Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Nut Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Nut Bread for the Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2014

      Yummy and easy. I subbed 1/3c splenda brown sugar for the 2/3 c sugar and 1/3c applesauce for the 1/3 c vegetable oil. Turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      I signed up on the website just to warn people about this recipe. I followed the instructions (even though my instinct was saying "put the liquid in first") and when it was done and I turned it out, the bottom two inches were solid white (flour, maybe some sugar, baking soda, etc). The rest looks really good (though the loaf was really short (lack of flour in it, maybe) and I think it would have turned out great if the liquids were added first, and then the flour and other ingredients. I will probably try again and load the breadmaker the way it should be. Wish me luck. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      This was very good! I used 3 eggs because I don't usually buy jumbo.. I used 1/3 sugar and 1/3 brown sugar and added a teaspoon of cinnamon. I added the ingredients according to my bread machine which was wet ingredients first and then the dry. I was a little worried about the cake setting because it took almost 3 hrs. I realized as it was going almost 45 minutes of it was to mix the batter so it came out fine. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      This original recipe was in the book from my 1st Zojirushi...I make it all the time! I tweaked it up a bit because I thought "just bananas" was too bland, so I started adding Cinnamon and ground cloves to the recipe. Everyone loves it this way. My new Zoji can handle larger loaves, so I have started doubling the recipe, but by the basic recipe, I add 2t of cinnamon and 1/4 t cloves. It's not "written in stone", so experiment. Serve either as is, or with cream cheese (also sometimes tweaked) on it. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I made 6 loaves of this bread today after the family tried the 2 loaves I made a few days ago. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      One word : FANTASTIC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Super easy; super delicious! Even my husband can do it. He threw everything in together rather than waiting until the first beep to add bananas and nuts -- it didn't hurt it at all. Yummy toasted with butter for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Love this recipe!! I keep bananas on hand just to make it. Turns out well as written and easily excepts substitutes. Only sub that didn't work for me was coconut oil in for vegetable oil. My favorite sub, and how I typically make it now, is heavy cream for sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      Novice with a new panasonic bread machine. It doesn't have a cake setting, just a bake setting which starts at 30 minutes. I guessed that would be too short so upped it to 50 and it worked perfectly.
      I didn't have the regular flour so used flour from a big bag of Krusteaz buttermilk pancake mix and light brown sugar. I used two medium sized bananas (well ripened are best for this bread or you won't get the banana flavor as much). I also used fresh whipped cream from the local store since I couldn't find plain yoghurt or sour cream in the part of Korea where I live.
      Sprinkled cinnamin over the top and added some very old pecans (about a 3/4 cup full). It turned out better than store bought banana bread. I would say be careful on the oil! Too much will make it too oily, but it does make this bread/cake very moist. I used olive oil and it did not affect the taste.
      So surprised what a bread machine can do. It's like the Asian rice cookers - so convenient and taking the stress out of baking~! even for a guy who's just started baking for lack of good bread options in my area.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      I though this was way too doughy. It was wet like it wasn't fully cooked. I'll stick with the oven

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

    • on April 12, 2010

      I used youghurt instead of sour cream, walnuts and splenda instead of sugar. I liked it, my son not so much, so for him I will use regular sugar next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      excellent! I didnt have "cake" setting, so I put it on basic and after about 5 min i added the bananas and nuts. This was easy to slice (once completely cooled), and didnt crumble when i put cream cheese on it! will definitely make again :) thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

    • on October 21, 2009

      Making this for the 2nd time in 2 weeks, so I figured I should weigh in. The first loaf disappeared in minutes! It was that good. Very dense, moist and full of banana flavour. Like Chef Nina, I added 3 large eggs, 1/2 c brown sugar, and 1/2 c white sugar. I also added about a tsp of allspice instead of cinnamon or nutmeg. My bread machine is quirky, at best....I had to start it on "rapid" to get it to mix, but then actually bake it on "cake". It sat in the machine for about an hour before I realized it wasn't going to bake on "rapid", but it came out great anyway! The first time, I didn't have any baking powder, so I increased the baking soda to 1 tsp, and it was fine. It was really delicious, although I only was able to snag a small piece from the kids!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This was so wonderful with cream cheese! I only modified slightly--the point of me having a bread machine is for it to be simple, so I didn't beat the eggs or measure/mash the bananas first. My bananas had been frozen, though, so they were already soft when they thawed. I used two, and I think one more would have been perfect. I put in all the wet ingredients (banana too), then all the dry (I added nuts here). I used the "sweet" cycle on my machine (3h40m). I was worried when I peeked a couple times and it looked like soup, but by the end we had an awesome loaf of bread! My bread only came out half as big as I'd hoped, it was square instead of oblong, lol. But it was really dense and had great texture. Maybe I'll double it this time to get that whole loaf. Thanks, Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

    • on March 22, 2009

      I actually found this recipe on several other web sites, which credit it as being from a Zoji Home Bakery Recipe Book (apparently a different version than mine, because my Zoji didn't come with this recipe). There are some slight discrepancies between this recipe and the one I found, but they are otherwise practically the same, down to the wording of the instructions. (I only mention this because I wouldn't be reviewing this recipe if I weren't sure that the one I used was the origin of this one. I found this one on Zaar and wanted to add it to my cookbook.) Since I was using a Zoji bread machine, I followed the original instructions of using 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup banana. This produced a good banana bread. The bread was moist enough, and could probably be made even more moist with some tinkering to the recipe. You can get better (and worse!) banana bread from other non-bread machine recipes, but for the ease of making this in the bread machine, it really can't be beat. I will make this recipe often as a breakfast bread for my family, but if I were going to be making banana bread to give as gifts, I think I would stick to one of my other non-bread machine recipes. If you buy "red tape" bananas (the ones on sale because they are over-ripe) and freeze them, you will always have the perfect bananas on hand to throw together this quick and easy recipe. (Just remember to peel them before freezing!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      For those used to making only regular yeast breads in a bread machine: note that the batter here is a thick paste, not the slightly-tacky ball you want to see when kneading regular bread. A good look at a similar banana bread, and it's batter, is at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buBxizGfRtQ. Preferring smaller slices than my machine offers, I used my machine's dough cycle to knead the dough for 20 min, then poured it into a lightly-greased 9" x 5" pan and baked at 350 deg. for 60 min (toothpick test for doneness). But, being my first attempt at such a bread, I was alarmed at the soupiness of the batter and wrongly added a lot more flour. It came out a little brick-like, but still tasted wonderful! I can't wait to get it right next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I really liked this recipe! I also added a bit of cinnamon, and used vanilla joghurt instead of the sour cream, and it was really nice and very moist!! I'm sure you can bake this in a normal oven too! Thanks for the recipe, Amber!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Nut Bread for the Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (752 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2493.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1097
    44%
    Total Fat 121.9 g
    187%
    Saturated Fat 21.8 g
    109%
    Cholesterol 401.9 mg
    133%
    Sodium 2350.0 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 319.7 g
    106%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 156.3 g
    625%
    Protein 38.0 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes