Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2013

      I doubled the recipe (with the exception of the sugar) since I had so many bananas left over this week. Subbed in sunflower seed butter for the oil to up the protein and mineral content and used skim milk instead of buttermilk since I didn't have any yogurt on hand (which is what I would have used in place of buttermilk). I baked it in a rectangular cake pan and it came out great! The seed butter didn't overtake the banana flavor, I was a little worried it might but I think I will make it this way again. Great quick breakfast and snack for the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Excellent!! I used whole wheat flour, and coconut oil, and added some ground flax seed, and the loaf is soo very tasty, with the oats adding a bit of crunch. Absolutely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      I used 4 bananas in this. I made it for my family and they all loved it. Just the right amount of sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      Very good basic recipe. Would definitely make it again and do a little tweaking using some of the suggestions given. I did use a little less sugar and added some walnuts. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I followed this recipe almost to the letter, but I added some cinnamon and I'm pretty sure I had more than one cup of bananas (I just mashed three whole bananas. Can't go wrong with more banana when making banana bread, right?). It baked up beautifully, smells heavenly, and tastes as good as it smells. I did have to let it go an extra five minutes because it wasn't quite done in the center, and that extra five minutes got the bottoms and sides a little more brown than I wanted, but it's still a great loaf of bread. I will absolutely be making this again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I made it with Rye flour. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Sorry, out of 15 people, only one liked the oatmeal in this. I made this as recipe states. Everyone said the bread was too tough. The one who liked it just liked the taste of raw oatmeal in it. Sorry, this was a fail here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      This was so delicious. I didn't have eggs so I used the flax seed as you suggested and it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      The bread turned out perfect, the texture was perfect, I thought it was just a little too sweet so I will use less Splenda next time, but my guy said the sweetness was perfect and that this was his favorite Banana Oatmeal Bread so far! Here are the changes that I made:
      I used Splenda instead of sugar (will use a bit less next time), "No Sugar Added Apple Sauce" instead of oil, I used low fat buttermilk, the recipe doesn't say whether to use Old Fashioned Oats or Quick Oats, so I used the Quick Oats. I also added about a teaspoon of cinnamon. I use banana's that are very ripe, almost black (brings out the best banana flavor). Will add more banana in the next batch. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      Good recipe. Easy to make. Everyone enjoyed. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Pretty decent for banana bread. I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and 2/3 pastry flour. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Wonderful! I used brown sugar, half whole wheat flour and stirred in a few chopped peanuts, but otherwise followed the recipe. A half batch yielded nine perfect muffins, and my husb is crazy about them. The texture is not at all dense like I thought it would be, and the oats give a nice chew. I'll definitely keep this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I use this as my base recipe, but I thought I would give kudo's to the author for that. I use skim instead of buttermilk, brown sugar instead of white, add flax, add whole wheat flower, add nuts and chocolate chips... and I double the amount. But hey, it's a great base recipe. Thanks! Great Job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Leave it to Cooking Light to bring out another bomb. This is great stuff. Thanks for sharing. Will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I love this recipe and make it a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe - for two years!! I increase the salt to 1/2 tsp. We love this recipe - esp toasted on the second day (if it lasts that long). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      What a great flavor! I overcooked mine a little so it was a bit chewy but that was my own fault. I was the only person who noticed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      This is the 2nd time I've made it (but the first time I ate some!). This was a really simple and delicious recipe! I think I might add some cinnamon or something for a little spice the next time around. Thanks, vino girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Very nice....we really liked the addition of oats to our banana bread. Only change I made was to add about 3/4 cup of peanut butter chipits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    26%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 139.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites