17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I actually thought this was a lovely dish. Really interesting and different. Rich and delicious. Good colour and really quick and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Bourne August 13, 2013

Not a huge fan. It is creative and has a lot of flavours, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I like the banana bit actually, and the sweetness... but the tofu does nothing for me (actually takes away from the sweetness and flavours of the dish), and generally it's not very "scrumptious" and I didn't even want to eat my whole serving. Very interesting recipe, and i'm glad I tried it... but probably won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mivashel March 21, 2009

I think there's a really good recipe in there somewhere, and the dish comes together nicely and looks beautiful, but I found the flavours too strong and competing with one another. I may try adapting it a bit, but I think it's just personal taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catrin September 17, 2008

Interesting, better than I expected. It's a kind of strange combination, but I like it. I substituted potatoes for the tofu since I can''t eat soy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
francoroni March 26, 2008

This came together more quickly than 45 minutes, so that was a nice bonus. I enjoyed this, but it was a little rich for me - almost too much banana, but then, it *is* a banana dish. I think I would make it again as sort of a sweeter side dish to something else because it does taste wonderful but was just too much on it's own over rice. The idea is fabulous, though, and I am really glad I tried it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking February 28, 2008

This dish was interesting. I ran out of cumin, so I did not add it, but followed the recipe with that exception. My boyfriend and I thought the flavors were somewhat competing. I wouldn't go as far to say I thought this dish was bad, but I didn't really think it was good either. It's not something I will make again. Thank you for posting it, however, with so many positive reviews, it seems that most really do enjoy this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie February 26, 2008

This recipe was very tasty. I used coconut cream powder in place of the dried shredded as I didn't have any, plus I used curry paste instead of the powder and I used almond milk instead of the other non dairy milk. I toasted some slivered almonds and will put those on top for a garnish. Thanks for a great post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. February 20, 2008

I was looking for a tofu curry idea, and this one sounded very interesting. I chose to press out the liquid from the tofu and brown it in the pan so it would firmer. As I was cooking it, I worried that the bananas and tofu would make the dish too mushy, so I toasted some almonds and served them on top. I liked the spice combination, but my boyfriend wished it was spicier. Overall, it had a very unique flavor, but it lacked texture. I would recommend that you try it, but I think I will keep looking for the perfect curry recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATouchofZing February 18, 2008

Amazingly perfect flavors!! I forgot the cumin and nutmeg and didn't miss it...oops...This recipe was easier than I anticipated and took less than the 45 mins total to prepare...even better! We'll be making this again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megos Land October 22, 2007

Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and it was enough for 3 of us. I was very leary about it at first but the flavour was fantastic. I did use 1/2 tsp salt though. The recipe doesn't call for salt... Loved it thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever September 15, 2007
Banana Tofu Curry