Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Oat Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Oat Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2010

      These were SO good! I used all whole wheat flour, Splenda & added 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips. I also added 1 tsp cinn & got about 10 jumbo muffins. Great banana flavor too without being overly sweet. I did end up using almost 2 cups mashed bananas--black ones have the BEST flavor! Thanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      Like another reviewer, we used whole wheat flour and splenda- turned out to be delicious! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      A great healthy muffin! I used 1/2 all-purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat; 1/2 cup of wheat bran 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of oat bran; added 1 ts of cinnamon. Mashed the bananas sort of carelessly, so I was left with a few lumps. Lovely, just-sweet-enough flavour, and I really like the texture. Next time I might add some diced apple, just to up the yumminess factor even further! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      Delicious! I used 1/2 whole wheat flour along with the white flour and replaced most of the white sugar with brown sugar. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. MMMMMM Next time, I will add blueberries, too. So easy and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2013

      These came out great. I used whole wheat flour, added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed and chia seed, used 4 bananas, decreased the sugar to 1/3 cup and added 1 tsp. ground ginger and cinnamon. I was able to fill 6 of my Texas-sized muffin cups. The muffins were moist and delicious and this recipe will be added to my permanent collection. Thanks for posting, Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      Very tasty, moist muffins. I added some mini-chocolate chips to mine and I used whole wheat flour. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      I was looking for a muffin with substance and that is what I got. I used greek non fat vanilla yogurt and unsweetened applesauce. I also mixed in buckwheat flour with the whole flour as well as the oatbran. I did use the bananas and raisins which were nice but next time I will try using frozen blueberries either alone or with the bananas. This muffin is not what you would consider sweet.That was fine with me.I did not include the sugar on purpose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      I made these with 4 bananas, and substituted applesauce for the oil. Also sprinkled the tops with a little brown sugar and some oats. Super moist and yummy! They are denser than I expected but also filling, which makes them great for an on the go breakfast. I think I'll try with walnuts or raisins next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Oh WOW are these muffins awesome!! I baked mini ones today and have been snacking on them the whole day! I used whole wheat graham flour and they still turned out absolutely delicious and even had a little nutty flavour to it though i didnt add an nuts. This recipe is definitely one i'll remember forever. I'm gonna go grab another one ^^ Thanks Dancer!! =]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      These muffins are delicious! I will definitely make these again. Even my kids (a 3-year-old and a 16-month-old) ate them. I made two minor changes suggested by other reviewers. I used whole wheat flour instead of white and added 1t of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. This is a keeper! Oh, and as someone else said, they are only 2 points on Weight Watchers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Fabulous! Have been enjoying them for breakfast & my afternoon snack all week, and they freeze well too! I used 1 c. wheat germ instead of 1 c. oat bran, since I didn't have any. Since I have 1% milk at home and not skim, I used that instead. Also threw in an extra banana, since I had 3 medium ones, which probably helped with moistness. For WW folks, I believe it's a mere 2 pts/muffin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This was a great recipe. I too used whole wheat flour and mashed my bananas. Instead of sugar, I used honey and mixed it with the bananas. I also added some chopped walnuts and flax seed meal. They were delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      These were kind of ok. They looked wonderful and they smelled lovely, however, just the taste and the consistency were just a bit off. They were just too chewy, and kind of left a weird taste in my mouth as well as my DH's mouth. I was really excited about this recipe since it was SO healthy, but it just didn't work for us. Thanks for the recipe though! I know other people enjoyed this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Wow these are so yummy! The flavour and texture is fantastic and you'll never have guessed that they have no added fat or eggs. I used a 1/2 cup applesauce so decreased the milk and added an extra banana and some cinnamon. Before making them I thought that they would need something extra like nuts or dried fruit but there is no need as they are scrumptious as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      You've done it again Dancer. These are wonderful. I used 1 c. white flour, 1/4 c. whole wheat flour and splenda. I'll be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I just pushed myself away from the table after eating these babies! I thought they were easy, quick, very tasty and fairly healthy. I baked them for 18 minutes, came out with 15 muffins. I used wheat bran, 3 bananas and 1 whole individual serving size unsweetened applesauce cup plus 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They were moist, almost gooey in the center while browned nicely on the outside, and just right for me. I ate them warm and made the yum-yum face the whole time. Thanks for a keeper. Note: I just re-read this review and it sounds like I ate them all! I did not eat them all, just a healthy few!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      I added some pecans to a few and raisins to some others. My 3.5 year old son loves them! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Healthy and tasty! I was worried they would be a little on the heavy and dense side but considering the use of oat bran, they are actually quite light. I mashed two bananas and chopped a third one because, in my books anyway, extra fruit is never a bad thing. I also used half a cup of whole wheat flour and I, like others, will be increasing that amount the next time I make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      These are really tasty, healthy, and super-quick to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar and part whole wheat flour, and I still thought they were excellent. They had a very nice texture and they were moist and banana-y. Great recipe! Thank you. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      This really tasted healthy-witch means it didn't really have lot of flavor. Its not horrible, but i don't think i will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Oat Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (854 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.4
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    62%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 250.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites