230 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were delicious!! I am not a great cook, and not many recipes I try turn out how I hope, but these were perfect! I added about 1/2 cup ground flax and some sunflower seeds to up the nutrition factor. My (very picky) five year old told me they "tasted even better than gummy worms" and ate five of them throughout the day. Excellent recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lissamck82 January 09, 2013

These were good and all the better for their easiness. I had 4 bananas that I need to use so I went ahead and threw them all in. That change worked just fine. I gave it 4 stars because they were a bit too sweet for me (and I have a loud sweet tooth) and the cooking time was a bit long, but that may just be my oven. Next time I will cut the added sugar by half at least, because the bananas and chocolate chips being plenty of sweetness to the table. Then they will be low fat AND low(er) carb.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MidsummerNightSprite December 23, 2012

I used whole wheat flour and they still turned out moist and delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckboersma November 24, 2012

These are moist & delicious! I used fat free milk, wheat & white flour (half & half), added more chocolate chips (I used the mini ones, about 4 oz.) and also added in 1/2 cup of both applesauce & oats as suggested in previous reviews. Love the fact that there isn't any butter or oil in the recipe and yet still tastes so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Table4six November 21, 2012

Turned out w/lots of flavor, but were rubbery. If I make them again, I will add the applesauce another person suggested. Also, 30 minutes was too long. Will check them at 23 minutes for doneness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahski32377 September 23, 2012

As written, I give this recipe 3 stars. 30 mins. to bake is too long - makes it more brown and dry - I should've taken mine out at 15 mins. Also it came out much too salty with 1 tsp salt in it. Decrease the salt and the time in half and it's 5 stars. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JesusIsKing78 July 25, 2012

Really surprisingly good for a low-fat muffin. I did add more chocolate chips because I can't help it. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 24, 2012

These Muffins are GREAT!!, great flavor and texture, easy to make. Enjoyed by my whole family. Followed directions, using buttermilk, did sub carob chips for chocolate chips, tripled the recipe to have some for breakfast and to freeze some for later. Thank You.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 March 10, 2012

Great recipe. Made just as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff February 23, 2012

Great recipe!! I needed to make a snack for my daughter's kindergarten class today, and I wanted something sorta healthy, but that still tasted good. Found this recipe and thought it looked good. I ended up using 4 bananas because 2 of them weren't quite as "overripe" and I would have liked. Also, I used milk with a little lemon juice in it to give it that sort of buttermilk flavor and I added 1/4 cup applesauce after reading a bunch of the reviews. Also, I used mini chocolate chips and probably used about 1/3 - 1/2 cup just because that was the rest of what I had. They turned out great! All 11 kindergartners ate them right up. Another thing, I live in Colorado at about 4200 feet and didn't have to change the recipe for that and they came out a nice size. Doing the recipe as I did, made 15 regular sized muffins. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Kate February 21, 2012
Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins