Thanks for another great recipe, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      This bread is fabulous. It has a nice sweet flavor and moist texture. I didn't have any poppy seeds, but I didn't feel like anything was missing. This will become a regular in my bread machine. Thanks for a great recipe, Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This recipe makes a yummy loaf of banana bread! I don't care for poppy seeds so I didn't add them but turned out great overall. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      This makes a nice large loaf of bread with great texture. The mixture of honey and banana smell great while baking. Love the crunch of the poppy seeds. Great recipe to use up over-ripe bananas. Just wanted to add that this is really yummy as toast. The banana flavour seemed alot stronger, whether it was because it was left over night or because it was toasted I'm not sure but be sure to save some for morning toast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      lovely recipe with nice flavours!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I loved it, but my four children were mixed on their appreciation. I had a small banana, so added half of another one. I think that was too much because the dough was so sticky, I had to add more flour during the knead cycle. I ended up adding 2 T ground flax meal, 1/4 c each of ww and white bread flour. It rose too slowly (the cold weather I think), so I had to remove the pan and set it in my warm oven to rise more--which it did nicely. The second rise was not as high as I wanted, but I was getting impatient by then and baked it anyway. It smelled wonderful and I thought the taste and texture were great (a bit dense, but soft). I rated it only 4 because it went over only so-so with my kids. I suspect this would be a bit difficult to just put in the bread machine and forget about because the variability in the banana size could mean adjustments are necessary during the knead cycle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      According to my family, "this is the best bread you ever made." High praise, believe me. I made the dough in my machine and then baked it in the oven because it would have blown the top off my 1.5 lb. machine. Excellent and simple recipe. Thanks, chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      We loved this! I found it a bit on the 'heavy' side though. Next time we're going to try adding a bit more banana also. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      I made this earlier today, followed the recipe except for the poppy seeds and the results were terrific. We enjoyed this very much, and I'm looking forward to trying it toasted tomorrow :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      I liked this okay, my two small sons seemed to like it better than me, but they're not too picky when it comes to bread. I've never been a big fan of bread machine banana bread recipes, but this one was a bit better than ones I've tried in the past because of the poppy seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Very tasty! Was delish toasted with honey...mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      This is great, I was out of honey and used molasses. It rose to the top of my bread machine. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      This is an excellent bead. My famly prefers it well above our store bought which we really liked before discovering this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      Wonderful bread Chia! I whipped this up with my Kitchen Aid stand mixer, and baked it in my air-bake convection oven..DH has already gone through most of the bread already, I hid two pices for toast with PB for the morning, I'm whipping up another loaf tormorrow! Thanks for sharing...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      This was definately tasty! I made this before laying down for a nap and couldn't wait for the machine to cool when it went beep! Piping hot with butter melted over it was wonderful. I didn't have a super ripe nanner so the banana taste is mild but the flavor is not overshadowed (love the addition of honey). Left the poppy seeds out, didn't have any on hand (and DH isn't a big seed fan). Didn't make a different in my opinion. I will either wait for the rest of my bananas to ripen a bit more or add a bit more banana when I bake again (which will be very soon!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Whole Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (822 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 971.4
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    14%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 115.9 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1285.4 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 187.4 g
    62%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 42.9 g
    171%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites