Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins (Light) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins (Light)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2009

      Great light sweet treat!! I used applesauce in place of the oil and low fat vanilla yogurt. VERY moist! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I was so surprised how moist these turned out! Only yogurt in the fridge was pomegranate greek yogurt but it worked beautifully nonetheless! Definitely a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Made double version. Got 18 muffins that were good size. I divided double version without addition of chocolate chips and divided it in three bolls. In one I added chocolate chips; Another coconut flakes and last raisins. Chocolate chips went first. Coconut addition was OK, more for adults; raisins went in school lunches as chocolate is not allowed.
      I was worried that muffins would be too heavy or overly moist, but it had a nice light texture without being crumbly. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Fantastic! These muffins came out light and moist. I used low fat sour cream and dark chocolate chips, they got rave reviews from my family and disappeared very quickly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      made these with applesauce, fat free sour cream, and splenda. tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      These were so delicious, moist, light and easy. Like others, I did modify them a bit by cutting the oil in half and using applesauce and using whole wheat flour. I also used vanilla low fat yogurt. I know that adding 1/4 cup of peanut butter adds to calories and fat but it sure did taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I needed to lighten the recipe a bit by using Splenda in place of the sugar, 2 tbsp of oil and 2 of applesauce and I used plain fat free yogurt. The muffins were incredibly fluffy and light as well as very moist. I used a cast iron muffin pan in fruit and veggie shapes for fun and to celebrate Fall. Mine were well baked at 20 mins. A real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      I loved these tasty muffins! They were very moist with a nice banana flavor. There were just enough chocolate chips to add a touch of flavor without being overpowering or too sweet. Thanks for posting this great muffin recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      These are really great, quick and easy! I just used a spatula instead of a mixer and stirred all together in one bowl, and they came out great. I used the sour cream and mini choc. chips. Have made twice, and will keep making them, thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      These make a great after-school snack. I used all whole wheat pastry flour and 1/3c sucanat instead of the sugar. I also used silken tofu (blended first) instead of yogurt. Topping each muffin with coarse raw (turbinado) sugar before baking makes a great crunchy crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      These were so moist and delicious. I substituted apple sauce for the oil and used low fat banana yogurt. I'm making more tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I used 1/3 cup sugar and I used no-fat plain yogurt. I let the muffins 17 minutes in the oven. Then I tried to remove it from the pan. Only 4 came out and I was glad. Cause they were so moist that they lose their shape LOL So the other ones, I let them cool in the pan. They didn't rise a lot but at least now they keep their shape. I'm wondering if it would have needed more than 17 minutes of cooking. They're so moist and very tasty. Thanks Redsie :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I had a hard time getting these to cook all the way through. Mine ended up being pretty squishy. That said, they had great flavor and the kids gobbled them up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      I love these! I used all whole wheat flour, and brown sugar because I prefer the flavor. I love the little bit of chocolate in them. Moist and delicious! Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Light and super moist. A good choice for kids since they don't taste healthy. I used half whole wheat pastry flour with good results. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      These were pretty good. Mine came out a little oily so next time I may add less of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      These were just terrific and enjoyed both by me and my non-calorie counting family. In general, my target for baked goods is about 125 calories and 3-4 grams of fat so I made a couple of substitutions. With my very sweet overripe bananas, I was able to reduce the sugar by a tablespoon, also replaced half the oil with applesauce, used non-fat sour cream and 1/3 of the white flour for whole wheat to add a little fiber. The muffins were moist and light and tender and had lots of good flavor. I used mini chips which also help me spread the 1/4 cup of chips around the full dozen. Thanks Redsie, will cerainly make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      This is a good, light muffin that still has the banana-chocolate taste I enjoy. I also used nonfat yogurt and added some more chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

      HERE YE, HERE YE - I PROCLAIM THAT EVERYONE MUST TRY THIS RECIPE! I just can't get over how light, fluffy & moist these muffins are. (I used fat free yogurt.) The flavour is great, too, - not too sweet. I did double the chocolate chips because I was looking for a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins (Light)

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.0
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    36%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 147.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes