111 Reviews

Delicious! I followed the recipe, mostly. No buttermilk on hand, substituted with milk instead. (Also threw in a quarter cup greek yogurt). Soaked the oatmeal in the milk while I got other ingredients together. Added walnuts. (All banana bread should have walnuts. :) ) I wasn't reading closely / mixed up baking soda & baking powder -- ended up using a tsp of both - no problems. Last - added a dash of pumpkin pie spice (sounded good); and a quarter teaspoon of chipotle powder (why not?). Chipotle gave it a little bit of heat, but not overwhelmingly so. Turned out pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoManyDogs October 31, 2014

LOL, I did change ingredients but mostly due to not having them. I used brown sugar instead of regular. Didn't have butter milk or the ingredients to make my own buttermilk so used whole milk. Also didn't have vegetable oil so I used peanut oil. So it kind of had a nutty flavor. I like one person's idea of cooking the oats first. Dry they give off a nutty flavor. Also didn't have white flower so used wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica September 29, 2014

This bread is fantastic. I did make a couple of changes after reading the reviews. I used half oats and half flour. I also used yogurt in place of the oil. It turned out with a wonderful and moist texture perfect for breakfast! Oh, I also added lots of cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PattyinOK June 02, 2014

This is good banana bread. I was getting tired on the "regular" banana bread so this is a nice change. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I mixed the oats with regular milk (didn't have buttermilk) and it came out fine. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. I also only had 1 banana so it wasn't a full cup and that probably accounts for the ends of bread being a bit dry. Usually banana bread is very moist through out. I will make this bread again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitty_11226629 January 13, 2014

I really enjoyed the chewiness of this bread and it was so quick and easy. next time i think i will add more banana. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 13, 2013

Thank you for having this recipe posted. I had lost alot of my old family recipes during a move. I think this is the closest to the one I had. I made them as cupcakes. Next time I will add some raisins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loving Life Nana November 07, 2013

I doubled the recipe (with the exception of the sugar) since I had so many bananas left over this week. Subbed in sunflower seed butter for the oil to up the protein and mineral content and used skim milk instead of buttermilk since I didn't have any yogurt on hand (which is what I would have used in place of buttermilk). I baked it in a rectangular cake pan and it came out great! The seed butter didn't overtake the banana flavor, I was a little worried it might but I think I will make it this way again. Great quick breakfast and snack for the kids!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinsiemens October 27, 2013

Excellent!! I used whole wheat flour, and coconut oil, and added some ground flax seed, and the loaf is soo very tasty, with the oats adding a bit of crunch. Absolutely a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 June 30, 2013

I used 4 bananas in this. I made it for my family and they all loved it. Just the right amount of sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel April 06, 2013

Very good basic recipe. Would definitely make it again and do a little tweaking using some of the suggestions given. I did use a little less sugar and added some walnuts. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helgaf March 25, 2013
Banana-Oatmeal Bread