Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2009

      Like most reviewers, I modified this recipe - I was not sold on the "chewy" aspect of the oats in the finished product, so instead I pre-cooked the oats (something learned from making Oatmeal Cake.) I combined the oats with 1/2cup boiling water and let them set to cool. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand. Instead, I added butter (3 tablespoons) and 1/4 cup packed brown sugar-splenda blend to the oats . I combined the slightly cooled oats with the wet ingredients - and eliminated the oil altogether. In addition, I added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts and then added the dry ingredients (I lowered amount of sugar to 1/3 cup.) The resulting bread came out moist and tasty. Not too sweet, and not at all chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      Wonderful Banana Bread!! great texture. Used Scottish Oats, half whole wheat, half white flour. Used Greek Yogurt instead of buttermilk. Add a quick Streusel Topping for those with a sweet tooth. Baked at 325 for 30 minutes with a lid (just placed another bread pan upside down over the top of the other one) to seal in the moisture and prevent burning of edges, then increased the temp. to 350 for another 20-30 minutes without a lid to finish the baking at brown the bread nicely. New Favorite! Might add more bananas next time, perhaps with some cranberries :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I also modified the recipe quite a bit... First off, mixed the oats with the buttermilk (which I increased to 1/2 cup) and set aside to soak. I also halved the sugar and subbed all of the oil with applesauce. I used 1 1/4 cups of bananas. I also added 1/4 cup of poppy seeds, 1/4 cup of raw cocoa nibs, and 1 tsp rum extract (it could've used more). Baked in a loaf pan at 325F for 55 minutes and got a wonderful crust with a moist interior!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I made this for part of my Dad's birthday present. He is my mom's care giver and he isn't a chef, he has had success with cookies and cakes, but I thought he deserved some extra special treats! I read many reviews and used many of them for my bread. I soak my oats in just enough hot water to cover them and added cinnamon while they were soaking. I substituted plain greek yogurt for the buttermilk. I also substituted applesauce for the oil and the flaxseed and water for the eggs. I also added 2 T. of bran while mixing the dry ingredients together. I sprinkled the tops very lightly with brown sugar. This recipe made 4 mini loaves for me. Enough that we were able to sample one and Mom and Dad can have a few loaves that are the perfect size for them. I feel better knowing I am making them some great tasting treats that are a little healthier than average!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      This baked up like a dream. And I guess I'm one of those people in the chewy oatmeal fan club because I added extra and I love it! Changes: I added equal part flour and oats (1 c each), 1 tsp cinnamon and subbed 1/2 c packed brown sugar instead of the white sugar. It's chewy, soft and fluffy and is delicious even without butter. A great breakfast bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      2 medium bananas= 1 cup. doubled the recipe Had 4 bananas., used the 2/3 of white and 1/3 of white whole wheat. exchange 1/2 of oil for organic none sweet apple souse. added 1 cup of nuts and about 1 cup of dry cranberries. Made 2 loafs of bread .,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      Very good recipe. Love it because of the oatmeal, and not a ton of sugar. I used skim milk instead of the buttermilk, and my family thought is was great....Will be making again when I have a few ripe bananas on the counter staring at me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      The purpose of buttermilk (yogurt, milk and lemon, etc.) in a quick bread or muffin is to assist in leavening: acid activates baking soda, causing it to foam and 'fluff' your batter. When substituting, remember to add some acid to your wet ingredients to replace this effect.

      Made recipe as stated, with a few immaterial additions and substitutions. Added a shot of Whalers Vanilla rum (my go-to baking rum) to inhibit gluten formation. Also used ww pastry flour to the same end. End result was pleasantly chewy (from oat s and added almonds), and not at all greasy the way quick breads can sometimes be. Delicious even without butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Fantastic! I made a gluten free* twist by using 1cup Pamela's all purpose baking and pancake mix plus 1/2 cup of oat flour. Additionally I added 1/8 cup flax seeds. Convection baked at 325 for 50 minutes and lined my pan with parchment paper rather than using oil. Like another member mentioned, I too, soaked my oats in 1/2 cop of buttermilk for 30 minutes before combining all ingredients. * I do not have celiac and can tolerate oats so if you just have a sensitivity to wheat give this a try. My 21 month old picky eater loves this. It's a great way to incorporate some whole grains in her diet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Nice texture. I cut the sugar by 25% and added nuts...plenty sweet....may cut it a bit more next time. Good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I made a double recipe (with 50% whole wheat flour and some cinnamon), and definitely preferred the second batch, the one that sat out while the first loaf was in the oven. The first batch had oatmeal that was firm/hard and bright white when cut. It was still good, but not quite as delicious as the second.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Really good! I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves. Loved the texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Not bad but not spectacular. I did not love the texture so I would suggest that anyone using whole rolled oats soak them in the buttermilk for a while prior to mixing with remaining ingredients. The colour was nice and golden and the top had a nice sweet crusty-ness to it. Not overbearing with the banana flavour but I would have preferred more banana in it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      very good texture and taste! I substituted the sugar with 1/3 cup Agave, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour with the white flour. I made it yesterday afternoon and between my husband and my sons there is 1 piece left!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! I made muffins rather than bread, and here's what you need to know: yields 12 muffins, bake 375 for 16-18 minutes. Another tip is to measure all the wet ingredients in one glass measuring cup, making sure you end up with 2 cups total liquid including the chopped banana. Finally, I wanted a muffin topping, so I finely chopped 1/4 cup walnuts and 1 T. brown sugar - then sprinkled that mixture on top of the muffins before baking. SO yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      This bread is fantastic. I did make a couple of changes after reading the reviews. I used half oats and half flour. I also used yogurt in place of the oil. It turned out with a wonderful and moist texture perfect for breakfast! Oh, I also added lots of cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This is good banana bread. I was getting tired on the "regular" banana bread so this is a nice change. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I mixed the oats with regular milk (didn't have buttermilk) and it came out fine. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar. I also only had 1 banana so it wasn't a full cup and that probably accounts for the ends of bread being a bit dry. Usually banana bread is very moist through out. I will make this bread again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I really enjoyed the chewiness of this bread and it was so quick and easy. next time i think i will add more banana. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Thank you for having this recipe posted. I had lost alot of my old family recipes during a move. I think this is the closest to the one I had. I made them as cupcakes. Next time I will add some raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I doubled the recipe (with the exception of the sugar) since I had so many bananas left over this week. Subbed in sunflower seed butter for the oil to up the protein and mineral content and used skim milk instead of buttermilk since I didn't have any yogurt on hand (which is what I would have used in place of buttermilk). I baked it in a rectangular cake pan and it came out great! The seed butter didn't overtake the banana flavor, I was a little worried it might but I think I will make it this way again. Great quick breakfast and snack for the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    26%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 31.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 139.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites