109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Like most reviewers, I modified this recipe - I was not sold on the "chewy" aspect of the oats in the finished product, so instead I pre-cooked the oats (something learned from making Oatmeal Cake.) I combined the oats with 1/2cup boiling water and let them set to cool. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand. Instead, I added butter (3 tablespoons) and 1/4 cup packed brown sugar-splenda blend to the oats . I combined the slightly cooled oats with the wet ingredients - and eliminated the oil altogether. In addition, I added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts and then added the dry ingredients (I lowered amount of sugar to 1/3 cup.) The resulting bread came out moist and tasty. Not too sweet, and not at all chewy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JohnnyK November 07, 2009

I also modified the recipe quite a bit... First off, mixed the oats with the buttermilk (which I increased to 1/2 cup) and set aside to soak. I also halved the sugar and subbed all of the oil with applesauce. I used 1 1/4 cups of bananas. I also added 1/4 cup of poppy seeds, 1/4 cup of raw cocoa nibs, and 1 tsp rum extract (it could've used more). Baked in a loaf pan at 325F for 55 minutes and got a wonderful crust with a moist interior!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie February 27, 2011

Wonderful Banana Bread!! great texture. Used Scottish Oats, half whole wheat, half white flour. Used Greek Yogurt instead of buttermilk. Add a quick Streusel Topping for those with a sweet tooth. Baked at 325 for 30 minutes with a lid (just placed another bread pan upside down over the top of the other one) to seal in the moisture and prevent burning of edges, then increased the temp. to 350 for another 20-30 minutes without a lid to finish the baking at brown the bread nicely. New Favorite! Might add more bananas next time, perhaps with some cranberries :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecraw June 26, 2011

This baked up like a dream. And I guess I'm one of those people in the chewy oatmeal fan club because I added extra and I love it! Changes: I added equal part flour and oats (1 c each), 1 tsp cinnamon and subbed 1/2 c packed brown sugar instead of the white sugar. It's chewy, soft and fluffy and is delicious even without butter. A great breakfast bread!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilywrenn February 19, 2013

I made this for part of my Dad's birthday present. He is my mom's care giver and he isn't a chef, he has had success with cookies and cakes, but I thought he deserved some extra special treats! I read many reviews and used many of them for my bread. I soak my oats in just enough hot water to cover them and added cinnamon while they were soaking. I substituted plain greek yogurt for the buttermilk. I also substituted applesauce for the oil and the flaxseed and water for the eggs. I also added 2 T. of bran while mixing the dry ingredients together. I sprinkled the tops very lightly with brown sugar. This recipe made 4 mini loaves for me. Enough that we were able to sample one and Mom and Dad can have a few loaves that are the perfect size for them. I feel better knowing I am making them some great tasting treats that are a little healthier than average!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wright May 25, 2013

2 medium bananas= 1 cup. doubled the recipe Had 4 bananas., used the 2/3 of white and 1/3 of white whole wheat. exchange 1/2 of oil for organic none sweet apple souse. added 1 cup of nuts and about 1 cup of dry cranberries. Made 2 loafs of bread .,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Esther in Atlanta, GA December 02, 2012

Very good recipe. Love it because of the oatmeal, and not a ton of sugar. I used skim milk instead of the buttermilk, and my family thought is was great....Will be making again when I have a few ripe bananas on the counter staring at me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LORI HA September 14, 2012

The purpose of buttermilk (yogurt, milk and lemon, etc.) in a quick bread or muffin is to assist in leavening: acid activates baking soda, causing it to foam and 'fluff' your batter. When substituting, remember to add some acid to your wet ingredients to replace this effect.

Made recipe as stated, with a few immaterial additions and substitutions. Added a shot of Whalers Vanilla rum (my go-to baking rum) to inhibit gluten formation. Also used ww pastry flour to the same end. End result was pleasantly chewy (from oat s and added almonds), and not at all greasy the way quick breads can sometimes be. Delicious even without butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZoeB August 24, 2012

Fantastic! I made a gluten free* twist by using 1cup Pamela's all purpose baking and pancake mix plus 1/2 cup of oat flour. Additionally I added 1/8 cup flax seeds. Convection baked at 325 for 50 minutes and lined my pan with parchment paper rather than using oil. Like another member mentioned, I too, soaked my oats in 1/2 cop of buttermilk for 30 minutes before combining all ingredients. * I do not have celiac and can tolerate oats so if you just have a sensitivity to wheat give this a try. My 21 month old picky eater loves this. It's a great way to incorporate some whole grains in her diet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glutenfree glutton April 01, 2012

Nice texture. I cut the sugar by 25% and added nuts...plenty sweet....may cut it a bit more next time. Good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownstone gal January 19, 2012
Banana-Oatmeal Bread