14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We thought this tasted very nice, moist with a good texture, but was a bit too sweet for me. I would try it again with less sugar. I used butter instead of oil, substituted sultanas for the raisins and half a cup of silken tofu for the eggs, and it worked out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie in Brisbane September 23, 2002

This is DELICIOUS! I made this this evening for a special occasion - This was the day exactly 5 years back that we got our Mittu(my parrot) and we're celebrating this day like it's a mock birthday for him!This took exactly an hour to bake. I substituted the oil with margarine and the raisins with broken cashewnuts. Everyone enjoyed it so much at Mittu's party. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani December 11, 2002

Loved it !I used yellow raisins and half the flour was whole wheat . It was really great and like the raisins better than nuts . Thanks for a lovely recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lisonh November 19, 2009

This turned out to be a very good recipe - the raisins and sugary coating made it a nice change from the banana bread I usually make. I will probably try to reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup next time as I did find it a bit sweet, but the kids loved it. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadiangirl #3 August 28, 2008

This was nice and we really like the top coating of sugar, however mine turned out a bit dry and overcooked so tastes better buttered. I generally have to cook things longer in my oven, so didn't check it until the 60 minute mark. I just noticed one of the other reviewers baked theirs for 35 minutes. The only change I made was to use sultanas in place of raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz December 04, 2007

This is very delicious. I love the dusting of the pan with the sugar. It gives it such a nice texture on the outside, and a nice "sweetness" to it. Very good. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama November 09, 2007

Nice texture, not crumbly at all. Moist even w/ only 1/4 c oil. Bake 350� 7x3 loaf pan for 35min UPDATE: baked into muffins, double the recipe, came out with 18 muffins baked 23min

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 June 02, 2007

I made this this morning and DH & I had it with our evening tea. We both enjoyed this bread very much. Has a nice texture and we found it not overly sweet, bit thats us. Next time I will add some nuts for DH, me I might add some chocolate chips next time and omit the raisins. Its very good, thanks for posting this. I added a picture from this morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carb Lover August 27, 2006

The very first loaf of bread I have ever made! I have cooked for quite some time, but have never made any bread before. I made this and it turned out great. I went without raisins, because I didn't have any, and it still turned out. The smell while baking was awesome. The taste and texture were also excellent. I picked up some raisins the last time I was at the market, and will be making it right. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney August 07, 2006

Really delicious and not too sweet. I used yellow raisins and they were a nice mild contrast to the bananas. Family loved this bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? August 07, 2006
Banana Raisin Bread