Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Pumpkin Bread with Brown Sugar Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Pumpkin Bread with Brown Sugar Icing

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2003

      Delicious! Great combination of flavors. The dry pudding mix was a great idea. I'm giving 4 rather than 5 stars because I thought the batter was a bit too moist ... I cooked it 70 minutes - the inside was still a bit undercooked while the edges were getting too brown. I'll be curious to see other reviews to see if I was the only person who had this problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      Excellant bread, the icing is the BOMB! Great use of ingredients, a true repeat recipe and a winner with me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Very moist and good flavor. I added extra pumpkin (1-1/2 c) and only about 3/4c sugar and it was still a little sweet for my tastes. Next time I'll probably leave out the frosting, especially if serving it for breakfast but I loved the pumpkin and banana flavors together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      I made this recipe and loved it because it was very simple and yet tasted like I worked very hard at it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      I had the exact experience that JaneRI mentioned. The bread was baking nicely, and I checked it at 50 minutes...nowhere near done in the middle. 60 minutes...still too soft. 70 minutes...time to come out as the edges were getting toward the too brown stage, but the center was still rather squishy. All that said, it tastes wonderful!! I didn't make any icing since it was really sweet, and I figured I'd save a few calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Try a tube pan for more even baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Add me to the list of those who were disappointed with this recipe. The top was burnt, the whole loaf was soggy (after baking well beyond the rec. time)and the icing went to hard-crack in nothing flat. Perhaps there wasn't enough flour in the recipe? Too much oil? I don't know. I was beginning to think it was my oven, but I baked a 2-layer white cake right after this one, and it turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Add me to the group who had trouble with the outside darkening faster than the bread could bake...After 50 minutes I laid some foil on top an an attempt to get it to bake further without darkening further...After 60 minutes it was still rather soft, but I couldn't wait any longer or it would have blackened...If the results improve upon attempting a second loaf, I'll update my star rating ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      The recipe was very easy to make and went together very quickly. I made no changes or variations to the recipe. I did experience the same problem with the baking time. After 70 minutes I took the bread out since the top was getting too dark. After letting it cool I made the frosting and applied it to the bread. When we finally tasted this we were extremely disappointed in the taste. Between the cup of sugar in the recipe and the frosting it was way too sweet. The banana and the banana pudding were just too much also. We could not taste any pumpkin flavor due to the overwhelming sweetness of the sugar and banana. Was extremely disappointed and threw the bread out. Will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Delicious and extremely moist. I thought I had banana pudding mix, but it was butterscotch, so I used that. All the flavors seemed to blend perfectly together. I used splenda instead of sugar, sugar free pudding mix and omitted the frosting, so all in all this was pretty much a healthy, low calorie treat, which DH and I enjoyed two pieces of each!!!! Thanks Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Pumpkin Bread with Brown Sugar Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (1220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4162.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1538
    36%
    Total Fat 170.9 g
    263%
    Saturated Fat 49.0 g
    245%
    Cholesterol 558.7 mg
    186%
    Sodium 4513.5 mg
    188%
    Total Carbohydrate 646.3 g
    215%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 506.9 g
    2027%
    Protein 31.9 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites