12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and super easy. I wanted to see how they tasted a day old, but when I woke up to have one with my coffee, they had mysteriously disappeared!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fullernj January 10, 2007

These bars are fabulous. I took them to a baptism picnic and they were gone before we ate the meal. My husband likes them better than banana bread and already asked if I could make them again this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mnpaintballgirl August 04, 2008

We took these to our Christmas party. They were very well received. We liked the lemon glaze and the spices were were right on. Will make these again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 02, 2008

This was so good! I also used applesauce in place of shortening, but I also used Splenda instead of sugar. The lemon glaze set it off perfectly and everyone just loved it. The only think I may do next time is to add some chopped walnuts for a bit of texture. It is so easy and such a nice way to use up bananas. Thanks akgrown for this new favorite dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in da Kitchen October 20, 2006

I was looking for a non-banana bread recipe that would use my too ripe bananas, and stumbled accross this one. I'm so glad I did. It was easy, wonderfully flavored, the taste of the bananas still comes through. Even my picky non-banana eating child loved it. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twitterpated September 04, 2006

Not being a big fan of banana bread, I wanted a new way of using my almost-over-ripe bananas. The only changes I made to it were minor: substituted 1/4 C of flour w/a 7-grain-flour I've recently become a fan of, did not have allspice so used some fresh grated nutmeg & cut the glaze recipe by half. The result was a perfectly baked cake that was not only easy to throw together but also tasted delicious. Hubby was not too thrilled w/the glaze but that's his personal opinion, I've had about 6 other people taste it compliment it. Thanks for a keeper :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefTop September 04, 2006

I had three bananas that needed to be used...picked this recipe as it was different....I used splendra for baking and made the glaze with speldra too...they turned out fabulous...a real winner of a recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 06, 2006

These are absolutely wonderful, different from banana bread, cake and muffins. I love the taste and texture. The bar is moist and very tender, full of spicy flavour, with a lovely tart glaze. I cooked the bars for 35 minutes and used about 3/4 of a cup of icing sugar to obtain the thin glaze that we enjoy. Thanks so much for sharing. I will definitely be making these again & again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato July 20, 2006

These were really yummy. Be warned when you eat them warm, they taste very sweet, but mellow as they cool. I really loved the texture of these bars, not as dense as a banan bread and not as light as a cake with a wonderful hint of spice. The lemon in the glaze is a nice addition and it took about 3/4 of confectioners sugar for me to get the consistency I desired. My husband really liked these and that means they are a keeper and a fabulous way to use up my overripe bananas. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk July 08, 2006

These are really a great bar, the only problem I had was that I was expecting a thin glaze and instead I had a thick frosting type topping and a lot of it! I used it but I think that these would be better with just a slight lemony topping not a thick one as the lemon flavor enhanced the spicy bars but the sugary frosting kind of took away from it. Mine also took 40 minutes for the middle to be done. Thanks ak for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE July 04, 2006
Banana Spice Bars