113 Reviews

Love it. This recipe is fool-proof. I have tried a number of variations on it (e.g., applesauce in place of oil), all with good results. My favorite thing to add so far is almond extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaclynkb July 31, 2009

Tender and delicious! I made several changes myself as I noticed some helpful hints from others and made some changes of my own. I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I substituted 1/3 cup organic raw blue agave for the 2/3 cup sugar. I also used 1/8 cup of oil and added a couple of tbsp of plain yogurt. The result was moist and not too sweet. Next time I will add cinnamon and ground flax seed. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPB' June 20, 2009

Great moist result. Made mine with less sugar (1 cup) and sprinkled top with some oat bran nutmeg and sugar. Family loved it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ballarat June 12, 2009

I don't like banana bread or banana anything else. With the extra teaspoon of vanilla, a teaspoon each of orange and lemon extract and an open mind, this bread is very good. It was in the oven a bit too long, but the flavor and texture are great. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods June 11, 2009

My son loved this bread. He's not much of a breakfast eater and I would have to force him to eat before school, but when I had this in the house, he wanted breakfast every morning. I make a few and freeze just to make sure I have a spare! I think this is a super idea to mix oatmeal and bananas together. I think it keeps my son fuller and not so hungry before lunch because of the oatmeal in the bread. Its great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Herz April 21, 2009

I used this recipe to make 6 jumbo muffins. I also made some substitutions, using plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk and I used applesauce instead of the oil. The muffins were a little dense but VERY moist and flavourful! My son and husband loved these!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White House Recipes March 25, 2009

this was just simply an awesome bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrapinboat February 05, 2009

Great banana bread! I loved the fact it uses oats. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose December 31, 2008

I made these into muffins, cut back on the sugar and oil, and added chocolate chops to half the batch. I used skim milk with some cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk because it was what I had in the house. I also sprinkled a few oats or chocolate chips on top of each muffin to give it some texture and make it prettier. They received RAVE reviews when I brought them along to visit family. My husband loved them, my brother who doesn't tolerate sugar well loved that they weren't too sweet, my 8-year-old niece LOVED the chocolate chip version, and those of us watching our waistlines loved that they were so filling and nutritious! I think I had to bake the muffins for closer to 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather.steeves October 27, 2008

Very easy to make & lovely to eat for brunch or a snack. I used plain yoghurt in place of the buttermilk & would probably have enjoyed it with a bit of cinnamon or allspice, too. I think other reviewers are doing the right thing by suggesting the addition of walnuts. I'll try it like that next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt August 15, 2008
Banana-Oatmeal Bread