Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Spice Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Spice Bars

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2007

      Delicious and super easy. I wanted to see how they tasted a day old, but when I woke up to have one with my coffee, they had mysteriously disappeared!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      These bars are fabulous. I took them to a baptism picnic and they were gone before we ate the meal. My husband likes them better than banana bread and already asked if I could make them again this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      We took these to our Christmas party. They were very well received. We liked the lemon glaze and the spices were were right on. Will make these again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      This was so good! I also used applesauce in place of shortening, but I also used Splenda instead of sugar. The lemon glaze set it off perfectly and everyone just loved it. The only think I may do next time is to add some chopped walnuts for a bit of texture. It is so easy and such a nice way to use up bananas. Thanks akgrown for this new favorite dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I was looking for a non-banana bread recipe that would use my too ripe bananas, and stumbled accross this one. I'm so glad I did. It was easy, wonderfully flavored, the taste of the bananas still comes through. Even my picky non-banana eating child loved it. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Not being a big fan of banana bread, I wanted a new way of using my almost-over-ripe bananas. The only changes I made to it were minor: substituted 1/4 C of flour w/a 7-grain-flour I've recently become a fan of, did not have allspice so used some fresh grated nutmeg & cut the glaze recipe by half. The result was a perfectly baked cake that was not only easy to throw together but also tasted delicious. Hubby was not too thrilled w/the glaze but that's his personal opinion, I've had about 6 other people taste it compliment it. Thanks for a keeper :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I had three bananas that needed to be used...picked this recipe as it was different....I used splendra for baking and made the glaze with speldra too...they turned out fabulous...a real winner of a recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      These are absolutely wonderful, different from banana bread, cake and muffins. I love the taste and texture. The bar is moist and very tender, full of spicy flavour, with a lovely tart glaze. I cooked the bars for 35 minutes and used about 3/4 of a cup of icing sugar to obtain the thin glaze that we enjoy. Thanks so much for sharing. I will definitely be making these again & again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      These were really yummy. Be warned when you eat them warm, they taste very sweet, but mellow as they cool. I really loved the texture of these bars, not as dense as a banan bread and not as light as a cake with a wonderful hint of spice. The lemon in the glaze is a nice addition and it took about 3/4 of confectioners sugar for me to get the consistency I desired. My husband really liked these and that means they are a keeper and a fabulous way to use up my overripe bananas. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      These are really a great bar, the only problem I had was that I was expecting a thin glaze and instead I had a thick frosting type topping and a lot of it! I used it but I think that these would be better with just a slight lemony topping not a thick one as the lemon flavor enhanced the spicy bars but the sugary frosting kind of took away from it. Mine also took 40 minutes for the middle to be done. Thanks ak for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This reminds me of a reicpe my mother use to make at Christmas, only it had black walnuts and rasins in it. These were wonderful and will go in my file of keepers. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2006

      We loved these!!! I love the combination of the spices. I used applesauce instead of the shortening and it turned out great!! Will be making these again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Spice Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    38%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 46.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 321.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 28.2 g
    112%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites