16 Reviews

I've finally found the perfect banana muffin recipe! These bake up so nice, slightly crispy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. I love it that there's no oil in the recipe, like so many other banana, zucchini, carrot, etc., recipes. I did not add the walnuts but next time I will (I made these mainly for my daughter, who hates nuts of all types). Good instructions, very easy and quick, I had muffins within an hour of deciding to make them because of 2 very ripe bananas. I will definitely make these again. Thanks Orenda and please post some more recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude February 11, 2004

These were absolutely wonderful. Very moist and tasty. My family loved them. Was told, "these are the best banana muffins". I did not add walnuts but may try with them next time. I cooked half without a liner and half with a foil liner. The ones in the foil liner came out much more moist. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelamarie5613 August 07, 2013

These banana muffins were excellent! So moist and didn't dry out like so many muffin recipes do over time. I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and although I love walnuts in my banana muffins, I didn't have any on hand, so I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead. I will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSBchef August 14, 2009

These were very good and moist and I didn't have to wait an hour for a loaf to cook in the oven. I thought they could have been a little sweeter so next time I might try adding an extra 1/4 - 1/2 cup of sugar, but that's just my taste. I let my mix sit for about 15 min. or so and the banana flavor really shined through. Great way for me to use up some buttermilk too. Thanks for a yummy and easy recipe - will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 January 08, 2008

yum! I added chocolate chips once instead of the walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smirk September 24, 2007

Wonderful light muffins. The trick to strong banana flavor is to make sure you have very very ripe bananas. I also used 1/2 cup of oil because I didn't have enough butter. I also added about 2 T. candied ginger, chopped small. The recipe made 12 regular and 12 mini muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfcook September 14, 2007

The flavour and texture of these muffins was very good but they did not rise and have rounded tops like they should. In case it was my own error I'll try them again soon and adjust my rating accordingly. This recipe made 12 larger muffins for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin-jo July 13, 2006

I found these muffins to have very little banana flavor and the texture was much too light. They fell apart and crumbled when I tried to eat them. I had high hopes with all the great reviews but was disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff October 27, 2005

great recipe! I had a craving for banana walnut muffins and chose this one for the buttermilk ingredient. Very moist and delicious! I also reduced the baking temp to 375 degrees for 17 minutes, and they came out perfect! I often reduce temp. when baking muffins so there is no worry of overbaking. thanks OrendaB

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grapevinekk September 16, 2005

Made these muffins the day before. I left out the walnuts, use milk with vinegar to replace buttermilk, 4 small bananas and 140 gms sugar.These muffins were great, light, moist and delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom & Jerry August 28, 2005
Banana Muffins