Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Tofu Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Tofu Curry

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2013

      I actually thought this was a lovely dish. Really interesting and different. Rich and delicious. Good colour and really quick and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Not a huge fan. It is creative and has a lot of flavours, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I like the banana bit actually, and the sweetness... but the tofu does nothing for me (actually takes away from the sweetness and flavours of the dish), and generally it's not very "scrumptious" and I didn't even want to eat my whole serving. Very interesting recipe, and i'm glad I tried it... but probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I think there's a really good recipe in there somewhere, and the dish comes together nicely and looks beautiful, but I found the flavours too strong and competing with one another. I may try adapting it a bit, but I think it's just personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Interesting, better than I expected. It's a kind of strange combination, but I like it. I substituted potatoes for the tofu since I can''t eat soy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      This came together more quickly than 45 minutes, so that was a nice bonus. I enjoyed this, but it was a little rich for me - almost too much banana, but then, it *is* a banana dish. I think I would make it again as sort of a sweeter side dish to something else because it does taste wonderful but was just too much on it's own over rice. The idea is fabulous, though, and I am really glad I tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This dish was interesting. I ran out of cumin, so I did not add it, but followed the recipe with that exception. My boyfriend and I thought the flavors were somewhat competing. I wouldn't go as far to say I thought this dish was bad, but I didn't really think it was good either. It's not something I will make again. Thank you for posting it, however, with so many positive reviews, it seems that most really do enjoy this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This recipe was very tasty. I used coconut cream powder in place of the dried shredded as I didn't have any, plus I used curry paste instead of the powder and I used almond milk instead of the other non dairy milk. I toasted some slivered almonds and will put those on top for a garnish. Thanks for a great post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I was looking for a tofu curry idea, and this one sounded very interesting. I chose to press out the liquid from the tofu and brown it in the pan so it would firmer. As I was cooking it, I worried that the bananas and tofu would make the dish too mushy, so I toasted some almonds and served them on top. I liked the spice combination, but my boyfriend wished it was spicier. Overall, it had a very unique flavor, but it lacked texture. I would recommend that you try it, but I think I will keep looking for the perfect curry recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Amazingly perfect flavors!! I forgot the cumin and nutmeg and didn't miss it...oops...This recipe was easier than I anticipated and took less than the 45 mins total to prepare...even better! We'll be making this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and it was enough for 3 of us. I was very leary about it at first but the flavour was fantastic. I did use 1/2 tsp salt though. The recipe doesn't call for salt... Loved it thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      delicious. Melting hot banana pieces are the best. Let tofu to stand a while with the rest of ingredients so it can absorb the flavour well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

    • on August 26, 2005

      I really liked this recipe a lot, although I think it's going to take a couple more tries to grow on the kids. We've been looking at it for a few months and waiting for a chance to try this and today was the day. We liked it a lot because the flavors were really nice and it was hot and filling. My kids usually like coconut, but in this dish, they complained about the coconut flakes in the sauce. I served this with rice, mango chutney, and a little dollop of yogurt. I'd make it again in a heartbeat, thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      I am so torn about how to rate this recipe...I would prefer to give 3.5 stars, but since that's not a choice, I'll go with 4. I sort of liked it, but to be honest, I only ate about a quarter of my plate and tossed the rest. My husband, on the other hand, cleaned his plate...do you see my dilemna? Neither of us cared much for the tofu, but the rest was okay (although to be fair, neither of us are huge tofu fans; we can take it or leave it). I love curry, though, but I think I'd prefer just a straight curry sauce next time. All that being said, if I had to suggest making this recipe or not, I would say to definitely go for it and give it a try. It was very easy to make, the ingredients are economical, it's fairly healthy, and you might end up loving it, so you really can't go wrong. I'm glad I tried it, and who knows? My husband just might be bugging me to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      Okay, I have to be honest. When I first saw this recipe, I thought it was one of the most ridiculous things I'd ever heard of. It didn't even sound appealing to me. But the idea was so strange to me, and it had gotten a 5-star rating from someone else, so I just had to try it, still expecting it to be terrible. I have to say, though, I was sooo wrong! It is a filling, very fragrant recipe, that attached my tastebuds (in a good way) the minute the concoction hit my mouth. Thanks so much for an eye opening experience!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

    • on February 19, 2004

      This is a very easy recipe and is very toddler friendly. Very filling too especially if you use brown rice to accompany it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Tofu Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (257 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.7
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    50%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 21.3 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 91.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    firm tofu

    coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites