17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

With just one egg and 2 tablespoons of butter, I was skeptical, but decided to try this anyway. The results were excellent, although I wish I had used the full 1 cup of sugar as stated. I reduced it to 3/4 cup. About a cup of mashed bananas. I added 1/4 tsp of salt and 1 tsp vanilla. Baking time was almost an hour. So glad it didn't burn on top. Baked at 350 C. Being that it is less sweet it is excellent with butter slathered on and I don't feel too guilty as there wasn't much butter in the batter. I thought 1 egg wouldn't be enough to bind it together so I added my egg substitute (ground flax in warm water to make a sloppy egg consistency) Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O January 19, 2015

Very good and easy! I made a medium loaf and an individual loaf (for the freezer). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ August 20, 2013

how did you know i had 3 bananas lol this is simple good tasting bread easy and fast to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. September 16, 2012

Excellent. Moist and tasty and so simple to make. I prepare it in minutes in the morning to cook with my croissants for my b&b and it stays fresh several days ... if there is any left. Good also for using up those spotty/black bananas. I added orange juice instead of milk to stop them colouring more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janadaki July 22, 2012

5 stars all around from my family! I decided to make it in a round cake pan because I had mentioned that I wanted to make banana cake and the kids refused to go to bed until they had some! The shallower pan took a little less time. So flavourful and moist, this will be made again! Made for Went To The Market tag game. Thanks Pat! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif May 25, 2011

This is really good and very easy to make. I had to cook mine about 10 minutes longer because the middle was still too "wet". Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Even DS who hates bananas ate a slice. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 08, 2011

This is the perfect plain and simple banana bread recipe! It is super easy and quick to make and tastes just delish with a strong banana flavour. I think chocolate covered raisins or coconut would be a great addition, but this is great plain, too. :)
To make this even healthier I used a sugar substitute (only 1 tbs as the bananas were super sweet) and half whole spelt flour.
I made this in muffin tins to reduce the baking time and this way it was done in 25 minutes.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful keeper with us, Pat! Ill make this as my go-to banana bread from now on.
Made and reviewed for Everyday is A Holiday Tag Game December 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 01, 2010

Quick and easy with a perfect result - a foolproof recipe, Pat, so thanks !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew November 27, 2010

My kids really enjoy this. I love that it is made with less oil/butter than most recipes but is still very moist. I replaced about 1/4 cup of flour with flax seed meal, my kids don't even realize its a healthier version of what they love.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 November 25, 2010

I used only 1/2 cup of sugar. I had to cook the bread a little bit longer. It turned out moist and so yummy. Thanks I'mPat for posting the recipe. Made for the Aussie Recipe Swap November 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 17, 2010
Banana Loaf Cake