Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Nut Buttermilk All Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Nut Buttermilk All Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2014

      Flavorful and easy to make, they were moist. Added walnuts and used very ripe bananas. I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Wonderful recipe enjoyed by the family. I followed the recipe exactly and only added raisins and a topping of 1/4 c. flour, 2/3 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 Tbs. soft butter & 1/3 cup chopped nuts.( NOTE: the topping is enough for 24 muffins). They were absolutely delicious. HOWEVER, there was left-over batter that could have filled a couple mini-bread pans had I been prepared. I filled the cupcake liners to the top but ended up throwing out the extra batter since I had nothing to bake it in. Why not make this note on your original recipe?
      One week later: Just made the second batch and used a 21/2 X 5" pan for the excess batter. Still delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Thank you for the terrific recipe! I am always looking for a way to bring more fiber into our diet... after reading some of the other reviews I decided to try 1 batch as written -- Kittencal's recipes are always great the way they are!!! When that batch was gone in less than an hour, I doubled the recipe, and made a couple of changes....adding 1/2 cup of flax seed meal/wheat germ blend, 3/4 cup of craisins. Wonderful! (With the doubled recipe I got 12 jumbo muffins and 2 mini loaves) Thank you again Kittencal for delicious muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      On first reading I thought this might be something we would like, but after a trial afraid it just isn't to our tastes and quite a disappointment. Apparently I am not alone......sorry Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      A winner, as always with Kitten! I used plain 1% milk (can never seem to get buttermilk onto my shopping list) and half whole wheat flour. I'm sure buttermilk would make them even tastier. I got 6 regular (though overfilled) and 26 mini (also overfilled) muffins. Very impressed. I did have issues with the regular sized ones falling apart as I removed them from the pan, though I am assuming thats my fault - I didn't have any paper liners and I used blueberries instead of nuts or raisins (and probably too many of them). They also took longer to bake than stated, but I'm sure thats due to the frozen blueberries and that the cups were overfilled.
      All that to say this: I will definitely make these again! (Hopefully with buttermilk next time... and maybe that topping)
      Oh, and I did use store brand (Sainsbury's) bran cereal with no issues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Delicious! The four bananas I defrosted yielded about 1 1/2 -2 cups, so I made a double batch. Made 23 large muffins. I used natural bran rather than the cereal, and they were perfect. I used dates instead of raisins, but cut the amount down to half, since dates are sweeter. I mixed some walnut oil into the veg oil for extra flavour (about 1/4 of the oil), and did add the cinnamon. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      I love Kittencal's other recipes so I'm not sure why this one didn't meet my expectations. I didn't substitute anything, the bananas were quite ripe. Just didn't do anything for this family. Did not use raisins. Would that have made all the difference? I don't know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Loved This recipe and it is truely remarkable. I used Agave instead of white table sugar. Same ratio as white sugar. Also, added the topping rom kittencals for a added treat. I used walnuts in the streusel topping instead of almonds, and also through in some health bits ...very yummy. I used regualr brown raisins the first time and used yellow the second time to see if there was a difference. Also use 1 cup of bananas or a vit more to the recipe. 1 whole tsp. of cinn. work s great, and grease the pan with Pam. No problems. Doing muffins the same way. Thank you so much for all the most moist deliciousious recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      These were pretty easy and tasted good. (Not a lot like a bran muffin, which in my opinion is a plus.) They also smell wonderful while baking. The buttermilk weirded me out a bit because it looked curdled after I heated it (maybe too long) but it seemed fine. I used the raisins and the nuts. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Ijust searching for muffins. i am going to try this BANANA NUT MUFFINS IMMEDIATELY:Iwill send my feed back after tasting. thanks a lot for this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I've made these several times and we all eat them. It's a great way to use up the bananas I always have hiding in the freezer. I usually omit the walnuts and sometimes also the raisins since my kids complain if I don't and I can rarely find buttermilk so I just use regular milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I love Kittencal's recipes and they never fail for me, but this one just didn't cut it. I think that was my fault for over substituting! I used whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, milk+vinegar instear of buttermilk, and splenda. I dont know, they also didn't seem so "bran-ish: for my taste, all the other stuff drowned it out. i think I might try these as written, i just wanted a healtheir version! oh and I cooked as written, but the bottoms were a little burned...dont know why!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Yum! I adore a good bran muffing and I love using my overripe bananas. I only had two bananas but that was fine. I also added a whole cup of walnuts for the hubby. I was able to get 17 regular size muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      These are really good. My kids ate the whole batch for breakfast...even my picky 5 year old tried one and liked it. These will be a breakfast favorite around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Thanks so much for this recipe. I have been looking for ages for an easy bran muffin recipe, and this one is especially great because you can alter it in (I assume) so many ways. I made my own buttermilk by warming 1c semi skimmed milk and adding 2T lemon juice. I also used 1t cinnamon and 1t nutmeg and added chopped walnut and used 1/2 c white flour & 1c wholemeal flour. Gorgeous! I also will update when I try alternatives out as I think this would be great with apples & molasses and I would like to try using apple sauce instead of the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Very good. I got 18 muffins and subbed chocolate chips for the nuts and raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Texture was perfect! I used Fiber One cereal, chopped dates, and two ripe bananas. Powdered cultured buttermilk is something to keep on hand for recipes like this. I was able to make 9 large muffins using a non stick muffin pan with no liners, just greased lightly with butter. They lifted out nicely. My family thanks you as will my co workers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      These are our favourite muffins!! My three year old and I make them all the time. The recipe is fantastic as-is but over time we've reduced the sugar to just 1/2 cup brown (one time we even forgot the sugar altogether and because the bananas are so sweet the muffins still tasted fine). Also instead of using buttermilk we use 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup yogurt and don't bother warming it. For a special treat, chocolate chips are a super substitute for the raisins. Overall, an AWESOME recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      What a wonderful taste combination of both banana and bran. I thought I had made a major blunder as I used 1/2 cup Splenda brownsugar and 1/4 cup regular sugar and 1/4 cup regular Splenda. Upon reading the brownsugar Splenda pkg. it says to use 1/2 the amount...curses...I thought they were going to be wayyyy to sweet. To my surprise they aren't. Now I would say that if using Splenda products you should expect a bit more sweetness especially for a bran muffin that is normally not. I used 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup chopped dates, softened. Also, opted to use my own blend of topping to sprinkle on b/f baking. (flax, toasted wheatgerm, cinnamon, and brownsugar). Nice and crispy!!! Thanks Kitty for real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I knew these would be fantastic because Kittencal never steers me wrong. I added about 2/3 c of finely chopped pecans but omitted the raisins. Everyone loved them., They were very light, sweet and moist. Thanks for another keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Nut Buttermilk All Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.6
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    37%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 268.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 20.2 g
    81%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes