Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Banana Carrot Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Carrot Muffins

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2009

      I can't Review this yet but it's something I'll be trying tomorrow. It sounds tasty! On a side note: Unless you follow the recipe exactly as the OP states I see no reason to give bad reviews! I find it unnecessary and unhelpful. It doesn't make sense to Review a recipe if you don't follow instructions! Rant over...happy cooking :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      These are very versatile, moist and flavorful The recipe makes a lot! I ended up with 15 large & 30 mini muffins.
      I had been wanting to use up some coconut oil I had on hand, so in place of the shortening I did so with great results. If you haven't tried coconut oil in baking, you should. At room temperature it's liquid; around 70 and below, it's a solid which creams beautifully with sugar in baked goods. If you're worried about the coconut flavor taking over your baked goods, it really doesn't. It's a heart healthier option than shortening, vegetable or corn oils.
      I went with the shredded carrot option, which was a breeze to do in the food processor grating attachment. Lastly, I subbed 1 c. of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of AP flour called for. I also added 1 t. ground cinnamon, 1/2 t. ground nutmeg and a dash of ground cloves. The house smelled amazing while they baked.
      While the first 2 pans were baking, I played around with the remaining batter and added some raisins and topped the last pan of muffins with some finely chopped praline pecans.
      I froze about 2/3 of the muffins so we can pull them out the night before and have "fresh" muffins for breakfast, it works...try it!
      Thanks for sharing, we'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      I give this one 5 stars, this is absolutely FABULOUS. I have been trying to find a use for my shredded carrots (I'm not really one for eating carrots) and saw this online, at first it sounded gross & I almost passed it by. SO glad I didn't! I agree with the Veganista, you can't very well make a whole bunch of changes to this recipe and then give it a low rating-you're kind of going by your own recipe, try the OP's recipe before you knock it. Just saying. However, I decided to be brave and make a couple of changes myself, knowing I could have ruined this spectacular recipe. I used one of the little applesauce cups in place of the orange juice, since I didn't have any. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla for a little extra flavor (I LOVE cinnamon and vanilla!), as well as butter since I had no Crisco. The smell of these in the oven had me drooling, and they came out PERFECTLY. I have no doubt that even without my changes these would have been just as wonderful. This one has been shared with everyone that I know, I'll be making these frequently for my little boy! :) Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Unfortunately, I only give this recipe 2 stars and that's with making a lot of changes. I used apple sauce and olive oil in place of the shortning, added cinnamon and nutmeg and used freesh carrots that I cooked in the microwave. These did rise but they were just okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      These are very tasty and moist. The carrot is very subtle but gives it a little earthy boost, a little sweetness. I only give out 5 stars if they make me drool, but these are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      We made this and like most others substituted the shortening with butter, and instead of orange juice we used carrot juice, making them banana-carrot muffins i guess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Used butter instead of shortening and fresh grated carrots (why would you use canned-yech) and these were excellent. Shared with coworkers and friends and got rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I have to say I was disappointed in these muffins. I read the reviews before baking which is what made me want to try them. These muffins were dry, they did have a banana taste and with shaved carrots you could taste them. But over all, they did rise and looked yummy...but I like a moist muffin, and these were far from moist. Sorry. Thanks for sharing your recipe though. Cheers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      These are so good! My kids just gobbled them up. Next time I will be really careful to mash the carrots really, really well. Every now and then I take a bite, and it's all canned carrot tasting. Not delicious. But other than my own carelessness, there is not one single thing wrong with this recipe. I made as written except subbed margarine. Next time I will do half margarine and half applesauce. I think I will also try with half whole wheat flour next time as well. Thanks for a really great recipe I will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I liked them but I loved the fact it used canned carrots!!! I used brown sugar instead of white. I had only 4 bananas & I did the fruit cocktail instead of OJ like suggested in one reviews so I put the fruit cocktail in a food processor I took out the pineapple & cherry pieces, I poured in 1/2 cup of juice/pieces to the batter. I have a 10 month old & didn't want him to have citrus since its not recommended till 1 year. He liked the muffins & so did my husband & I. Next time I may try the applesauce/butter instead of Crisco it just sounds healthier. I filled very full since they don't rise much I had 29 muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      These are really good. I used half softened butter and half applesauce for the crisco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Good taste, nice texture, simple and quick to make - what else can you ask for - thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      YUMMY! I made these for my little ones, but I ate my fair share. I took them to work and got rave reviews! I was short one banana, but had one of my kids small container of yogurt(banana flavor of course) I used that and everything came out perfectly. My husband requested I make these for his Firehouse, so off I go to the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      I rated this no stars because you can't go below 1. We substituted margarine for Crisco but besides that we followed the ingredients perfectly. They didn't rise at all you surprisingly couldn't taste the banana or the carrot at all, all you could taste was flour. After cooling they became hard as rock and me and my GF played catch in the kitchen with them before throwing them into the garbage. They burned on the outside and the inside was still raw, we even tried playing with the temperature on the oven to see if we could get the second batch to cook thoroughly to no success. on a scale of 1-5 we rate this a -2 !sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I am a non-cooker/baker and still found this recipe easy to make...and make well! They were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      I found myself without shortening, so I used an equal amount of butter, and they were delightful. Unlike many, these muffins don't stick to the paper liners, which I consider to be a fine quality in a muffin. I halved the recipe and got 16 muffins, considered surprising my coworkers with breakfast tomorrow and decided to put them in the freezer instead. All mine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      This tasty recipe was very moist and was mild in its flavor. We enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      Thanks for the recipe! The muffins came out very tasty. I love the banana flavour. Instead of using crisco, i substitute with margerine at room temperture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Halved the recipe, used brown sugar instead of white, and added a small can of fruit cocktail (instead of oj) to the food processor with the fresh carrots and two ripe bananas. Delicious banana flavor, and my toddler loves them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Carrot Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (2247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    38%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites