26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY! I replaced half the oil with apple sauce, half the white flour with wheat, and didn't add the stuseal topping. Fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A.'s Kitchen September 10, 2012

oh yum! I left this recipe out for my husband and son to make with some very black bananas! The directions were clear enough for him to follow and the end result was delicious. Great flavour and the topping made these extra special. The kids had some for breakfast the next day and the rest I popped into the frezer for another day. DH was able to get 24 muffins and 1 small loaf. Thanks for sharing :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * January 21, 2006

These muffins are my husband's favorite. He doesn't like nuts, so I add raisins instead. I also add unsweetened dried shredded coconut to the streusel topping to enhance the tropical flavor. I've also experimented with using part whole wheat flour and subsituting part of the fats with ground flax for healthiness. It seems there's nothing you can do to mess up this delicious muffin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erica Behler October 29, 2004

These were wonderful. They would have been good without the streusel topping but with it, it sets them over the roof! Loved the flavor combination. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 17, 2013

The streusel topping is the best part, isn't it always? These are good but pretty sweet and I am basing my star rating on taste. DD (4 years old) likes them. I made ours gluten free using Any Kind Muffins (Gluten Free) for a half batch here. I don't like white sugar but I did use it. I used just 1 egg for the half batch but some more canola oil. Not sure if that is why most of them sunk in the middle. I did add walnuts as we like them in banana bread, if you like them I recommend it. I used alcohol free vanilla plus the rest of the ingredients in both recipes adding a bit of the canned pineapple liquid as my batter was pretty dry. I'd make a different recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 13, 2012

These were great! Moist, tender and delicious! I used butter instead of the oil and mine did not get the lovely high crown on them, but they tasted fantastic. And my streusel topping kind of melted into the muffin for some reason, so the pictures are not too pretty. Next time I may try these as loaves and see if they come out any prettier :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs May 12, 2011

made as 2 bread loaves last night. doubled the streusel. this was very good- i will definatly make again! Stuck to bread pans pretty bad, will use parchment paper next time. This is less dense and a bit sweeter than regular banana bread- no butter needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lori.mccloud November 11, 2009

These are great muffins. I halved the recipe just b/c we didn't need 24 muffins, although I used the full 8 oz of pineapple. I did make a few changes to try and make it healthier. I added 1 c. all-purpose flour and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour (will probably try adding a little more wheat next time), used 1/4 c. sugar and 1/4 c. splenda, 1/4 c. oil and a small jar of babyfood sweet potatoes I needed to use up. My banana wasn't completely ripe, so I added a bit of banana extract and I omitted the nuts and the streusel topping. They only took 18 min to bake and were very moist and sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kleyt August 13, 2009

these were great muffins! i did make a few changes to make them more healthful, but i just love the banana and pineapple together! i used applesauce instead of oil, used 1/2 the sugar (which was plenty) and skipped the topping. lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama May 20, 2008

I made this as dessert & it was fantastic!! The texture of this cake & the combination of flavors are wonderful.I baked it in a 13x9x2 pan & glazed it w/ Kittencal's easy creamy white glaze recipe. Wonderful...thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober February 01, 2008
Banana Pineapple Streusel Muffins