Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Sour Cream Crumb Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Sour Cream Crumb Cake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2011

      Very nice cake. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Very tasty snack cake! I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9 Pyrex. I subbed applesauce for the shortening and left out the blueberries. I'll make this again! Next time, I might add some chopped nuts to the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! Made a few changes to save on calories and the cake was still VERY moist and tasty: used splenda instead of sugar and substituted the 1 cup butter for 1/4 butter and 3/4 apple sauce. Will definitely make this again! FYI topping is divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I can't stop eating this cake, I doubled the crumb topping and used raspberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I am editing previous review -- IF YOU CAN STAND IT --let the cake stand overnight before tasting !! The flavors are MUCH advanced and it it is truly a very tasty BIG cake !! Will be freezing 1/2, since there are just 2 of us -- and we have had more than enough goodies this week ! Thanks MarieAlice !! Guess I was looking for something to use MORE ripe bananas - but this was VERY tasty, if I did have to trash the kitchen to make it !! It WAS a tremendous amount of batter, and I should have prepared 2 pans, but will cut it and freeze part. Was afraid to add more real bananas to upset the balance of ingredients, but expected to taste MORE banana flavor in something which began with "BANANA". It surely will NOT go to waste, but will have to tinker before I try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Highly recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Very good! It is a heavier cake and tasted like a cross between a pound cake and a quick bread. It was very very good and we enjoyed it. Plus it was easy to make. Next time I will double the topping as I felt it didn't cover the whole cake. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      This was good and easy to make. It makes a dense and plentiful cake and the blueberries in it are very good. I may try it without the banana and add more blueberries just to see how it tastes. Very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I had ripe bananas and needed a cake for a church picnic that would not wither in a picnic hamper. I knew that I couldn't go wrong with any recipe submitted by MarieAlice so looked through her recipes. This cake was wonderful in many ways. It made a huge cake. There was so much batter that I put it in a jellyroll pan and it rose up beautifully. It was very moist and had a delicious fruity flavor. It travelled well and looked lovely on the plate. It was a hit! Thanks again for a wonderful recipe that I will be making again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Moist and Yummy! I followed this mostly to the letter. I omitted the blueberries and doubled the topping. I baked this in a bundt pan for 60 minutes. So light and airy! Nice texture with mild banana flavor. I think I'll try this without the cinnamon next time. I think I wil

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Although we didn't use the crumb topping in favor of Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting (116091), this cake was fabulous. I took it to a family dinner where everyone loved it. It was so good that I snatched some to take home with me :). The only alteration (other than frosting) that I made was to use 2/3 c. heavy cream, 1/3 c. milk and 1 T. lemon juice in lieu of sour cream, as I was all out. Wonderful recipe. I can't wait to make it for my husband!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Wow! Exceptional is the word! I give it a resounding full marks because it's nice and moist and the sweetness was just nice. Perfect!! A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I used a handful of frozen blueberries and a very well buttered bundt pan. I also used thick cream with 1 tbs of lemon juice as I didn't have sour cream (will use yogurt the next time). Didn't do topping (personal preference). Everyone loved it! Will use the full 1.5 cups of blueberries the next time I make this. Thank you so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I just made this cake tonight for my family and they RAVED about the flavor and texture of it! I did make it in a 9x13 pan, and it completely stuffed the pan! I also added an extra half of a banana. I didn't think that the crum mixture added enough...oomph, so I frosted the cake, too! Thanks for the recipe. My brother just said, "This may very well be the yummiest thing I have ever tasted in my life." Probably a bit of an over-exaggeration, but he obviously really enjoyed the cake. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2005

      This was a MarieAlice "make a dessert" night....and it lived up to all the other reviews. I made it late this afternoon and it was still warm when I served it. I planned to serve with a good vanilla ice cream so I skipped the topping and just sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar. The combo of the bananas and blueberries was just wonderful. Plan to have some with coffee tomorrow morning. This was really a full 9x13 pan so I made six medium muffins with the extra. This is for sure going into my Make Again cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Made this last night and is very good,I made it in a 9X13 pan,then cut it in 3 to store 3 loaves.I will serve some with cooked mulberry sauce on it tonight.Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      Marie, I made this and divided it in two 8-inch square pans and gave one away to a member of my family, there is a lot of batter to this recipe and filled the pans almost to the top! the combination of bananas and blueberries are wonderful... this cake has both flavor and texture, this is a wonderful recipe, it really deserves more than 5 stars, it will go into my favorites! Marie, thanks for sharing....Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Another winner from MarieAlice! :o) This was simple enough that the kids could do most of it with only a bit of help from me. Truebrit is right, it makes a huge amount of batter...it practically filled the 4-1/2Q bowl on my KitchenAid and when baked it came nearly to the top of a 9x13 pan. You could easily get several loaves (or several dozen muffins!) I did cut back the sugar to 1-1/2 c but the flavor of the bananas (I used 3) made up for it and it was not lacking for any sweetness at all. The only hitch we ran into was when dd was making the crumb topping...she got a bit enthusiastic and ended up creaming the ingredients more than crumbling them, lol. I put the bowl in the freezer for a bit and then cut the mixture back over for topping...I think the cake would be splendid even without it. The girls have already asked when we can make it again. :) Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      MarieAlice, thanks for sharing this delicious recipe! I mixed in about a cup of frozen raspberries, and spread the mixture into a 9" x 13" pan, and the finished result was sooo yummy! The recipe makes a LOT of batter. I mixed the ingredients in a large bowl, but next time, I'll use an even bigger bowl! If using loaf pans, I'm guessing that the recipe would make at least two, or even three loaves. I'll definitely be making this again. The streusel topping is great, but I'd also like to try omitting the topping, and instead try decorating it with a whipped cream frosting. (I imagine it would taste so good with the banana and raspberries!) Thanks for a wonderful dessert. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Sour Cream Crumb Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1722.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1437
    83%
    Total Fat 159.7 g
    245%
    Saturated Fat 47.9 g
    239%
    Cholesterol 117.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 417.3 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 71.2 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 39.0 g
    156%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes