14 Reviews

A very tasty dessert....mine did not come out of the pan perfectly but the taste was wonderful....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc April 06, 2009

I had been searching for this recipe for quite sometime. Many years ago a friends mom made this and I fell in love. I have made it a few times now and have even had requests to make it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trillet July 27, 2011

This was just okay for us, there were no complaints but no rave reviews either!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama July 20, 2010

Made this for the first time and when hubby came home and saw it his eyes got really big and said "Can I have some NOW?" lol. Everyone loved it. Will make again for sure. One tip for anyone making this....because I am a by the book type cook, I bought an 11 ounce box of vanilla wafers and actually counted 80 out....dont do that, there is about 84 in the box lol. Thanks for the great recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Prissy in Central Ohio February 03, 2008

AMAZING! I was told this is a 10 star keeper!!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe..... :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weeezer0421 January 10, 2008

I made this for a "red hat" party that I hosted for my mom and her friends. It was a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrapbook Lori November 29, 2007

My husband's a big Banana Split fan and this didn't disappoint him. It was great, the whole family enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billie June 12, 2007

I took this for an Easter potluck and it was a *huge* hit. It looked so good that people were asking about it before I even got it on the table. There were literally people calling out over the crowd, plate in hand, asking who brought it and to please get a copy of the recipe, lol. It was the hit of the dessert table, giving even the baklava a run for its money. And that was even with me getting distracted while putting it together and forgetting to add the Cool Whip to the cream cheese layer (I just doubled up on the top, lol). I drained and refrigerated the cherries and pineapple the night before, to ensure that there wouldn't be any extra juice to dissolve the Cool Whip. I knew my pre-party chill time would be minimal, too, so I also refrigerated the bananas beforehand. It worked well. My only sub was chopped mixed nuts (aka ice cream topping) in place of the walnuts - loved the hints of peanut and cashew. I've already been told that I *must* bring this to every party from now on...thanks for my new signature dessert, lol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki April 08, 2007

Great dessert!! Very easy to make! I can't wait to fix this again! Even my husband who prefers chocolate desserts liked this one! I put a little 'spin' on the dessert, though: After the layer of bananas, I added some caramel sauce! I bought the squeeze caramel sauce for ice cream and drizzled it over the top of the bananas, then finished it off with the Cool Whip. SIMPLY DELICIOUS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplyDelicious December 03, 2006

I made this for a pot luck dinner I hosted this weekend. One daughter who is a chef on Zaar has added it to her cookbook and another daughter and her mother in law both went home with the recipe. This from family & friends got a well deserved 5 *. :) Living in NZ we don't have cool whip so I just used whipped cream. This will be a 'keeper' for us all especially as it was a very easy to make do ahead dessert. :) — Apr 22, 2006 REVIEW UPDATE: The second time I made this I made 2 dishes and because both weren't needed I froze one in it's dish wrapped with cling plastic wrap. I then a couple of weeks later took it to a dinner party and it was as good as just being freshly made. I removed it from the freezer to the fridge a few hours before needed. It was given the 'thumbs up' at the dinner and the hostess & other guests now have the recipe too :) Note: For those living outside the USA just use a plain sweet biscuit (I use 'Arnotts' Nice biscuits)in place of the graham crackers and about 500-600mls cream, whipped, in place of the 'cool whip'. Also here in NZ I used (1)400g and (1)225g, can of crushed pineapple. Hope this helps others to try this wonderful dessert :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T June 06, 2006
Banana Split Delight