110 Reviews

I used this recipe to make 6 jumbo muffins. I also made some substitutions, using plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk and I used applesauce instead of the oil. The muffins were a little dense but VERY moist and flavourful! My son and husband loved these!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White House Recipes March 25, 2009

this was just simply an awesome bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapinboat February 05, 2009

Great banana bread! I loved the fact it uses oats. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose December 31, 2008

I made these into muffins, cut back on the sugar and oil, and added chocolate chops to half the batch. I used skim milk with some cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk because it was what I had in the house. I also sprinkled a few oats or chocolate chips on top of each muffin to give it some texture and make it prettier. They received RAVE reviews when I brought them along to visit family. My husband loved them, my brother who doesn't tolerate sugar well loved that they weren't too sweet, my 8-year-old niece LOVED the chocolate chip version, and those of us watching our waistlines loved that they were so filling and nutritious! I think I had to bake the muffins for closer to 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather.steeves October 27, 2008

Just ok...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
monkeylar September 14, 2008

Very easy to make & lovely to eat for brunch or a snack. I used plain yoghurt in place of the buttermilk & would probably have enjoyed it with a bit of cinnamon or allspice, too. I think other reviewers are doing the right thing by suggesting the addition of walnuts. I'll try it like that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt August 15, 2008

A great recipe! I spooned the batter into twelve greased muffin cups and baked for 25 minutes at 350 F. The muffins baked up golden and delicious. A little chewy, but that added interest. Thanks, I'll definitely bake these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 August 01, 2008

Like many "4-star" reviewers here, I appreciate the healthy BB recipe, but DH and I found this bread a bit heavy. Walnuts may help add interest to the density. It _did_ look lovely; I'm sure it'll taste BEST the way we're having it at Nana's Sunday lunch tomorrow: toasted, with a scoop of ice cream on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubletheGarlic July 26, 2008

Really liked the oatmeal idea and it definitely makes the texture more interesting. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to mix it up a bit. Only used 1/2 cup of sugar as per other suggestions and found that it was sweet enough. This loaf is a good alternative to using up dead bananas in banana cake and I'm sure I'll make it again, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_lux_ July 22, 2008

Very yummy and much healthier (yay!) than most of the other banana bread recipes I've come across. My loaf turned a gorgeous golden brown allover--it was the prettiest banana bread I've ever made. And, I loved the texture the oatmeal added to the bread--it gave it a much nicer mouth feel than your typical BB. However, I found mine to be a bit on the dry side. I don't know if it's because I added walnuts, but I don't see how that would make a HUGE difference. Next time I might bump up the buttermilk, bump down the cook time, or add a pan of water to the oven while this one cooks. Thanks for the yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodlookin' Cookin' June 18, 2008
Banana-Oatmeal Bread