12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing! I doubled the recipe (for my daycare kids) & made it just as written, except I only used 3 T of brown sugar instead of 4 and it was perfect! Thanks so much! The kids LOVED it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefcrystal July 02, 2010

Mmm good! Have had banana and oatmeal before, but the addition of the vanilla and cinnamon makes this one better then the others we have had. Made as written and found the oatmeal just a bit thin, next time will cut the water to 1 1/2 cups. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl February 15, 2010

Very good. With the banana it is very filling, and definitely served 2 big eaters at our house. Like another reviewer, I skipped the margarine and halved the brown sugar, since we do not like things too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 08, 2010

I used a very ripe banana so the taste was really intense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 30, 2009

Like banana bread in a bowl, all warm and bananaliscious - this was a wonderful brekkie this morning! I reduced the margaine/brown sugar/walnuts to save a few calories and never use milk or half-n-half on my oatmeal - and it was just perfect me. I'm sure I'll be making this again and again this winter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 31, 2009

First I need to say that I made a 1/2 serving and with the banana it made lots! I used old fashioned oats, a 1/4 tsp of butter extract, reg Splenda, a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and no milk/cream of any sort. It made a grand breakfast that I enjoyed. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 15, 2008

This was very good. Used pecans instead of walnuts (that is what I had on hand) and milk instead of half-and-half (and didn't measure). Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe October 13, 2008

Scrumptious oatmeal- can't go wrong with these ingredients! :yum: I used soymilk and omitted the margarine. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child July 03, 2008

This was a lovely filling brekky, I used Splenda to sweeten & topped with vanilla yoghurt rather than milk or cream, loved the addition of walnuts, thanks MsSally.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** April 03, 2008

A good healthy and basic recipe, but I had to adjust it some. First, it needed some salt (1/4 teaspoon). It was too sweet and needed only 1 tablespoon of sugar. The half and half was too heavy, therefore, I used regular milk. I found that it made one serving not two. Maybe all of these adjustments were personal preferences, but I kept a copy with my changes for future use. This recipe was chosen and prepared as a participant in the 2008 Recipe Swap #14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook March 02, 2008
Banana Nut Oatmeal