12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An excellent banana cake! Everyone enjoyed it. It looked beautiful as well. We chose to not frost the sides (just the top) because it looked so pretty without.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain August 13, 2008

This cake is perfection. My whole family raved over it and devoured every last slice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saremca October 15, 2007

This recipe was absolutely fabulous!!! I made it for my 8 year old son's birthday party last week and everyone demands that I make another in the very near future. It was very easy to make and I wouldn't change a thing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeanaluvsBurleigh October 15, 2007

Thank you for posting this. I made it for a friend to take to a family affair and she said everybody loved it. got request to make it for some of her family members.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Tom September 17, 2008

Really rich, and oh so good! I happened to have some butter-toffee glazed walnuts on hand, and threw those in to the mix. We're banana purists so I skipped the frosting. Definitely a keeper of a recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me & Mr. Jones September 23, 2006

This is a very tasty and filling cake, good enough to take where there are lots of children who love bananas. I have had lots of good reviews whenever I've baked this one. Never did try the frosting though..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 09, 2005

It is absolutely beyond me how this recipe has such good reviews.I followed the recipe to a T and it was nothing like cake...it was just banana bread in the shape of a cake with frosting on it. Do yourself a favor and make a regular, simple vanilla cake and just add smashed banana and cinnamon to it. I've done it myself and it was great. This cake was a huge, sad disappointment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashe7 July 30, 2014

This cake was excellent. So moist and plenty of banana flavor. I did have to increase the frosting ingredients by 50% so that I could get a nice amount between each layer of cake. I may have needed additional frosting due to the fact that I put a LOT of toasted pecans in it, which of course, keeps it from spreading as well (I did not put the nuts IN the cake batter, though). It was very good and everyone who had a slice of it loved it. Will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heavenlybliss0421_11459867 December 09, 2013

This cake is AWESOME!! DH doubled over with the first bite!! Then our roommate ran over to take the next one...haha! I did make it as low carb as possible. I used 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of Splenda and coconut oil in the batter. The coconut oil made it so moist! Instead of confectioners' sugar I used 2 cups of Splenda ran thru my mixer and added 2 tbsp of sugar to get the correct constancy in the frosting. I was out of Pecan's (dang it!) so I used crushed chocolate covered peanuts (all I had) in the batter and crushed toffee bars on the top! I posted pics! Thanks for sharing. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell June 23, 2012

This recipe didn't turn out very well for me. That being said, I did decrease the sugar to 1 cup, because I thought it was too much and I cooked it in a bundt pan, which could be the reasons why. So if you are making this recipe don't make the same mistake as me. Happy Baking!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puh-leas-no-coconut:) June 18, 2012
Banana Nut Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting (Paula Deen)