47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! I did add an extra 1 Tbls of cornstarch to make it thicker as another reviewer stated. This recipe made a lot! I ended up with enough for a 9" pie and a small casserole dish of banana pudding! I think I will try to halve the recipe next time. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PAT COWDEN April 03, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe! It's very easy to follow and took very little time to make. I did add a little extra cornstarch (heaping rather than level tablespoons) and I layered some bananas in the pie crust before the first layer of pudding but other than that it turned out amazing! It definitely tastes like the pies you get in restaurants. I used a premade gluten free crust and it was delish. This is a great gluten free recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazzerita February 07, 2010

Quick, tasty, no-fail recipe. The use of cornstarch as a thickener makes this pie VERY robust, so it's ideal those of us who need to make substitutions or adjustments for dietary restrictions. I substituted a rich, sweet soy milk (Silk Very Vanilla) and left out the sugar altogether, replacing it with just a few tablespoons of Splenda. I also used apple bananas, which are sweeter and more flavorful than regular bananas. The result was fabulous. For a 9-inch pie plate, 1/2 batch of the cream filling and two layers of bananas filled the crust nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coco loco September 15, 2011

Yum! I cut the recipe in half for a 9-inch pie crust and it was perfect. However, I did use all three bananas. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms March 13, 2011

it's been a long time since I've had this pie in a restaurant, so I don't really have anything to compare it to. That being said, both my daughter and I REALLY liked this, and it was simple to make, especially if you use a pre-made graham cracker crust. I used 1 can of evaporated milk and skim milk for the rest (still 4 cups total), other then that followed the recipe as written. I froze the pie to make it easier to slice and plate, But of course we let it warm up a little before serving. Very good and will be making it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena January 14, 2010

5 stars for flavour, 1 star because it never did set up properly :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flygirl #5 November 13, 2008

Out of gazillion banana cream pie recipes I found online I chose this one for two reasons. First, I never like tasting flour in cream pies, and this recipe called for cornstarch instead. Second, because it uses whole eggs instead of only yolks, and since I always forget I have the whites, and end up wasting them, I was happy to not have to worry about that. Whatever richness I might have lost by using whole eggs was made up for by the simplicity and economy of the recipe, and the wonderful, familiar, comforting, old-fashioned flavor and texture. I did add about 1 1/2 tbs. extra cornstarch since some said it was a bit soft, simmered it a bit longer, and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catwhispers November 09, 2008

This was simple and delicious. I made a pie crust out of vanilla wafers and it really complemented the bananas. I'll be making this again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LZAK December 20, 2007

This pie was incredible! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was so easy! It tasted like a pie I would get in a restaurant. I made it for Thanksgiving for a friend who loves banana cream pie, and he loved it. Thanks Dejah, for a great recipe. I will make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMeow November 28, 2003

Wonderful recipe! My 7 year old daughter made this for Father's Day as banana cream pie is her dad's favorite. She found it very easy to follow and it tastes delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spacegirl99 June 16, 2013
Banana Cream Pie