8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it! Annacia, you've got a winner here, the salad isn't overly sweet like most fruit salads. I changed the serving size to one and made it up for breakfast this morning. It was so good, there was no way I could wait a whole hour to eat it! Edited to say that OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS HAS GONE INTO MY TOP 20 FAVORITES COOKBOOK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

This is great. I lost track of how many bananas I used, probably 4, but I did use the larger size can of mandarin oranges. Oh, I also used Texas brand Imperial Pure Cane Dark Brown Sugar and this gave it a great brown color and a wonderful flavor. Sweet and creamy, what wouldn't taste great with sour cream?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas December 24, 2008

This was the most interesting & unique recipe I have come across in a long time! And, it turned out great!! I made this as part of the bbq feast I made for Mother's Day. I used fat free sour cream making this a fairly healthy treat. I used 4 bananas but next time would probably use 5 or 6 and add an extra can of oranges so the salad wasn't so sloppy. I think I may cut the sugar back to about 3/4 cup, too. I prepared the night before and the salad still looked and tasted wonderful when served.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb May 12, 2008

This was a really good fruit salad. My family and I really liked the sour cream it was different, nice and tangy. I will say that when I was making this I found that to sweeten it up a little more I did add some white sugar to it...not much just a couple tbsp. Thanks Annacia, I will be making this again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Chef Mama February 19, 2008

This was a nice creamy fruit salad. I thought the sour cream was a bit overpowering so I added more fruit and topped it with whipped cream. I think it is best to let the dip set a bit before adding the fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family March 08, 2007

Made a great and fast on the run breakfast for my dd on her way to college classes. I mixed it all up and had it ready for her in the refrigerator to eat in the car. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. The yogurt or the citrus kept the bananas from turning brown. Made a great stay at home breakfast for me too! Thanks Annacia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) January 30, 2007

This is a terrific fruit salad & in my book also qualifies as a dessert. I used fresh clementines as DH bought a case of them on sale. It is sweet & makes a lrg amt of sauce, so I added extra fruit + some dried cranberries I let plump in the sauce. I foresee a more adult version in our future made by adding a tbsp or 2 of Grand Marnier to the sauce. Yum! Thx for posting this for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 11, 2006

Wonderful salad, thank you Annacia and Trisha! We loved the flavor of the cinnamon with the bananas and mandarin oranges. This was sweet but still had a hint of tang from the sour cream. The only thing I would do differently next time is add another can of mandarin oranges. So easy to put together and very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 October 16, 2006
Banana & Orange Salad