Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Oat Bran Muffins With No Added Sugar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Oat Bran Muffins With No Added Sugar

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2009

      Yes, these were very dense, a bit dry, even using a whole egg. The taste was very good. I used raisins and cranberries, and a little bit of slivered almonds. The reduced sugar recipe was much appreciated!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      very dense. didnt put in nutmeg (had none), no raisins (personal preference), left the bananas in some chunks, added ~1/4c brown sugar (trader joes), added extra cinnamon, 1 egg instead of 2 egg whites. out of the oven, it's just okay, i think it really needs the raisins, but i dont like raisins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      really great muffins! No raisins in the house, but chocolate chips worked just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      Very tasty because I wasn't expecting a desert muffin, but rather a healthy, breakfast type muffin. Personally, I love the taste of healthy food. I made a batch of these muffins today and the recipe yielded 16 muffins (baked muffin came to just the top of the paper muffin cup). The heat on this recipe is too high and my muffins burnt on the bottom and the tips on the top. The high temperature can lead to dryness. The key to sweetness in this recipe is using overripe bananas that have been frozen. Using frozen bananas also adds to the moisture. It's an ok muffin. I only baked 6 at one time to use as test muffins. Based on the outcome of those ones, I ended up making so many changes to the recipe to improve the next 10 that were popped into the oven that it ended up becoming its own recipe. I added it to the database.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      These were great warmed up with a small amount of butter. I am trying to reduce sugar in my diet so I didn't add any extra sugar, and I find they are tasty, but definitely not very sweet. For half the recipe I used dried dates instead of raisins. The nutrition values on dates are almost identical to that of raisins in terms of sugars and fiber content. For the other half I used chopped pecans because I forgot to buy walnuts. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This is fantastic! Moist on the inside, nice crunch on the outside... They freeze well, i thaw them in the fridge, and warm them up for 40 secs in the microwave in the morning. Great for a healthy breakfast or quick afternoon perk.

      I added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, and 2 cup of oatbran...and used cranberries instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      This is a great recipe I used apple sauce instead of oil and wheat bran instead of oats because I couldn't find oat bran, I also added dried cranberries, raisins, apricots and figs and they were fabulous. I want to make them again with oat bran. =-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Best healthiest muffins ever! If you had a sweet tooth you can add 1/4 cup brown sugar but they are great even without it. I like prunes a lot so I substituted the raisins once with the chopped prunes. Try that version you won't regret it. This is great, simple and healthy recipe! Both my hubby and 11 month old boy loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Very good recipe, it was nice to have something that could be made so quickly. I did find that it only made 9 muffins, however they were fairly big. I added a 1/4 cup brown sugar as I didn't have any raisins in the house. Will try baking a batch and freezing them next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I defrosted my freezer today and unfortunately some of my frozen bananas defrosted as well. But, fortunately, I found this recipe, which was a bonus as my DH's diabetic friend was over helping install some insulation in our house so this was something that he could definitely eat. The oat bran was great, I reckon if you made this with wheat bran it wouldn't be the same (too 'scratchy' in taste as opposed to the softer texture of the oat bran). I used the whole egg as I only had one left, and added vanilla like a previous reviewer. I also added the raisins to the wet ingredients and then mixed the lot together, important not to overmix muffins or they go tough (according to the mother of New Zealand muffin making, Alison Holst). These muffins were lovely, especially when you got a hit of the banana, but I think next time I would add just 1/4c dark brown sugar or even just a few tablespoons (we're not sugar fanantics either, just a comment made by the three tasters). My bananas were very ripe as well, I think if you used normal yellow bananas this wouldn't taste as great as you definitely need the natural sugars from overripe bananas. We also agreed that these did need the raisins or sultanas, just to add that little extra. Thanks for such a healthy recipe, it's nice to be able to offer the hard working guys around here such a healthy filling snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      Man, these puppies are dense! I doubled the cinnamon and added a tablespoon of vanilla. The bran taste of these really shines through, which I like. These are great, super healthy, and no added sugar. I thought I'd need to add butter, jam or something. No such luck, these are great stand alone. Thanks again Jen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I baked this into a loaf instead of muffins. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran, applesauce instead of oil, and ran out of fat-free soymilk so I had to mix it with water... super-skim milk! I also left out the raisins due to personal preference. The batter seemed really thick, so I added an additional 1/4c of water. I would probably add more cinnamon, or some Splenda maybe, if I made this again... I don't mind the "bran" taste, but it was very overpowering. (Again, this might not be the case if I'd actually have used oat bran.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      This is a great recipe, healthy, and delicious. I added mashed mango, and pecans keep them in the freezer for a quick breakfast on the run.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      The texture sure is different since it's all oat bran-but they're good! I didn't use any raisins either & used some applesauce for the oil. Added a little Splenda, too! Loved how healthy they were!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I really must try this...that cookbook sounds great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Made these without the raisins and they were really good. Thanks for the healthy keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      These are great. I soaked the raisins for a little while to plump them and used applesauce instead of oil. I'll be making these often. Thanks ladypit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      These are fabulous! I loved the texture and slight banana-y flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      My 16 month old readily ate these but they were a bit too bland for my tastes. Lovely texture but not sweet enough for me. When making these again, I will experiment with a little added sugar, or honey or molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      Good, but I'd say, good for the first muffins you make for your older baby or toddler. I guess I just need a pinch more sugar than what ripe banannas give me. But this recipe is still a keeper for the littlest muffin munchers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Oat Bran Muffins With No Added Sugar

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.1
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    30%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 107.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes