12 Reviews

This is truely a nice banana cake. I had only one banana and used lemon flavouring it was delicious and the texture was light and moist too. i also used self raising flour and added 1 tsp soda, 1tsp baking powder since you did not specify the type of flour to use. i will make it again but with less sugar because for me its too sweet. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Merbel June 28, 2010

This cake is very tender and moist. It is a great way to use up those ripe bananas. ***1 cup mashed bananas=2-3 medium bananas*** Also, this is an 8-inch layer cake, so the recipe makes about 12-16 servings. GREAT with cream cheese frosting (8-oz. cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 lb. powdered sugar, and 1 tsp. vanilla- beat on high until light and fluffy).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking to Perfection February 12, 2003

This was a really delicious cake. Mine got done sooner, after about 25 minutes, but I was using a 9-inch pan size. It didn't rise very high and seemed to flatten out a little after it cooled, but I might have stirred it a little too much or something. I will definitely make this again. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EasyCookingPlease March 03, 2010

This is the best banana cake ever!! For the cream cheese frosting, I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it is sooo yummy, we enjoyed every bite!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelemcntsh February 11, 2010

This cake is absolutely wonderful. I made it as a birthday cake for someone at work and it was an absolute hit. At the end of the day I managed to salvage a sliver to take home for my husband and 2 year old son who both loved it. I was kind of concerned because all I had was whole grain spelt flour but it still came out very light and tasty. Did not have any buttermilk so I improvised by adding a teaspoon of white vinegar to some 1 % milk. I would give this 6 stars if that were possible. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr.momde47 January 22, 2010

What a cake!! This was the best cake ever.... It came out with such a delicate banana taste and the walnuts were a great compliment.. I would give this easily 5 stars.. Thansk Lisa for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsessa August 09, 2008

I tried this instead of the usual banana bread, and my family and I all loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and used cream cheese frosting (1 stick butter, 8 oz cream cheese, 1 box XXXX sugar) and the recipe is definitely a keeper. Next time I will use 9" pans, since it's big enough to do so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittylusker May 05, 2008

This is good, a moist dense cake, I added macadamian nuts instead of walnuts and a few white chocolate chips.... I did not ice this cake, I used 1 % milk and soured it with abit of vinegar. Lovely with tea, or for a sweet tray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 July 10, 2007

I frosted this with a cooked 7-minute type frosting made with brown sugar instead of white sugar. The fluffy, not to rich frosting complemented the light texture of the cake perfectly. Divine, even my "if it's not chocolate it's not dessert" husband has had three pieces in the last 12 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 May 30, 2007

This was a pretty good banana cake, I did add one additional banana to what was called for and made a white frosting and put banana in it. Everyone really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 June 21, 2004
Banana Chiffon Cake