109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made a double recipe (with 50% whole wheat flour and some cinnamon), and definitely preferred the second batch, the one that sat out while the first loaf was in the oven. The first batch had oatmeal that was firm/hard and bright white when cut. It was still good, but not quite as delicious as the second.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is it tasty? August 29, 2010

Really good! I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves. Loved the texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yellowjellybeans March 13, 2010

Not bad but not spectacular. I did not love the texture so I would suggest that anyone using whole rolled oats soak them in the buttermilk for a while prior to mixing with remaining ingredients. The colour was nice and golden and the top had a nice sweet crusty-ness to it. Not overbearing with the banana flavour but I would have preferred more banana in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiddler March 11, 2010

very good texture and taste! I substituted the sugar with 1/3 cup Agave, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour with the white flour. I made it yesterday afternoon and between my husband and my sons there is 1 piece left!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl February 25, 2010

Fantastic recipe! I made muffins rather than bread, and here's what you need to know: yields 12 muffins, bake 375 for 16-18 minutes. Another tip is to measure all the wet ingredients in one glass measuring cup, making sure you end up with 2 cups total liquid including the chopped banana. Finally, I wanted a muffin topping, so I finely chopped 1/4 cup walnuts and 1 T. brown sugar - then sprinkled that mixture on top of the muffins before baking. SO yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva September 24, 2008

Delicious! I followed the recipe, mostly. No buttermilk on hand, substituted with milk instead. (Also threw in a quarter cup greek yogurt). Soaked the oatmeal in the milk while I got other ingredients together. Added walnuts. (All banana bread should have walnuts. :) ) I wasn't reading closely / mixed up baking soda & baking powder -- ended up using a tsp of both - no problems. Last - added a dash of pumpkin pie spice (sounded good); and a quarter teaspoon of chipotle powder (why not?). Chipotle gave it a little bit of heat, but not overwhelmingly so. Turned out pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoManyDogs October 31, 2014

LOL, I did change ingredients but mostly due to not having them. I used brown sugar instead of regular. Didn't have butter milk or the ingredients to make my own buttermilk so used whole milk. Also didn't have vegetable oil so I used peanut oil. So it kind of had a nutty flavor. I like one person's idea of cooking the oats first. Dry they give off a nutty flavor. Also didn't have white flower so used wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica September 29, 2014

This bread is fantastic. I did make a couple of changes after reading the reviews. I used half oats and half flour. I also used yogurt in place of the oil. It turned out with a wonderful and moist texture perfect for breakfast! Oh, I also added lots of cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PattyinOK June 02, 2014

This is good banana bread. I was getting tired on the "regular" banana bread so this is a nice change. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I mixed the oats with regular milk (didn't have buttermilk) and it came out fine. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. I also only had 1 banana so it wasn't a full cup and that probably accounts for the ends of bread being a bit dry. Usually banana bread is very moist through out. I will make this bread again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitty_11226629 January 13, 2014

I really enjoyed the chewiness of this bread and it was so quick and easy. next time i think i will add more banana. thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 13, 2013
Banana-Oatmeal Bread