Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      If you want the best banana coffee cake ever, you"ve GOT to make this. It's moistness and flavor can't be beat.... i did as Kohtzy did and use the BANANA STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE STREUSEL TOPPING, i just doubled it.. Adding half of it to the batter left the perfect amount for the topping.. You mix 1 and 1/3 cup packed dark brown sugar, 1 and 1/3 cup all purpose flour, 2 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon in a bowl, then cut in 2 sticks salted butter.. Now add 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, mix in... Add half to coffee cake batter before adding batter to baking pan and place remainder hear and there on top.... Check doneness at 30 minutes, mine took about 10 minutes more time. Place a piece of lightly coated cooking spray on foil to keep from sticking if getting to brown.. I took this to a senior meeting and everyone said it was delicious, a 10 star plus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      This was good! I took it for Easter Dinner at my families house. I only used one cup of sugar for the cake. And I used brown sugar in the topping along with a mixture of walnuts and pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      This was really good. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the topping as I didn't have any pecans and I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter but not the extra sugar. Mine took 35 minutes to cook. We all enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Great Cake. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      Delicious! My family really enjoyed this, made exactly as stated and it came out perfectly. Glad to find another recipe to use up those overly ripe bananas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Wow - this was truly delicious and moist and beautiful. The ladies at the brunch I went to today loved it. I did use walnuts instead of pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I took this to church yesterday, everyone loved it. It was easy and tasted great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      omg!! amazing!!!! just read it and made it and LOVED IT!!! Thank u for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      SO Yummy! I made it for our Sunday School class, and one person said they want me to make it for them all the time, and another wanted the recipe. It was eaten up fast!!! I made it just as described and wouldn't change anything!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      10+ stars!! I could not have chosen a better coffee cake recipe to make with my very ripe bananas. the only changes I made, was to use 2 bananas instead of 3 (it was all I had on hand) and a streusel topping from Banana Streusel Coffee Cake. Yumm!!! My DH and I were both very impressed with this moist, yummy cake - thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      OMG.....YUM, YUM, YUM!! This was pure banana and chocolate heaven!! I made this today because I had 5 overly ripe bananas. I doubled the recipe so that I can bring some to work tomorrow. I am so glad I did!! I had to improvise a little bit though. I had cut back on the sugar and I didn't make the topping accordingly because I thought it had enough sugar already in the batter. I couldn't for the life of me find my ground cinnamon, but I did however had some cinnamon chips. I love the combination of chocolate and bananas so I added 1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1 cup of the cinnamon flavored chips, and 2 tsp. of banana extract. I just sprinkled the crushed pecans over top of 3 loaves and made the other 2 without, just in case there were some at work that do not care for nuts. Rather than preparing it in a cake pan, I used 5 loaf pans. We didn't even wait for it to cool off. It came out moist and yummy, and the chocolate and cinnamon chips were a great addition. Bring on the coffee!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for the wonderful "base" recipe. I think I am going to be making this often, with the changes I've done. It is delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Thanks for explicit directions, right down to the three bananas! Followed to a T, and the coffee cake turned out great and tastes even better. Five stars for attractiveness and easy preparation. If you've got the black bananas, you've probably got everything else on hand too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Yummy coffee cake - moist with good banana flavor. I used reduced fat cream cheese, but other than that followed the recipe as written. Thanks for posting! -M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      I am not a big banana fan but I had some extra and ripe. This coffee cake was very good. I did leave out the nuts. I topped it instead with a oat,brown sugar, and butter topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      For someone who doesn't like bananas by themselves this is a good recipe. Having room temp butter is a must - I didn't, making it harder. Was alarmed by how wet it seemed then it looked quite lumpy when I added the flour but it turned out really well - wholesome looking and not stodgy. I might add some spices to the cake next time though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      Yummy! I followed your directions exactly and everyone LOVED it! Thanks truebrit for this great coffee cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Quick and easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      I was afraid I had really cocked this up as I got all the butter softened in my bowl and added the sugar etc. then went to get my cream cheese and somebody (who will remain nameless, but my DH knows who he is) had eaten half my cream cheese! What to do, what to do....I added a bit of extra butter and an extra banana and it turned out gorgeous! but that is not the only mistake I made! I didn't read the recipe properly and did not add half the topping to the batter, so I ended up spreading half the batter in the pan, sprinkling with half the topping and repeating the layers. I also added milk chocolate chips to the topping as we love chocolate and banana together. It smelt gorgeous while it was baking. It is delicious and moist, a lovely cake. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.4
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    49%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 57.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 191.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 20.4 g
    81%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites