Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Oat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Oat Bread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2004

      This is very good and a great way to get heart healthy oats into your diet!!! I baked mine in a heart shaped cake pan and cut the time to about 40 minutes. Yummie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      This is a great recipe, I'm always looking for ways to bake with oats.

      I made some minor changes, I cut the sugars to 1/3 cup each of the granulated and brown, with makes a total of 2/3 cup. The recipe as written, 6 tablespoons of each amounts to 3/4 cup total. I also cut the salt in half as baking soda has a lot of sodium. Next time I'll omit the salt altogether. I made it with old fashioned oats as I don't use the quick kind. I also added some chocolate chips. I baked it for 1 hour and 5 minutes.

      I liked the flavor and texture a lot. I think it tastes better the nest day. I'll be making this again.

      An observation. Bananas vary in size and the amount of banana used has a big impact on the moistness and texture. While this worked out great for me this time, next time might be different. I wish banana bread recipes would list the amount of mashed bananas in volume rather than so many bananas. Next time I'll measure the mashed bananas and make a note of it (and hope I have it right, lol).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This bread was very, very yummy! It was more of a cake, with a soft, spongy texture and sweet, nutty taste. Mmmm, we all enjoyed it very much for breakfast today.
      The vanilla went great with the intense banana flavour and the chewy oats. YUM! We made half the recipe ending up with two rather large round breads, that were devoured quickly. The dough was very nice to work with and everything came together rather quickly, too.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Kree! :)
      Made and reviewed on recommendation of starrynews December 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Very good! I subbed 1/2 cup oat flour and omitted the nuts. Baked in silicone muffin cups for 30 minutes. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I am really pleased with this recipe and would have gone five stars had I not taken some liberties to adapt to what I had in the pantry. I used white spelt flour and substituted reduced fat sour cream for the applesauce. I made it a few days ago, and it has held beautifully, becoming more flavorful and staying very moist. I toasted the nuts (pecans) before adding and chopped them coarsely; the texture of the nuts with the nice dense oats is great. This is not a light, cake-y banana bread but rather a substantial, rich loaf that is perfect for breakfast or a mid-afternoon snack. Really satisfying. Family loves it. Next time I will add a little more cinnamon and a little more salt, but I think the base recipe is solid and this is just tweaking on my part. It's a keeper, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Very very good, but a little dry. I might add a bit more applesauce next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      This is some seriously delicious banana bread! I loved that it was relatively lowfat, too. It was pretty moist and the flavor was out of this world. I loved the addition of oats to this amazing bread. I omitted the nuts but otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Great bread; thanks for sharing the recipe! I know I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Outstanding! I had to decrease the temp and the cook time, but I have to do that on every recipe in our oven. I baked it at 325 for about 40 minutes. I also used 3 bananas. Yum! (Remember to let it cool for the hour... it made a big difference!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      This was a great bread, and we loved how healthy it was. It was definitely drier than most other banana breads, but it had an excellent flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      Wow... this bread is SOOO yummy! I used cinnamon applesauce instead of unsweetened, and half of the flour was whole-wheat flour. It is crumbly and not as moist as some banana breads, but still terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      this is soooo good! i have made it three times now, and it is gone in no time at all. i use all whole wheat flour. it is a healthy snack or treat for my whole family. thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Oat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1061 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2944.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1002
    34%
    Total Fat 111.4 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 15.0 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 2965.7 mg
    123%
    Total Carbohydrate 445.8 g
    148%
    Dietary Fiber 29.6 g
    118%
    Sugars 206.1 g
    824%
    Protein 51.0 g
    102%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites