11 Reviews

Great way to use extra ripe bananas! The only thing I did differently is to use semi-sweet chocolate chips. I know that some chocolate chip cookie bars can be dry and crumbly, but these are very moist bars (a little sticky, actually, so I'm keeping them in the refrigerator -- even though they won't last more than a day or two)!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Musical Joy June 12, 2002

Mmmm good!! Made as is!! Treat for my office workers that they loved! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie February 28, 2010

This is the sort of recipe that needs more than five stars. Fantastic, moist, tasty. I only put in half the choc chips as they are hugely expensive here, and didn't have whole wheat flour and it is perfect for us. Thanks to Sallyanne for a great recipe, one I know will be used regularly, and to Parsley for suggesting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RubberDucky AU January 01, 2009

I had two overripe bananas and wanted something easy and this fit the bill. I would describe these bars as moist and chewy banana "blondies." They are not too moist and not too cakey; just right. Even better, is that the edges don't get hard and crunchy, so nobody avoids eating the edges! I baked mine a little over 30 minutes. Thanx for this great recipe. I'll use this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 10, 2008

Great tasting treat! I added just a bit more vanilla, force of habit for me. They needed more than 25 minutes to cook but turned out moist and delicious. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy Jayne September 26, 2008

Made recently when some bananas were looking like they needed to depart our kitchen. DH said he'd never heard of banana bars, but once he tried these he was very glad to make their acquaintance. Easy to mix up and bake though they came out thinner than I thought they'd be. But very tasty. I used 2 medium size (in my opinion) bananas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani September 17, 2008

I was expecting the consistency to less cake like, but these were delicious! I almost put walnuts in, but then decided to follow the recipe exactly for this first try. I think next time I will add the walnuts! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
landlocked #2 March 07, 2008

wow these are delicious! i had a mixture of plain and white choc chips and added some walnuts. i used exact amount of ingredients in an 8" x 8" pan, cut it into 16 high squares of moist yummyness! i wanted to make a filling snack for my sister who has an appetite of a horse, i think it will keep her going :) thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamonised October 25, 2007

a big hit at our house - "mommy, chocolate with banana, wow!" I used half white and half whole wheat flour and no one knew! They figured since it had chocolate it couldn't be healthy. and I used semi-sweet not milk chocolate. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER September 14, 2007

Quick and simple! I used two medium-sized bananas that were way too ripe to eat, but perfect for this recipe. I made this for dessert at a work lunch and they went over really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceoops April 13, 2007
Banana Chip Bars