Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Pecan Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Pecan Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2010

      Mine didn't harden as much as I would like, but, they are delicious. 1/2 way between hard and chewy...yummm. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour...worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      These were AWESOME!! It is so nice to have something else to use up overripe bananas on besides bread like things. I did use sliced almonds instead of pecans (what I had on hand) and used part whole wheat flour as well. Made a triple batch since I had 3 bananas I needed to use. So glad I did! DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for posting this easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Even though bananas are my favorite thing to bake with, I was skeptical about them in biscotti. And for no reason! These were so amazing, and tasted almost like banana pancakes when dipped in coffee. I didn't have any pecans, so I toasted some almonds and chopped them up. Excellent, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Oh wow, these are delicious! It has the perfect amount of banana flavour in every bite. Mm! I forgot to set the temperature down to 250 during the second half, so I ended up cutting down the baking time at the end since obviously the biscotti was getting darker faster than I had intended, but it all turned out fine in the end. Though next time, I would do the first baking time for less than what was called for.. maybe 18-20 minutes, as the bottoms got really DARK brown after being in there for 23 minutes. I also used walnuts instead of pecans.. it was like banana nut bread in biscotti form! Soo good! I can't wait to have it with some tea tonight. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      I thought this was absolutely delicious. I only used 1 1/2 cups flour and the dough was a smidge sticky, but easy enough to press down into the shape I needed. I ended up getting 29 out of the two loaves, and they are so good! Can't wait to have one with my coffee in the morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I had very brown bananas on my counter that I needed to use. This was perfect. I used microwave toasted almonds. It was very easy to cut. I've had 2 slices and I haven't dried it yet. 8-) Off to make another batch for lunches next week. I don't think this is going to last very long!!!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      What i love about this biscotti is how easy it is to cut. It's a lovely cookie. I actually doubled the recipe and make two larger logs so that i'd have larger slices and it worked really well. I do find it a little 'floury' in taste but the overall cookie makes up for it. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Instead of nuts I added miniature cinnamon chips for more flavor. I also added at least 1/4 more cup flour and floured my hands when shaping the dough. This made it easier to handle. Also baked a little longer on the lower temp bakings to make crisp. Flavor was great! Baked in 1 large loaf and only makes about 12-15.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      These biscotti turned out pretty good. I left out the pecans (husband doesn't like nuts), and I wonder if that took away from the flavor. While they were sweet, I felt like I could taste the flour too much. Will make again but may try adding a little extra spice. Overall, good recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Very good. I find the texture of this cookie different than other biscotti cookies I have made. The dough was very sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Tastes wonderful. Followed recipie exactly...except that I just flattened that I just flattened in out on the cookie sheet (instead of forming into 8in logs, etc). That may have been a problem...because it only made about 15 servings not 24. So the problem was probably me....but for a first attempt it was good and tastes wonderful! Easy and good recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I thought these were great, made as directed except used almonds instead of pecans as that was all I had. A nice sweet low fat biscuit, you could probably even cut down on the sugar by a little bit more as I found these quite sweet. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      the banana flavor was mild, in spite of the (way, way) over-ripeness of the banana I used. I realized too late that I only had about half the pecans required, so I subsituted walnuts for the rest. I had the opposite of Gia Tree's result with the dough--I didn't think mine would ever all mix. I stirred it in by hand; I suppose it took about 8 minutes (I got impatient and added some applesauce to help moisten it), and I broke the wooden spoon I was using (very dense dough), but I liked stirring it in by hand. The oven times were just right for me--my soon-to-be brother-in-law insists that biscotti is best done in a gas oven, which I have; I don't know if that made a difference at all...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2005

      I had trouble "shaping" this dough, it was really more like a thick cake batter than a dough. I sort of glopped the dough into log-like shapes, and hoped for the best as they went into the oven. It smelled wonderful, but the time to crisp them wasn't accurate (at least for New Orleans in the summer!) So, after they cooled, they went back into the oven for another 20 minutes. They are good, though next time I may substitute brown sugar for the white sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      These are the best biscotti! I always have extra bananas fermenting on my counter and usually use them to make a cake or bread. Not anymore! What I love about these cookies are they aren't overly sweet, plus they are low in fat. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and they were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Pecan Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.1
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    24%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 42.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes