Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2009

      Very nice....we really liked the addition of oats to our banana bread. Only change I made was to add about 3/4 cup of peanut butter chipits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Wonderful, did not chnage a thing. Added cinnamon as recommended. Made 2 smaller loaves (have 4 small children). A real winner! The oats really make it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I can't rate this on taste since I baked this for a neighbor but as for ingredients & baking time--it's great! I used 1/2 cup Splenda but kept everything else the same. Batter was wonderful & easy to handle! I made about 10 jumbo muffins--baked about 28 min. I had buttermilk to use up so thank you for this-and I hope our neighbor enjoys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Love it. This recipe is fool-proof. I have tried a number of variations on it (e.g., applesauce in place of oil), all with good results. My favorite thing to add so far is almond extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Sorry! This loaf didn't do it for me! I used 4 bananas and replaced the buttermilk with yogurt and I really felt that the loaf lacked flavor. I have tried too many others that are way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Tender and delicious! I made several changes myself as I noticed some helpful hints from others and made some changes of my own. I used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I substituted 1/3 cup organic raw blue agave for the 2/3 cup sugar. I also used 1/8 cup of oil and added a couple of tbsp of plain yogurt. The result was moist and not too sweet. Next time I will add cinnamon and ground flax seed. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Great moist result. Made mine with less sugar (1 cup) and sprinkled top with some oat bran nutmeg and sugar. Family loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      I don't like banana bread or banana anything else. With the extra teaspoon of vanilla, a teaspoon each of orange and lemon extract and an open mind, this bread is very good. It was in the oven a bit too long, but the flavor and texture are great. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      My son loved this bread. He's not much of a breakfast eater and I would have to force him to eat before school, but when I had this in the house, he wanted breakfast every morning. I make a few and freeze just to make sure I have a spare! I think this is a super idea to mix oatmeal and bananas together. I think it keeps my son fuller and not so hungry before lunch because of the oatmeal in the bread. Its great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      I used this recipe to make 6 jumbo muffins. I also made some substitutions, using plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk and I used applesauce instead of the oil. The muffins were a little dense but VERY moist and flavourful! My son and husband loved these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      this was just simply an awesome bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Great banana bread! I loved the fact it uses oats. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I made these into muffins, cut back on the sugar and oil, and added chocolate chops to half the batch. I used skim milk with some cider vinegar in place of the buttermilk because it was what I had in the house. I also sprinkled a few oats or chocolate chips on top of each muffin to give it some texture and make it prettier. They received RAVE reviews when I brought them along to visit family. My husband loved them, my brother who doesn't tolerate sugar well loved that they weren't too sweet, my 8-year-old niece LOVED the chocolate chip version, and those of us watching our waistlines loved that they were so filling and nutritious! I think I had to bake the muffins for closer to 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Just ok...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Very easy to make & lovely to eat for brunch or a snack. I used plain yoghurt in place of the buttermilk & would probably have enjoyed it with a bit of cinnamon or allspice, too. I think other reviewers are doing the right thing by suggesting the addition of walnuts. I'll try it like that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      A great recipe! I spooned the batter into twelve greased muffin cups and baked for 25 minutes at 350 F. The muffins baked up golden and delicious. A little chewy, but that added interest. Thanks, I'll definitely bake these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      Like many "4-star" reviewers here, I appreciate the healthy BB recipe, but DH and I found this bread a bit heavy. Walnuts may help add interest to the density. It _did_ look lovely; I'm sure it'll taste BEST the way we're having it at Nana's Sunday lunch tomorrow: toasted, with a scoop of ice cream on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Really liked the oatmeal idea and it definitely makes the texture more interesting. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to mix it up a bit. Only used 1/2 cup of sugar as per other suggestions and found that it was sweet enough. This loaf is a good alternative to using up dead bananas in banana cake and I'm sure I'll make it again, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Very yummy and much healthier (yay!) than most of the other banana bread recipes I've come across. My loaf turned a gorgeous golden brown allover--it was the prettiest banana bread I've ever made. And, I loved the texture the oatmeal added to the bread--it gave it a much nicer mouth feel than your typical BB. However, I found mine to be a bit on the dry side. I don't know if it's because I added walnuts, but I don't see how that would make a HUGE difference. Next time I might bump up the buttermilk, bump down the cook time, or add a pan of water to the oven while this one cooks. Thanks for the yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This is FAB! I loved the combo of the bananas and oatmeal. I wasn't sure if it would be too dense, but it was perfect. Thank you for this delicious addition for my quick bread cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    26%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 139.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes