Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Average Rating:

    223 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 223

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2002

      These were fantastic, I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup of rolled oats to the recipe. The muffins turned out moist, packed with flavour and what can I say about the chocolate chips.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      These muffins were delicious! VERY MOIST!! I took the other reviewers advice and added the applesauce and oatmeal - it was wonderful! I also increased the chocolate chips to 1/2 cup - I'm a chocoholic! I will definately make these again. I also found that it only took 25 minutes to cook in my oven. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      Are these really low fat? Unbelievable! They are moist and fluffy and delicious. I did add more chips than the recipe called for, which made them slightly higher in fat, but well worth it. I also used mini chips, which I find work better in muffins. I will be making these again very soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      These were fantastic!! Easy, fluffy, moist, and very tasty! I added only 1/4 cup each of sugar, brown sugar, and chocolate chips. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and an extra 1/2 tsp of baking soda so they were lighter. Made 12 beautiful, fragrant muffins. My family agreed that these were the best banana muffins we've ever had -- and we've been using family recipes for years. Thank you for the wonderful and healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      This recipe was the BOMB! I just happened acrossed it and thought I'd give it a try for it's simplicity. Most of the stuff I attempt comes from a mix, so this was definately something new. It turned out fantastic! I added the chips into each individual muffin cup at half-full, then added more on top when filled. Half a dozen with chopped walnuts on top, half just the chips. They were done in only 20 min. Totally fantastic! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      Loved these, and really love that they are low fat. I actually couldn't believe there was no oil or butter in the recipe. They are moist and very banana-y (yes I made that word up). These were cooked at the 24 minute mark in my oven so watch carefully. Thanks Manda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      Delish!!! So easy to make, will make these again and again! Followed the recipe exactly... however, mine were done in 25 minutes. Light and not too sweet ~ just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      I cut out the nuts, and added more chocolate and thought they were to die for.
      I do not think I will ever use another recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      These were really good and easy to make! A great way to use those old bananas. I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I may try to substitute splenda for the sugar as other reviewers have done.

      Edited to say they are fabulous!! The more I try them the better they are. My kids love them and my husband loves them too. Thank you for this great low fat recipe!

      Note: I made bread out of this recipe by cooking in a 9X5 loaf pan for 55minutes. Came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Perfect snack! I used mini chocolate chips and a mini muffin pan. I baked the 3 dozen mini muffins for about 15 minutes and they came out of the oven perfectly moist and delicious. They are wonderful for an after-school snack or to go in a lunchbox. These will be a new staple in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Wonderful flavor, I was surprised there wasn't any oil or shortening in these, yet they were very tender. Will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      Great! Fantastically moist and decadent. I used whole wheat pastry flour rather than all purpose, and lemon yogurt instead of buttermilk. Wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      These are wonderful! Crunchyish on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside...just perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      These are really good low fat muffins. I hate the thought of using all that butter in my usual recipe. The baking time was a little off for me. I should have pulled them out at about 25 mins. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      Fantastic!!! I subbed 1/2cup whole wheat flour for the all-purpose and used Egg Beaters b/c I was out of eggs. I used milk chocolate chips (on hand), and made mini-muffins cooking for 13minutes @ 350degrees. So wonderful & moist!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Very glad I found a recipe without needing baking powder as I just ran out of it. I omitted the egg, halved the recipe, used soymilk and balsamic vinegar to substitute buttermilk, and added 1/4 c applesauce - muffin came out OK, but slightly chewy, Will follow the ingredients next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Excellent low-fat muffins. They are dense and moist, and not at all rubbery like some get when you substitue apple sauce for butter. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white, increased the walnuts to 1/3 cup and cut out the chocolate chips. I would include the chocolate next time (DH isn't keen on chocolate, which is why I left it out this time).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Excellent!!! I subbed 2/3 C. agave nectar for the white and brown sugars. Thus, I knocked the baking temp down to 325 (baked for 33 minutes) and only used a scant 1/3 C. milk. Next time, I might use even less milk. I also used about 1/4 C. chocolate chips since I needed to use up the rest of the bag I had. Yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      These were very good! Following some of the suggestions of the other reviewers, I subbed whole wheat flour for white flour and Splenda Granulated for white sugar, to reduce the calorie count and increase the fiber. I made a double batch, half regular muffins (done in about 22 minutes) and half minis (done in about 12 minutes). Spraying the foil liners was great, they come unwrapped extremely easily. For the minis, I just sprayed the pan and spooned the batter straight in, and that worked well too. I used the amount of chips called for, but because I used mini chips it was enough. (I didn't want them to be overly chocolatey anyway, for first thing in the morning.) And yes, they freeze great. I like to toast them after defrosting to crisp up the top a bit. Will definitely make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      I threw in some nonfat vanilla yogurt, ground flax, wheat germ and bran and baked for 15 minutes in a mini muffin pan. Fabulously moist and satisfying!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana-Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.2
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    61%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 315.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites