Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Nut Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Nut Bread

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2010

      I am a pro Chef and my weakness is definately baking like most Chefs that havnt specialized in Pastry.. So I bake as a past time and to improve my baking skills.. I have been usuing this recipe for about a year now for a "base" recipe.. It is a great recipe. The only things I do different is I add a tsp of vanilla to it, the zest of 1 lemon and usually some chopped up apricots and cranberries and I sub the nuts usually with cinnamon almonds.. I also put about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in it to... Great results and everyone has loved it.!! Sometimes I will use half shortening and half butter just for a richer flavor.. Great recipe to follow by itself or if you want to add a few things like dried fruit or chocolate chips, etc. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Very good Banana Bread! My sons and their friends love it! Warm with some butter ;) very moist and full of flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      This is a very good recipe and very tasty! But I did not make two loaves because I wanted to make was mini-loaves with this recipe. Since the recipe says it makes 2 loaves, it will make 8 mini loaves. What I learned was: 1. Don't let the breads cook for 1 hour, but rather 30-35 minutes. 2. Fill the mini-loaf pans just about half way. They rise really nice. 3. You need a powerful mixer! I was using a 5 speed hand mixer and I thought I was going to burn it out! ha! ha! I didn't have walnuts I did find a 1/2 cup of sliced pecans and those worked well too. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! Bridget

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      First off, you can never go wrong with any recipe of MissNezz! This bread is wonderful as written and very adaptable to any changes you would care to make. Toasting the nuts first is a great start, and like Chef Mike7121 a touch of vanilla with the use of 1/2 shortening 1/2 butter makes this almost cake like! WONDERFUL recipe my friend!! Thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Awesome! I made exactly as written and it came out beautiful and tasted great. I did have to cook for 60 minutes. I got rave reviews from some of my husbands coworkers and they are asking for more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Well, MizzNez, you have the best recipes ever! I made this recipe because it sounded good, and it makes 2 loaves. One to give a sick neighbor and one for me. Nice, full banana flavor, and really moist, which is what a good bread is suppose to be. Thank you for sharing this keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This recipe is so awesome. I have tried the full recipe-came out perfect. I made a half recipe-came out perfect. I also tried it with only 2 bananas and halved the recipe using butter instead of shortening because I was out-it still came out perfect! You really can't mess this recipe up, this is my go to BNB recipe! Thanks MizzNez for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Simply delicious! I made this tonight at the request of my husband. You are right, it is hard to stop eating it!! I used a little less than a cup of shortening (I ran out) and did not add the nuts. It was still moist and delicious. I baked for about 60 mins. I actually thought that it looked too brown on top but it was not done in the middle. Much to my surprise, it was perfect! Thanks again, MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Absolutely Delicious! I made one large bundt cake with the mixture and used toasted pecans instead of walnuts. My entire family loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2003

      I was looking for a basic banana nut bread recipe, and this filled the bill.(plus I knew I couldn't go wrong with one of your recipes!) My daughter and I were going to make it this morning - but that fell through - she didn't seem too excited about helping anymore,so I did it. Very moist and "banana-y." I had to bake it longer than 50 mins. more like 65, but I realize all ovens are different. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2013

      The consistency is weird. The flavor is okay though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Great recipe - I modified by using 1/2 cup margarine and 3/4 cup applesauce in place of the shortening, for a healthier twist. Also added 1 tsp vanilla, a little cinnamon and a little nutmeg. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      I decided after reading reviews to try 1 loaf only since I had only 3 small bananas, and to use 1/2 C whole wheat flour for part of the 2 C, use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 applesauce, and to use 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda, and for the salt I used Morton's salt lite, and I also added 1/2 tsp each vanilla and cinnamon. I measured and prepped everything and was ready to start step 3 when I thought to grease my loaf pan (uh-oh, where did I put them when I reorganized?) so then I oiled the breadmaker pan and dumped it all in, in suggested sequence, set it on quick bread and let it do it's thing. I think it took about 2 hours in the ABM, the bake temp read 345, The result is a gorgeous loaf, perfectly baked. Delicious! And I can see where a lot of variations that could be used in this basic recipe, but it is wonderful just the way I made it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      I'm munching on a warm slice of this bread w/some cinnamon butter as I'm entering this review. I made half the recipe & used butter instead of shortening & used 1/4 c brown sugar with the white sugar to = 1 c. for the half recipe. I also used chopped pecans because that is what I had. I will make again & I will add vanilla & lemon zest as others have done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Great base recipe. I'm now munching on my second batch. The first try at it, I followed the recipe to a *T*. It was very good. Nice nutty texture coupled with a nice banana flavor. On the second round I added blueberries and roasted pumpkin seeds (last night was Halloween, after all). That is why I referred to it as a great *base*. Just throw in whatever happens to be available is my motto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      This recipe was easy to follow and the bread tasted great. I did have to add almost 30 minutes to the bake time, possibly due to the altitude (we are at 1200' above sea level) but am not sure. I also added 1 tsp. vanilla and a dash of cinnamon to the recipe as well as 1 cup raisins. I uses half all purpose flour as well as half whole wheat. It's not only delicious but hearty and healthy. Thanks for putting this up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Have made this bread twice, awesome, did have to bake additional 10 minutes to get top of bread done, also added nuts to top, excellant recipe, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      I have never really been happy with the banana bread recipes I have tried up until now. This was perfect! My loaf pans were smaller so I also got 6 muffins (35 minutes) out of this recipe plus 2 loafs. I did add about a T of vanilla based on other reviews and I had six bananas to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      Very good banana bread. I was happy that it made two. One for me one for my neighbor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Nut Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (2122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3419.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1383
    40%
    Total Fat 153.7 g
    236%
    Saturated Fat 33.1 g
    165%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 2756.4 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 477.6 g
    159%
    Dietary Fiber 19.5 g
    78%
    Sugars 243.7 g
    975%
    Protein 51.0 g
    102%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites