31 Reviews

I only have mediocre commercially grated nutmeg, but even so, this was was great! Next time I probably will use some more nutmeg, and substitute maple syrup for the honey. What say? :-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 12, 2002

Simple and yummy. I cut down a little on the soymilk and honey, and had this for supper after a too-large too-late lunch. I thought it was still just a trifle on the thin side, but really really tasty. I may make this again at Christmas as an egg-nog substitute with the addition of a little rum.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders November 16, 2003

This is great! I make mine with vanilla protein powder (for added staying power) and skip the honey since the protein powder is sweetened. I've had this for breakfast daily and I really enjoy it. I never would have thought of the nutmeg - fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MadCatKim September 14, 2009

This is my favourite smoothie! Really fantastic, thanks Mirj! I used Low-fat milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! July 15, 2003

Really good! I had to tweak it a bit, but loved the combination of flavors and we were able to dial it in to make it work for us. After tasting the recipe as written it was a little thin, like banana milk and the flavors were very subtle. I added another banana, some ice and more fresh nutmeg and I got the smoothie I was craving. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 12, 2015

Good! I think people rate the four stars mainly because they want a thicker smoothie. I'd give it 4 stars how I made it too, with homemade almond milk to be lactose and soy free and allspice to taste instead of nutmeg because it's intoxicant properties. It was a lovely flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 11, 2012

Made this for myself and my brother. We agreed it needed more flavor or at least more sweetener than a tablespoon of honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terclin February 07, 2010

Delicious! I only had skim milk on hand so I only used 1 cup then popped it in the freezer for awhile to thicken up the consistency. I think adding 1/2 cup of plan nonfat yogurt would have been a good add. Great taste as is though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq August 31, 2009

I thought this was easy to make and tasted great! I actually used 3/4 C skim milk and 3/4 C vanilla yogurt. I only had ground nutmeg though. But I still liked it and will make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iss December 10, 2008

Had this for breakfast this morning with a slice of flax seed bread and peanut butter. Great flavor and very filling. I used almond milk as my choice of milk, very quick and easy to prepare. Thanks Mirj for another of your winners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy November 09, 2008
Banana Nutmeg Smoothie