21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We had our first outdoor family brunch (a tradition during the spring season). This bread is one of the things I served. It was very easy and turned out very delicious. We ate it warm with a cinnamon-butter spread. Wonderful and thanks for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithB25 April 05, 2003

Tastes great warmed with some butter in the morning. Smelled great while baking and had the whole crowd around when I pulled it out of the oven. Thanks for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu January 21, 2003

This was a wonderful banana bread! I like a lot of spice in mine and a bit more fiber. Here are the changes I made: I used olive oil instead of veggie oil and whole wheat flour instead of white. I also used 2 whole eggs. For a bit of spice, I added: 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp allspice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessLovesToCook December 31, 2010

Great recipe! Instead of using 1/2 cup low-fat milk. I used 1/4 cup light sour cream and 1/4 cup low-fat milk. I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. The bread rose beautifully. My family loved it and they usually don't care for banana bread. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel in NC April 02, 2008

I made this again yesterday (for the fourth time, I think... which means a lot, since I like trying out new recipes :) ) and I didn't have any eggs. I used Egg substitute for cakes (one T custard powder, one T milk per egg needed) to substitute for the eggs. I usually use two complete eggs instead of one and two egg-whites, so I doubled the substitution recipe. I did add another two teaspoons of milk because the batter seemed too dry. The result was wonderful: the banana bread was done a little earlier (60 min instead of 70) and tasted great. I do think the crust was a little less crunchy, but I'll do this again when I have brown bananas and no eggs. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizzle July 10, 2006

No wonder this has 5 stars!!! Delish. Perfectly fluffy, moist and tasty. Made w mini muffin tin and it worked as listed at 15 min. I did add a little allspice and ginger b/c I like extra spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerison September 13, 2011

We loved this banana bread! We have to be careful of our cholesterol intake so I substituted the whole egg with 1/3 cup applesauce and I had blueberries, so I added them and one more banana that was in danger of being way over ripe. I too added extra cinnamon as we love it! I will be making this over and over again!!! Yummy! :) Thank you for a great recipe that I can eat and enjoy and not feel guilty!!! Hugs, Jelly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotPepperRosemaryJelly April 09, 2010

This recipe or slightly modified versions of it seem to be in various places around the net. I have made this several times and it is a good recipe. I usually double the cinnamon since a 1/2 tsp just didn't do enough. Also when I am lazy, I just use 2 whole eggs. Works very well with the white whole wheat flour or Robin Hood's Nutri-blend flour if you are looking to boost the fibre content.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansies March 05, 2010

This was really good bread. The texture was just perfect. We put cinnamon sugar butter on ours and everybody said it was just wonderful. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 17, 2009

This recipe was a hit wit my family. I added walnuts, vanilla extract and nutmeg. It was totally moist. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rhodes_tabitha February 13, 2009
Banana-Oatmeal Bread