Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Cream Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Cream Pie

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      Excellent recipe! I did add an extra 1 Tbls of cornstarch to make it thicker as another reviewer stated. This recipe made a lot! I ended up with enough for a 9" pie and a small casserole dish of banana pudding! I think I will try to halve the recipe next time. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe! It's very easy to follow and took very little time to make. I did add a little extra cornstarch (heaping rather than level tablespoons) and I layered some bananas in the pie crust before the first layer of pudding but other than that it turned out amazing! It definitely tastes like the pies you get in restaurants. I used a premade gluten free crust and it was delish. This is a great gluten free recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Quick, tasty, no-fail recipe. The use of cornstarch as a thickener makes this pie VERY robust, so it's ideal those of us who need to make substitutions or adjustments for dietary restrictions. I substituted a rich, sweet soy milk (Silk Very Vanilla) and left out the sugar altogether, replacing it with just a few tablespoons of Splenda. I also used apple bananas, which are sweeter and more flavorful than regular bananas. The result was fabulous. For a 9-inch pie plate, 1/2 batch of the cream filling and two layers of bananas filled the crust nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Yum! I cut the recipe in half for a 9-inch pie crust and it was perfect. However, I did use all three bananas. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      it's been a long time since I've had this pie in a restaurant, so I don't really have anything to compare it to. That being said, both my daughter and I REALLY liked this, and it was simple to make, especially if you use a pre-made graham cracker crust. I used 1 can of evaporated milk and skim milk for the rest (still 4 cups total), other then that followed the recipe as written. I froze the pie to make it easier to slice and plate, But of course we let it warm up a little before serving. Very good and will be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      5 stars for flavour, 1 star because it never did set up properly :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Out of gazillion banana cream pie recipes I found online I chose this one for two reasons. First, I never like tasting flour in cream pies, and this recipe called for cornstarch instead. Second, because it uses whole eggs instead of only yolks, and since I always forget I have the whites, and end up wasting them, I was happy to not have to worry about that. Whatever richness I might have lost by using whole eggs was made up for by the simplicity and economy of the recipe, and the wonderful, familiar, comforting, old-fashioned flavor and texture. I did add about 1 1/2 tbs. extra cornstarch since some said it was a bit soft, simmered it a bit longer, and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This was simple and delicious. I made a pie crust out of vanilla wafers and it really complemented the bananas. I'll be making this again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      This pie was incredible! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was so easy! It tasted like a pie I would get in a restaurant. I made it for Thanksgiving for a friend who loves banana cream pie, and he loved it. Thanks Dejah, for a great recipe. I will make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Wonderful recipe! My 7 year old daughter made this for Father's Day as banana cream pie is her dad's favorite. She found it very easy to follow and it tastes delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It was the perfect thickness and filled my favorite pampered chef stone pie plate perfectly as well. My only complaint was that it was a bit too sweet, I think the sweetness of the filling took away from the flavor of the bananas, I will make this again but I will cut back on the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      The filling was kid of custard-y, and the flavor too banana-y, so i seperated 1/4 of the mixture, added some cocoa and marbled it in (bananas foster style).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      This was a HUGE hit when I had company for dinner. None of us had had BCP for many years and it was a real treat, even with canned whipped cream (Cabot brand, best on the market). I made half the recipe, using only 1/2C sugar, and three bananas in a 9" pie and it was just right. Next time I'll increase the vanilla by 50%, just my personal preference. Thanks so much Dejah for this little culinary stroll down memory lane. It is a rare restaurant that has pie this good; I'm sure I would have loved your father's place!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Was craving a banana cream pie which I had never made before. This one was very easy to follow, I made it exactly to directions (with the extra layer of bananas in the base crust of the pie before adding any filling) and it thickened and set beautifully. My family loved it and it was gone in about 24 hours. =) I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      Delicious Banana Cream Pie. Family thought it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      was excellent tasting and easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      What a delightful, delicious, good old-fashioned easy to make scratch WONDERFUL banana cream pie. Pudding box mixes don't come close! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This was excellent. The only changes I made were that I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to it to thicken it more, Splenda was substituted for the sugar and cut back about 1/2 cup so it wouldn't be too sweet. I ended up filling two 9-inch pies, topped them with whipped cream and a little bit of ganache striped on top. It was definitely a hit. :D Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This pie was great -- a big hit at my family's Fathers' Day gathering. A good way to get a firm filling is to let it bubble on the heat for 1 minute before and 1 minute after adding the eggs. That's what I did, and the consistency was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This pie tasted good but it was runny, I wish I had read Bubz McGee's review before I made it. :-( I had to abandon it and buy a pie for Mother's Day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Cream Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.1
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    26%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 117.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 141.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 36.8 g
    147%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites