9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good--we all enjoyed it. The flavor was excellent. The only thing I did different, was that I used buttermilk instead of regular milk (I had it on hand since I was planning on making a banana bread until I came across this recipe!). Personally, we thought that 4-1/2 cups of bananas was a little too much. The next time I make it, I think I will try using less bananas, and maybe mash them instead of slicing them. I will update my review at that time. Thank you for sharing this recipe, dojemi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MustangMom November 11, 2004

The cake had excellent coffee cake texture and the banana slices were a nice change from pureed; although i think i would make chunks next time instead of slices. The topping wasnt very crumb-y, it was more of a topping, but the taste and crunch were great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judych September 29, 2009

I can not comment on the cake part of this recipe, but I did use the streusel topping to pair with the banana coffee cake Banana Coffee Cake. It was excellent, and I'm hoping to make the cake part next time as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy June 07, 2009

Boyfriend loves this one! I don't like bananas, but he liked having all the chunks. He says its really sweet, but mainly from the bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkPanther February 22, 2009

Wonderful coffee cake!! I only used 4 bananas as that was all I had and that yielded about 3 1/2 cups. Other than that, recipe went very well and it really smelled yummy while baking. I loved the streusel topping and as its name implies, it is best with a cup of coffee. Kitten, always a pleasure making and eating one of your recipes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 September 20, 2006

This is a really good cake - but very different from any banana cake or coffee cake I've ever had. I used 7 medium bananas to come up with the 4 1/2 cups of sliced; I used skim milk. I used an electric mixer to prepare the batter. The cake is very dense with chunks of soft banana throughout. Several people thought this was an apple cake which I could, strangely enough, relate to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb July 02, 2006

Wonderful coffee cake! I got home from work and mixed the batter to find half the bananas had been eaten. So I ran to the pantry and subbed some pineapple for the rest of the bananas. It turned out VERY well. MOist and flavorful and the topping adds an irrestible crunch! You cannot go wrong with a KITTENCAL recipe and this recipe is no exception!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 20, 2006

This is out-of-this-world best banana cake I have tasted. As always very easy directions to follow for a newbie baker like me. The aroma alone deserves 10 stars, but the taste is melt in your mouth slice of heaven. I love that bananas are sliced because when you eat this delicious cake you get a nice bite of soft sweet banana once in a while. The streusel topping adds just enough of a crunch. I thought this maybe too big of a cake for just DH and I but I can see we will be fighting each other for every bite..lol.. Kitten, you have an amazing collection of scrumptious recipes! And this one is another keeper for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Asha* April 09, 2006

I made this for my parents for breakfast. I think I will try mashing the bananas next time instead of slicing them. This cake is quite dense and filling and makes a wonderful breakfast. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * December 18, 2004
Banana Streusel Coffee Cake