18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you want the best banana coffee cake ever, you"ve GOT to make this. It's moistness and flavor can't be beat.... i did as Kohtzy did and use the BANANA STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE STREUSEL TOPPING, i just doubled it.. Adding half of it to the batter left the perfect amount for the topping.. You mix 1 and 1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar, 1 and 1/3 cup all purpose flour, 2 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon in a bowl, then cut in 2 sticks salted butter.. Now add 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, mix in... Add half to coffee cake batter before adding batter to baking pan and place remainder hear and there on top.... Check doneness at 30 minutes, mine took about 10 minutes more time. Place a piece of lightly coated cooking spray on foil to keep from sticking if getting to brown.. I took this to a senior meeting and everyone said it was delicious, a 10 star plus.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl November 24, 2009

This was good! I took it for Easter Dinner at my families house. I only used one cup of sugar for the cake. And I used brown sugar in the topping along with a mixture of walnuts and pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel March 31, 2013

This was really good. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the topping as I didn't have any pecans and I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter but not the extra sugar. Mine took 35 minutes to cook. We all enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 18, 2011

Great Cake. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. January 24, 2011

Delicious! My family really enjoyed this, made exactly as stated and it came out perfectly. Glad to find another recipe to use up those overly ripe bananas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome May 14, 2010

Wow - this was truly delicious and moist and beautiful. The ladies at the brunch I went to today loved it. I did use walnuts instead of pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner November 21, 2009

I took this to church yesterday, everyone loved it. It was easy and tasted great. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z October 26, 2009

omg!! amazing!!!! just read it and made it and LOVED IT!!! Thank u for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fsaber77 August 24, 2009

SO Yummy! I made it for our Sunday School class, and one person said they want me to make it for them all the time, and another wanted the recipe. It was eaten up fast!!! I made it just as described and wouldn't change anything!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Mo June 07, 2009

10+ stars!! I could not have chosen a better coffee cake recipe to make with my very ripe bananas. the only changes I made, was to use 2 bananas instead of 3 (it was all I had on hand) and a streusel topping from Banana Streusel Coffee Cake. Yumm!!! My DH and I were both very impressed with this moist, yummy cake - thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy June 07, 2009
Banana Coffee Cake