78 Reviews

Such an easy recipe and really delicious. How great not to heat up the oven when it's above 110 degrees outside. Next time I will add a little more banana and nuts; it needed a little more kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
malfayne June 29, 2010

excellent! I used buttermilk instead of sour cream. The folks at work are begging me to bring it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scarysheree June 19, 2010

my kids love this recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wilks.erica March 31, 2010

This was the very first recipe I tried in my new Cuisinart bread maker. What a great start! I used the cake setting and I changed the order of the ingredients, to follow what my breadmaker recommends. And even though I was late in incorporating the bananas and nuts, and had to mix it all by hand, the bread came out delicious and moist and drove us crazy for the hour and a half it was baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdoldon March 29, 2010

Awesome! I don't have the cake setting either. I used my "rapid bread" setting and threw everything in at the beginning. I've made this twice. Whenever the bananas look like they aren't going to make it much longer I use them to make this bread. I use walnuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk December 28, 2009

I adjusted the recipe a bit after reading some of the reviews. I did 1 cp. of sugar (1/2 lt. brown & 1/2 white) instead of 2/3 cp. I also did 3 large eggs because I never buy extra large eggs. I added about 1tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I also did both nuts (1/3 cp. chopped pecans) and 1/4 cp. of mini chocolate chip morsels. I baked it on the "Sweet Cycle" because my breadmaker does not have a "cake" cycle. It was so good!!! Initially it was a little gooey in the center, but I just left it sitting in the breadmaker after it beeped to cook it a little longer. Definitely will make this again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nina8871 August 31, 2009

I love this recipe! I have made a few changes to make it lower fat as well as more convenient for me. I don't usually have sour cream, so I just add in an extra banana to make up for it (so somewhere around a cup of mashed bananas). I use brown sugar instead of white, and apple sauce instead of oil. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Singin Praises June 19, 2009

I made this in my sunbeam breadmaker using the quickbread setting. There was no choice for loaf size, but I could choose crust darkness. I chose medium. Next time I will choose light, as it got a tiny bit overdone along the edges. I also added the nuts at the beginning of he cycle. I didn't alter any of the ingredients, and it turned out good! I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ki4aoa May 27, 2009

For those used to making only regular yeast breads in a bread machine: note that the batter here is a thick paste, not the slightly-tacky ball you want to see when kneading regular bread. A good look at a similar banana bread, and it's batter, is at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buBxizGfRtQ. Preferring smaller slices than my machine offers, I used my machine's dough cycle to knead the dough for 20 min, then poured it into a lightly-greased 9" x 5" pan and baked at 350 deg. for 60 min (toothpick test for doneness). But, being my first attempt at such a bread, I was alarmed at the soupiness of the batter and wrongly added a lot more flour. It came out a little brick-like, but still tasted wonderful! I can't wait to get it right next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Mick February 15, 2009

Yum, yum, yum, yum! On my bread machine (William-Sonoma) I used the "quick bread" cycle. I also have to set what size bread (1-2pounds) so I did 1 1/2 lb and it came out fine. I've made this twice, once I had sour cream the other I didn't and used vanilla yogurt and it came out great both times. Figure 2-3 bananas if you don't want to "measure". The only "tweaking" I might try the next time would be to add a smidge of cinnamon (but thats' me). This is one of those STAPLES in your cookbook. Somehow there always seems to be leftover bananas. If you don't have two or three bananas at one time. Mash and freeze in a ziplock what you have and when you get another leftover banana or two, just defrost what's in the freezer and add the ones you now have. Another hint is when you measure the dry ingredients (flour sugar, baking soda, powder) measure an extra "set" and keep in a ziplock labelled "banana bread" and when you get those leftover bananas, just put the wet ingredients in your pan (I add the bananas at the start with the wet), then just grab your little baggie with the already measured ingredients and you'll have "time saved". Thanks again. I love when I know I've found "MY RECIPE" for something and the search is OVER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyLeeIL December 02, 2005
Banana Nut Bread for the Bread Machine