14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good! My daughter and her friend enjoyed them. Next time I will make it as muffins instead.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikimony January 10, 2003

I've been searching for a healthy-ish grab and go breakfast bar for my kids. Of the recipes I've tried, these have been the biggest hit. My substitutions have been old fashioned oats (not the quick cooking ones) and whole wheat flour. They are a bit dense but I actually like them like that and they aren't as crumbly once cooled. My younger girls like them with chocolate chips sprinkled on top (before baking) and my older girls like them baked plain but smeared with Nutella before eating. (go figure - lol) Excellent recipe in my opinion. Thank you for sharing!!! <3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennrz4 October 01, 2012

Great recipe to use up some bananas!! This made for healthy tasty bars! Added some cinnamon chiips to the mix instead of the cinnamon. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes! Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 04, 2009

Great! These were easy to make and good to eat! I made the exact recipe (except I added chocolate chips instead of nuts or fruit) and I had no trouble with dryness or crumbly texture, they are well formed bars that are moist and hold together well. I agree that these bars are a good alternative to a traditional oatmeal muffin and a great way to use up ripe bananas! Thanks for posting this recipe, I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hayleysuzanne May 30, 2009

I used 1 cup applesauce when I had no bananas. Excellent cookies any way. Crumbly, but no one leaves the crumbs behind.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suebb October 18, 2008

These came out moist and delicious! I used 1/2 c of applesauce for 1/2 of the butter, used 1 c of whole wheat flour & 1/2 c of white, threw in some raisins & sunflower seeds (for crunch). I'm eating them right now, warm out of the oven & they really are yummy. Not too sweet (I used 4 pretty ripe bananas). What a great change of pace your typical banana bread/muffin circuit. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyDog August 07, 2008

What a nice change from banana bread! I used 3 very ripe bananas, a combination of dried mangos, papaya and pineapple and no nuts. The bars turned out great, and I remembered my mother's recipe for broiled icing from years ago and put that on top while it was still warm. 1/4 cup melted butter, 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tbsp milk and 3/4 cup of sliced almonds. Spread over the cake and broil for 1 to 2 minutes. Just the right touch in our family's opinion. Thanks for a nice new alternative to banana bread or muffins. Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando March 28, 2007

Tasted ok, too crumbly, and I followed the recipe exactly. Not very sweet either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaroverload November 09, 2006

Very easy to put together,and very yummy! I used my food processor to make the whole thing just kept adding the ingredients in order. I used about 1/2 cup of mixed fruit and 4 bananas, and it turned out fantasticly, my dh and the kids couldn't wait for it to cool!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozemum February 04, 2006

These had a nice flavor and texture. I know they are supposed to be healthy, but I added chocolate chips! Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean September 01, 2005
Banana Oatmeal Bars