33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Flavorful and easy to make, they were moist. Added walnuts and used very ripe bananas. I will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacinthe F. April 26, 2014

Wonderful recipe enjoyed by the family. I followed the recipe exactly and only added raisins and a topping of 1/4 c. flour, 2/3 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 Tbs. soft butter & 1/3 cup chopped nuts.( NOTE: the topping is enough for 24 muffins). They were absolutely delicious. HOWEVER, there was left-over batter that could have filled a couple mini-bread pans had I been prepared. I filled the cupcake liners to the top but ended up throwing out the extra batter since I had nothing to bake it in. Why not make this note on your original recipe?
One week later: Just made the second batch and used a 21/2 X 5" pan for the excess batter. Still delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Golfin Granny August 15, 2012

Thank you for the terrific recipe! I am always looking for a way to bring more fiber into our diet... after reading some of the other reviews I decided to try 1 batch as written -- Kittencal's recipes are always great the way they are!!! When that batch was gone in less than an hour, I doubled the recipe, and made a couple of changes....adding 1/2 cup of flax seed meal/wheat germ blend, 3/4 cup of craisins. Wonderful! (With the doubled recipe I got 12 jumbo muffins and 2 mini loaves) Thank you again Kittencal for delicious muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 11, 2012

On first reading I thought this might be something we would like, but after a trial afraid it just isn't to our tastes and quite a disappointment. Apparently I am not alone......sorry Kittencal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 June 24, 2011

A winner, as always with Kitten! I used plain 1% milk (can never seem to get buttermilk onto my shopping list) and half whole wheat flour. I'm sure buttermilk would make them even tastier. I got 6 regular (though overfilled) and 26 mini (also overfilled) muffins. Very impressed. I did have issues with the regular sized ones falling apart as I removed them from the pan, though I am assuming thats my fault - I didn't have any paper liners and I used blueberries instead of nuts or raisins (and probably too many of them). They also took longer to bake than stated, but I'm sure thats due to the frozen blueberries and that the cups were overfilled.
All that to say this: I will definitely make these again! (Hopefully with buttermilk next time... and maybe that topping)
Oh, and I did use store brand (Sainsbury's) bran cereal with no issues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Thompson August 23, 2010

Delicious! The four bananas I defrosted yielded about 1 1/2 -2 cups, so I made a double batch. Made 23 large muffins. I used natural bran rather than the cereal, and they were perfect. I used dates instead of raisins, but cut the amount down to half, since dates are sweeter. I mixed some walnut oil into the veg oil for extra flavour (about 1/4 of the oil), and did add the cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Campbellssoupkid April 05, 2010

I love Kittencal's other recipes so I'm not sure why this one didn't meet my expectations. I didn't substitute anything, the bananas were quite ripe. Just didn't do anything for this family. Did not use raisins. Would that have made all the difference? I don't know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
svv17 July 05, 2009

Loved This recipe and it is truely remarkable. I used Agave instead of white table sugar. Same ratio as white sugar. Also, added the topping rom kittencals for a added treat. I used walnuts in the streusel topping instead of almonds, and also through in some health bits ...very yummy. I used regualr brown raisins the first time and used yellow the second time to see if there was a difference. Also use 1 cup of bananas or a vit more to the recipe. 1 whole tsp. of cinn. work s great, and grease the pan with Pam. No problems. Doing muffins the same way. Thank you so much for all the most moist deliciousious recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaeaa July 04, 2009

These were pretty easy and tasted good. (Not a lot like a bran muffin, which in my opinion is a plus.) They also smell wonderful while baking. The buttermilk weirded me out a bit because it looked curdled after I heated it (maybe too long) but it seemed fine. I used the raisins and the nuts. I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch March 29, 2009

Ijust searching for muffins. i am going to try this BANANA NUT MUFFINS IMMEDIATELY:Iwill send my feed back after tasting. thanks a lot for this yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happy cooking February 11, 2009
Banana Nut Buttermilk All Bran Muffins