10 Reviews

Delicious! Great combination of flavors. The dry pudding mix was a great idea. I'm giving 4 rather than 5 stars because I thought the batter was a bit too moist ... I cooked it 70 minutes - the inside was still a bit undercooked while the edges were getting too brown. I'll be curious to see other reviews to see if I was the only person who had this problem.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI February 17, 2003

Excellant bread, the icing is the BOMB! Great use of ingredients, a true repeat recipe and a winner with me!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE February 21, 2003

Very moist and good flavor. I added extra pumpkin (1-1/2 c) and only about 3/4c sugar and it was still a little sweet for my tastes. Next time I'll probably leave out the frosting, especially if serving it for breakfast but I loved the pumpkin and banana flavors together.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu February 10, 2003

I made this recipe and loved it because it was very simple and yet tasted like I worked very hard at it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana S_411105181 February 28, 2003

I had the exact experience that JaneRI mentioned. The bread was baking nicely, and I checked it at 50 minutes...nowhere near done in the middle. 60 minutes...still too soft. 70 minutes...time to come out as the edges were getting toward the too brown stage, but the center was still rather squishy. All that said, it tastes wonderful!! I didn't make any icing since it was really sweet, and I figured I'd save a few calories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani March 05, 2003

Try a tube pan for more even baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariannette September 07, 2008

Add me to the list of those who were disappointed with this recipe. The top was burnt, the whole loaf was soggy (after baking well beyond the rec. time)and the icing went to hard-crack in nothing flat. Perhaps there wasn't enough flour in the recipe? Too much oil? I don't know. I was beginning to think it was my oven, but I baked a 2-layer white cake right after this one, and it turned out fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica February 13, 2008

Add me to the group who had trouble with the outside darkening faster than the bread could bake...After 50 minutes I laid some foil on top an an attempt to get it to bake further without darkening further...After 60 minutes it was still rather soft, but I couldn't wait any longer or it would have blackened...If the results improve upon attempting a second loaf, I'll update my star rating ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas November 14, 2007

The recipe was very easy to make and went together very quickly. I made no changes or variations to the recipe. I did experience the same problem with the baking time. After 70 minutes I took the bread out since the top was getting too dark. After letting it cool I made the frosting and applied it to the bread. When we finally tasted this we were extremely disappointed in the taste. Between the cup of sugar in the recipe and the frosting it was way too sweet. The banana and the banana pudding were just too much also. We could not taste any pumpkin flavor due to the overwhelming sweetness of the sugar and banana. Was extremely disappointed and threw the bread out. Will not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kleans October 21, 2007

Delicious and extremely moist. I thought I had banana pudding mix, but it was butterscotch, so I used that. All the flavors seemed to blend perfectly together. I used splenda instead of sugar, sugar free pudding mix and omitted the frosting, so all in all this was pretty much a healthy, low calorie treat, which DH and I enjoyed two pieces of each!!!! Thanks Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat April 19, 2004
Banana-Pumpkin Bread with Brown Sugar Icing