230 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect snack! I used mini chocolate chips and a mini muffin pan. I baked the 3 dozen mini muffins for about 15 minutes and they came out of the oven perfectly moist and delicious. They are wonderful for an after-school snack or to go in a lunchbox. These will be a new staple in our house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VinoBaby April 29, 2010

Wonderful flavor, I was surprised there wasn't any oil or shortening in these, yet they were very tender. Will make again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne43 November 23, 2003

A VERY big hit! Not a lot of prep...not a lot of ingredients...but a lot of great taste! Only thing I did was add an extra banana and MORE chips!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clh0928 November 07, 2014

These are wonderful! Crunchyish on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside...just perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique August 12, 2011

These are really good low fat muffins. I hate the thought of using all that butter in my usual recipe. The baking time was a little off for me. I should have pulled them out at about 25 mins. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 07, 2011

Fantastic!!! I subbed 1/2cup whole wheat flour for the all-purpose and used Egg Beaters b/c I was out of eggs. I used milk chocolate chips (on hand), and made mini-muffins cooking for 13minutes @ 350degrees. So wonderful & moist!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather J July 26, 2010

Very glad I found a recipe without needing baking powder as I just ran out of it. I omitted the egg, halved the recipe, used soymilk and balsamic vinegar to substitute buttermilk, and added 1/4 c applesauce - muffin came out OK, but slightly chewy, Will follow the ingredients next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Happy June 04, 2010

Excellent low-fat muffins. They are dense and moist, and not at all rubbery like some get when you substitue apple sauce for butter. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white, increased the walnuts to 1/3 cup and cut out the chocolate chips. I would include the chocolate next time (DH isn't keen on chocolate, which is why I left it out this time).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Is it tasty? January 10, 2010

Excellent!!! I subbed 2/3 C. agave nectar for the white and brown sugars. Thus, I knocked the baking temp down to 325 (baked for 33 minutes) and only used a scant 1/3 C. milk. Next time, I might use even less milk. I also used about 1/4 C. chocolate chips since I needed to use up the rest of the bag I had. Yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethyjstar June 28, 2009

These were very good! Following some of the suggestions of the other reviewers, I subbed whole wheat flour for white flour and Splenda Granulated for white sugar, to reduce the calorie count and increase the fiber. I made a double batch, half regular muffins (done in about 22 minutes) and half minis (done in about 12 minutes). Spraying the foil liners was great, they come unwrapped extremely easily. For the minis, I just sprayed the pan and spooned the batter straight in, and that worked well too. I used the amount of chips called for, but because I used mini chips it was enough. (I didn't want them to be overly chocolatey anyway, for first thing in the morning.) And yes, they freeze great. I like to toast them after defrosting to crisp up the top a bit. Will definitely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugar kitten March 09, 2009
Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins