Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana/Lemon Sensation Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana/Lemon Sensation

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2004

      I did this exactly the way it was written, which was really easy given the instructions. With none of the lemon it would be a good plain old banana bread, with a really nice consistancy. Nver having considered the combination of lemon and banana before, I didn't really know what to expect. I made it last night, and sliced the whole thing into reasonable sized serving slices. My husband got up at 5 to catch the commuter plane to Paris, I got up at 8, and, lo and behold, half of reasonable slices are gone! The man ate half of a lemon banana bread at 5am! It is a winner! I, too, used a microplane zester on the lemon peel, and you can't really see it or feel it, but it is there. I will certainly make it again, and, like the woman said, why make only one loaf at a time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      I thought that I got to know Toolbelt through some recent email correspondence, but if you really want to know Toolbelt, you should make this recipe. She so wants you to make something good, and she so wants it to come out right, even if someone 10,000 miles away is making this dessert, that she give you the best directions. From overheating the oven to get just the right temperature when you open the door, to letting you that it is okay to go without the lemon sauce if you have an aversion to lemon, Toolbelt takes you through this recipe just so you will enjoy it in the end. Some chefs are very precise in their recipes, and you must listen to precisely what teacher says, but not Toolbelt, and that's what makes this recipes such a winner. Of course, I've never been one to leave a recipe well enough alone, so I had to play with this one as well. I added some freshly grated nutmeg to the banana batter, with just a tiny, molecular amount of freshly grated ginger. I also added lemon zest to the lemon sauce. If you have a Microplane Zester the zest comes out almost like fairy dust, and you can't even feel it in the sauce, just have the wonderful taste sensation in your mouth. I was invited to very good friends for the weekend and brought this as a Friday-night dessert. My friends all raved, and Toolbelt has been given honorary citizenship in their house. Elaine, this recipe was ta'im me'od (very delicious)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I love banana bread, and I love lemon, but these two flavours do not belong together. I brought it to work and it is not going over well here either. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

      Enjoyed it! The combination is a little different, not overwhelmingly banana or lemon, which made my son who hates bananas very happy. I used zest from a whole Meyer lemon from my tree, and 2 T of juice in the glaze. I would increase the lemon in the glaze or double the glaze though that may have to do with the milder Meyer lemon juice. A nice lowfat loaf, too, with only 1/4 cup butter. 55 minutes was perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2013

      We had a nice little crop of beautiful Meyer Lemons this spring. I've been trying new recipes to use & enjoy them. Tried a "Starbucks" copy-cat recipe last week. My husband told me that it was his favorite of all the things I've baked (cookies, cakes, etc.)! Well, I made the Banana Lemon Sensation Lemon loaf this week and he took his first slice in his lunch today. I just read his afternoon email from work. He said, I quote, "had banana, meyer lemon & orange cake this morning ? unbelievable! It was so moist and tasted great. Now, I can?t decide which is my favorite." (I added some pure Orange extract to the sauce for "pow" and to bring out the orange flavor in the Meyer Lemons a bit). That's really quite a compliment from my husband! I would call this recipe an A++++ and a great success. Deliscious. Rich. Moist. Very flavorful. YUMMMERS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      Just made this recipe and found the cake part wonderful. However for me, the lemon (which I love) did not go well with the banana. My husband didn't like it either. The lemon overpowered and confused what is otherwise a lovely banana taste. Next time, I'll leave off the lemon and will add a cup of pecans. It looks very pretty in a bundt cake pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      love the lemon addition to change things up a bit. i've only made this twice, once in a regular loaf pan and once in a bundt pan. so far, i like the bundt pan better, but i still need to remember that my oven cooks this bread so much faster. i thought i was safe checking it at 45 minutes, but i'll bet i can cut it down to 40. thanks for posting this very lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was really great. I didn't have any lemons, so I used melted lemon curd as the glaze and in the bread. I also used half white and half white whole wheat flour and it still turned out great. I had just about given up on finding a good banana bread recipe, but this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Usually not a big fan of Banana Bread,but with this great recipe I'm actually thinking about making some more :) Just made a few small changes ... used less sugar, more sugar-lemon glaze, lemon extract instead of the lemon rind and baked 8 small loafs instead of one large bread A keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Jesus, that was the best banana cake I've ever had! It's not stodgy at all, and the banana and lemon work so well together! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      We really liked this! I did find it worked better as a morning breakfast treat or fantastic snack, but not really as a dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This is better than a recent meyer lemon cake recipe I found. It's pretty sweet, but the lemon and banana flavors balance nicely. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      This is SO yummy! I am a lazy cook so I didn't dirty a bunch of bowls..I mixed all together in one. I cooked it in a mini bundt pan..just for fun. This is REALLY good...the flavors are unique and really good together! I will definately be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      HOLY CRAP! This is aMAzing bread! And no, no one in the house could have just one piece, in fact it's almost gone! what a perfect marriage of my two favorite desserts... thank you so much, will be making this for years to come :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This is really good bread! The oven trick is a cool idea I hadn't thought of. I've saved this recipe for the file I'm making for the kids to have when they move out. It's nice to have something detailed for those who may not have much baking experience. Plus it freezes nicely! My only change was adding a little poppyseed to the batter. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Yup, couldn't have just one piece! I omitted the lemon zest as I couldn't find organic lemons (and was too lazy to thoroughly scrub a regular one!) and didn't dirty quite as many bowls as the instructions call for, but otherwise followed the recipe. The lemon sauce mainly penetrated the dome and the sides of the my cake, so it was definitely more lemony on the sides and more banana-y in the middle - which was lovely, actually! Great combo, thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I agree with Doughy's review. The instructions are way too fussy. Reminded me of my mother nagging at me. Try Sour Cream Banana Bread instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Good recipe but the directions were way too fussy. There shouldn't be 32 steps to make a banana bread that involves dirtying every bowl in your kitchen. It took 3 pages just to print it! I used my KA mixer and creamed butter, sugar, added the eggs and zest and threw in the bananas whole. Dumped in the flour and soda and I was done. Life is too short, banana bread shouldn't be so serious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana/Lemon Sensation

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.8
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    20%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 49.4 mg
    16%
    Sodium 239.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 30.0 g
    120%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon rind

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites