Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2008

      Good but a little dry for banana bread. I used light brown sugar but followed other directions as given. Tasty and good flavor but I am giving it a four coz it is healthier than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      Turned our perfectly! I used just regular 2% milk since we didn't have buttermilk...and olive oil in place of veggie, but it all still worked great! I sprinkled a little of the oats on top before baking too - just to add that extra touch! Very good recipe indeed! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This was excellent. Little tough but I might have mixed it too much. I like the fact that it has more texture than regular banana bread. It's great for an on the go breakfast! I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Very nice banana bread. I chose it because it is a little different than mine. It's more of a bread texture and not moist and heavy. I followed the recipe and did not add any flavors other than the vanilla. It has possibilities of versatility by adding other spices like other reviewers suggest. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Excellent Banana Bread !! Two of my favorite ingredients- bananas and oatmeal.It wasn't dry or too wet--just right ! I did substitute 1/2 cup of white flour with whole wheat, added 1 Tablespoon ground flax seed, 1/2 cup sugar instead of 2/3 cup & vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk. This made 3 mini loaves so we can eat one and freeze the rest for a sweet emergency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Best banana bread recipe I've ever found! The oats add a chewiness that gives it great texture and holds the bread together. I cut the sugar amount in half and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla AND a teaspoon of orange extract (my secret ingredient!) as well as 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and a tablespoon of ground flaxseed. I also used half finely ground whole wheat flour with half regular white flour. It came out beautifully and so delicious! Next time I'll try using all whole wheat flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was terrific - it's my new go-to banana bread recipe. We used yogurt instead of buttermilk, and it was a fine substitution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      Moist and delicious even at 4200 feet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Fabulous! Given kburie's notes, I took some liberties with the ingredients. I added 1/2 cup powdered milk...since it's a good way to sneak in extra calcium. I also subbed vanilla yogurt for the buttermilk and applesauce for the oil. I also added about a cup of frozen blueberries just before pouring it into the loaf pan. It made a great moist loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      This was a pretty good banana bread. I did make a few subs, I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. I used more like a 1/2 cup of buttermilk. I liked it, but i don't think I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This was really good - although I made so many changes I'm not sure what the regular recipe would taste like! I used 1c white flour, 1/2 c whole wheat. I used light brown sugar instead of white. I used 1/3c skim milk + 1t white vinegar instead of buttermilk. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I used 2t vanilla (LOVE vanilla). I used 1/2c Egg Beaters instead of the eggs. ~whew~ Made 2 mini-loaves and cut each loaf into 6 pieces for 2 WW points each. VERY GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Very good and healthy too (used part white whole wheat flour)! I also soaked the oatmeal in the buttermilk while preparing the other ingredients. I found the texture as a result of the oatmeal to be different and interesting and as the description states, it is not as sticky-moist as a traditional banana bread. I prefer it more moist so next time I may add an additional banana or a little more buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Loved it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This is an excellent banana bread recipe, and allows for adaptations to the recipe. I have, on different occasions, made it with whole milk, soy milk, I have used more bananas than called for, I have reduced the amount of flour and substituted additional oatmeal. I have substituted spelt flour for white flour, and added flax meal. I have replaced the sugar with honey. It comes out chewy, sweet, and delicate every time. This has become a much requested treat in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I though tthis recipe was ok. I guess it wasn't quite sweet enough and flavorful enough for me. But, it was an ok banana bread with a little bit of a thicker texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This was a fabulous Recipe. I made it into muffins for brunch and everyone loved them. I did use splenda instead of the sugar but other than that followed the recipe to a T! Thanks for sharing, this one will become a permanant in my files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This was wonderful! I loved the texture. My whole family gobbled it up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I enjoy banana bread with granola in it so I thought I'd give this a try. We did enjoy the "nubbiness" of the bread. Mine finished baking in about 45 minutes (I measured the mashed banana) and it rose nicely. This makes a fluffy banana bread (as opposed to dense) and is a nice change. Thanks for posting, Kburie. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      It was good - I used a little more bananas... I also soaked the old fashion oaks in buttermil while preparing the ingredians. It softens them a little. I will try to use the quick oats next time..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I enjoyed this bread but hubby didn't like it as much. I used non-fat yogurt and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg, I also double the recipe and used half brown sugar. My hubby wanted a spicer bread, but I think over all it was good. I wanted to replace some of the oil with apple sauce but was unsure how having so little fat would change this bread. I'll be playing with it some more. It's really yummy with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    26%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 139.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites