Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana " Ice Cream " Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana " Ice Cream "

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      This is so nice and creamy! Such a nice, refreshing dessert/snack. We had a filling dinner tonight.. baked cod fillets, garlic mashed potatoes and broccoli smothered in melted cheese... so this dessert was really nice to end a filling meal. I just want to stress that you need to make sure you dont add too much vanilla. I found that I had to add a little sugar to the recipe because it was a little bitter without it. This is a marvelous recipe! THANK YOU SO MUCH!..and thanks for helping me figure out the measurements :-) I look forward to trying many of your recipes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      This is a great summer dessert! I've been making it a couple of times a week since getting this recipe. I use soy milk to make it a little more creamy. Its also good with cinnamon instead of vanilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      I too added a little splenda to offset the "bite" that frozen bannana sometimes has. The kids fought me for it! Very nice flavor, my 4 year old was calling it "bannana ice cream". Definitely like soft serve. Thanks for a great way to beat my ice cream craving in a healthy way!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      This turned out just like soft serve ice cream (minus all the fat of course). Thank you so much for this wonderful idea. I love bananas and I love ice cream and this is a perfect way to have both!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Really good! Love that I can enjoy this creamy delicious treat and not feel bad about it. I used juice, but think I would prefer milk next time. I've made something similar but using PB and honey and that works great too. Looking forward to experimenting with this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      We have been making this for years however we really would rather have chocolate milk or add chocolate syrup. I have told a lot of friends about this - we call it a chocolate shake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Oh wow. This was way better than I expected. My bananas always seem to start browning before I can eat them so I throw them in the freezer whole (peel and everything). I pulled some out, peeled and chopped them up and whirled them with almond milk,cocoa powder and a touch of vanilla. Delish! This will now be a go to recipe when we are craving something sweet. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This is a great low fat dessert. I was really surprised by how much I enjoyed this. I used 2 bananas and about 4 TB of skim milk to get it to the right consistency. Next time I will try it with a touch of vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Love this, and so does the boyfriend (who is not into health food). You shouldn't think of it as ice cream though. "Frozen dessert" might be better. I love this with a little granola or a dollop of peanut butter. A few tips from my trial and error: cut the banana into relatively small chunks. I just quartered the bananas the first time, and it was a little difficult to get creamy. Food processors work a LOT better than blenders - don't know why. Loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      We hated this! It tastes just like frozen baby food puree. I don't know what I was expecting since the ingredients are just bananas, milk, and vanilla, but I was really hoping for something somewhat reminiscent of ice cream, and this was not even close. I threw out most of the batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      This recipe is amazing! My family loves it! We used frozen bananas, a few frozen strawberries, some fat free half and half, vanilla and some splenda. YUM! We can't wait to try other flavors also! Thanks for this "magic" recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      this looks so yummy but i could not figure out how many bananas to use or how much fruit juice. :( if anyone could help me that would be great. thanx :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      The healthiest food I ate this entire holiday week. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This is perfect for me and my husband, we cannot have sugary desserts, but this let us have 'ice cream'. For adults, using a few spoonfuls of kalua, o frangelico liquor makes it extra good. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This saved the day when we opened the fridge and our strawberry ice cream was "chewy" (yuck). My 4-year-old was more than happy with this ... and her mom and dad enjoyed it, too! Even baby sister got to try! We did add a little sugar and honey. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      This was fantastic. I used 4 small-ish bananas, about 1/2 cup milk, a tsp or so of vanilla extract, and about 2 Tbsp honey. Yum, yum. We got four generous servings. Thanks for this easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

    • on March 24, 2009

      This is sooo good! I used some blueberry jam insted of the vanilla extract, and it was perfect. Didn't need no sweetener :D Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Yum! i didn't know so few ingredients would make this. :) It was very good! I used milk but I think next time I will use juice or something to add some extra sweetness. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana " Ice Cream "

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 120.8
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    76%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes