Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Nut Waffles (Gluten-Free and Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Nut Waffles (Gluten-Free and Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2010

      My batter came out really thin. I used the 1 3/4 cups milk as recommended. I would definitely start out with less milk. I didn't use banana so I used about a 1/2 cup applesauce in it's place. The batter was still really thin so I put in about a tsp of xanthum gum to thicken it up. The last waffle turned out ok. It tastes a little oily. But I'm glad that it's vegan and gluten-free. I know I didn't use the banana so maybe that thickens it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      The taste was yummy. Mine stuck nto the waffle maker so I made pancakes with the rest of the batter instead but I will not blame the recipe since I made a some changes. The main change was using organic coconut oil to be a lot healthier but it clumped because my milk was cold (I'm kind of new to coconut oil in anything but smoothies). Like another reviewer I found the waffles quite oily. I used water and Carnation evaporated milk in a small amount for the milk, RAW honey to hopefully be corn free, my own gluten-free flour mix (white rice flour, brown rice flour, tapioca starch & guar gum), baking soda and 1 tbs organic apple cider vinegar in place of the baking powder to be corn & cream of tartar free, sea salt, & chopped walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      Made these for dinner :) Both my sons age 8 and 15 who are against going GF both loved them. I halved this recipe thinking it would make to much for 3 of us but then had to make more. I used honey and Jules GF flour mix. Next time I will make the full amount. Some mentioned that their waffle maker left the waffles a bit soft, mine did the same so on the second round even after the done light came on I left them in another minute and it helped a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      These were great! Will definitly make them again. Husband's comment was really good even though gluten free....Said he could'nt even tell they were gluten free. Used the walnuts this time, next time will try mini choc chips....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2010

      Super easy waffles with a surprise!! I made two batches and used a tad less soymilk which probably all depends on what type of flour your using. I made some with blueberries and some with walnuts - both were eaten up by the DH. DH loves waffles and I asked him which ones he prefered last weeks (your Buckwheat Pancakes that I turned into waffles Kittencal's Low Fat Chocolate or White Cake) or these and he said both - FIGURES!!! Thanks for a great recipe Prose!! Made for Veg*n Swap 25!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      These are the best waffles ever!!! I use 1 1/2 cups any milk and use agave nectar or maple syrup. One daughter likes hers plain and no nuts, other daughter with berries or choc chips, hubby likes his with berries and I like mine with mini choc chips, sometimes with whipped cream and a drizzle of choc syrup! I used to dislike any waffles until I tried this recipe... THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      DS is making these now. Day 2 of gluten, egg, soy, corn, milk etc... free living. I found that I needed to use about 1 cup rice milk vs the 2 cups stated. That may be because of the flours that we are using for our GF mix. I recommend starting with 1 cup and adding more if needed. WE also use this recipe for pancakes. DS says that they are AWESOME!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Simply wonderful, I didn't need any butter or syrup to relish these, and DH was ecstatic! My waffle iron misbehaved, so I made largish pancakes with about 1/4 cup batter each (or use a coffee measure to make 4 small pancakes) on a hot nonstick skillet over high heat, spraying with nonstick spray before each round. The lack of eggs helps us mind our doctor's admonishments to limit eggs, and -- who knows! -- we may have an undiagnosed gluten allergy, so this could be our new pancake recipe that I can fix more often for DH. I made up the rest of the pancakes and separated with wax paper; DH can reheat in the oven at 225 F for about 20-25 minutes. Thanks for posting this recipe, Prose! Made for March 2009 Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      These healthy waffles had great texture and taste! My DD's and DH loved them! I know we'll be making these again. Thanks Prose! Made for veg*n swap II.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Very nice waffles, these! Pretty much followed the recipe using a mild honey & then almonds for the nuts! Served it with both honey & maple syrup on the side & the syrup got chosen more often than not! Might even make a bigger batch another time & do the freezer bit! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my raw food teammates in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap II]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Nut Waffles (Gluten-Free and Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.6
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    76%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 414.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites