Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Nut Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Nut Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      Awesome! Moist and full of flavor even without the icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Wonderful cake! I had 4 very ripe bananas and needed to do something, but didn't have ingredients for banana bread. This was great and so simple! Thanks for sharing, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I have been looking for the ultimate recipe for banana cake for some time. This was excellent and truly seemed more like a "cake" than a bread-type loaf. I did throw in an extra banana, since I had one to use up. I also added a bit of salt. I saved some mashed banana to make the frosting, but my husband couldn't wait for the cake to cool before he ate some, so I didn't bother with the frosting. I think the frosting sounds yummy. Next time I will make the frosting. I like this cake very much, it had a good banana flavor and nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I have been looking for a really great banana cake recipe for a long time and I found it!!! My family and myself LOVED this one...it is a keeper and I was asked to make it again. We paired it with a chocolate frosting as we are all "chocolate nuts" in our home and it was just delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      I was surfing the net looking for a banana cake recpie and I found this one. It was so delicious! I made it for my family and the loved it as well. The only thing my stove broke down when I was getting ready to bake the cake so it rested for about 10-15mins. I also added more nuts and 2 more bananas because the bananas I had were too small. It also took 45miins to bake once the oven heated up. It was easy too make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      perfect, but if you want a single large plate rather than cup cakes, lenghthen the cooking time upto 40 to 45 minutes... this recipe is PERFECT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      I didn't have oil, so used butter instead. I also didn't have buttermilk so I soured some milk with lemon. I also used 4 banana's as suggest by other posts. I used almonds, but can't really taste them. Instead of making one cake - I made 6 giant muffins and put the rest in a loaf tin. The muffins worked GREAT! The loaf is still cooking...all lovely and brown on top but wobbly in the middle :( Hopefully it sorts itself out. I didn't use icing - the cake is yummy enough with out. Will DEFINATELY make again - yum yum yum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Very good, easy to assemble. I made it without the frosting as what I wanted was a nice, moist banana cake w/o frosting to use up the very ripe bananas on my kitchen counter. Nice, moist and no frosting needed - just sprinkled it with a little powdered sugar. Exactly what I was craving! Thanks! Oh, I didn't have buttermilk so I subbed the same amount of sour cream and it worked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Nice cake! I did a bobo though, I was not reading the recipe correct and I thought it said 2/3 butter...not oil. After I put in 1/2 c. butter I thought oh no!...but I was at a point of no return and just added 1/4 oil after that and what came out was excellent! Plus, I added 4 bananas. This is a really great recipe. I used my own frosting recipe for it. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Very Good! Even impressed hubby.....which is difficult to do. We did not use any oleo (we don't use it) so used butter for everything. Very moist and great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      Great taste, but made a very low, dense cake for me. Very moist. I didn't make the frosting, only the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      I thought this cake was a little bland. I substituted light vegitable spread for the oleo in the icing...not a good idea. My icing turned out very runny, I added lots of powdered sugar and ended up with very sweet, runny icing. I will try this recipe again, next time I will add more bananas to the cake and no sustitutions for the icing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This is soooo good!! Brought the second one to work and was gone in a few minutes. They all raved about it. Gave the recipe to 10 of my fellow workers. Thanks so much for the recipe paula! Definite keeper in this house!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      I bake quite a bit and found this cake to be moist and flavorful. I will certainly make this again with all the "past prime" bananas that I have in my house

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2002

      Mercccyyyy Paula! This was SO GOOD! The icing was to die for. I couldn't keep my hubby's hands off it. It was easy to make and even easier to eat. This is my official Banana Cake recipe now. Hubba, hubba!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      This was EXCELLENT - the frosting turned out GREAT! It won't last long trust me! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Nut Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.8
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    35%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 56.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 306.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.4 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 54.7 g
    218%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oleo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes